Christmas Through The Veil


As the holiday season is approaching and the weather is turning chill, I have been thinking once again about the wonder of this time of year.

A few years ago I was thinking about the birth in Bethlehem, and the fact that Christ was about two years old when the wise men visited him. I asked myself, why would it take two years for someone to follow the star? That led to the question of, who knew of Christ’s birth, yet lived two years travel away. The obvious answer was the Nephites. Their prophets spoke extensively about the birth, even pinpointing the exact date of his birth.  When he was born Nephi was told that very night, and the signs were given.

Being of a rather fanciful nature, I began pondering which of the Nephites would choose to build a ship and make the journey back to the “mother land” as it were. I imagined what the journey would be like, how they would be received in the old world, and how they would react to it all. It occurred to me that some of these Nephites were big people, over 7 feet tall, excellent warriors and fearless – seasoned by generations of wars – yet men of God. The storyline was appealing to me, so I wrote it into the book “We Three Kings“. It may be downloaded for free.

I was intrigued by the many parallels and “could have beens” I found as I carefully researched for this book. I don’t necessarily believe Nephites visited Bethlehem as the three wisemen, but after writing this book and realizing that nobody knows who they were, where they came from, how many there were, or where they returned to, I think it is as plausible that Nephites were involved as people from a mythical “eastern” land where Christ was completely unknown.

I still find the story charming, and hope it will bring light and faith into this already joyful season.

Brother John

About Terri Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Through The Veil

  1. Michelle says:

    Brother John,
    I am so happy to read your blog. I feel the Spirit everytime and feel uplifted and taught by that same Spirit. I love that you have come to the same conclusion that I have about the Nephites. To me that is the law of two or more witnesses.

    The scripture found in Helaman 16:14 is the verse that first clued me in that perhaps it was more than just speculation.

    14. And angels did appear unto men, wise men, and did declare tidings of great joy;……

    The wording is so striking because it’s the same type of wording used to describe the telling of the shepherds that Christ had been born.

    Thank you again for your words of faith.

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

