Update: “I Was In Prison”


prison_visitationDear UnBlog Family,

You met Darin Perkins from a post on April 6, 2014 entitled, “I was in prison, and ye came unto me.” You were all so kind and gracious in your response! I have since received a few more letters from him, and they have each been greatly inspiring to me. I thought you might enjoy an update from Darin, and again share in his beautiful spirit and unique perspective. After all, every one of us are prisoners, until liberated by our Savior.  We are all beggars at the feast of Christ. –Terri

Dear Terri,

Thank you so much for your letter and book. In a place there’s so much negativity, your kind and inspiring words were like a breath of fresh air. As I now read John’s inspired words, I want to shout from the rooftops the truthfulness of the message. The light shines brightly in his words, which causes me to second your sentiment, “All glory to God” for blessing us!

I’ve thought a lot about my life in the pre-mortal world. The doctrine of “election” is so powerful and inspiring. The doctrine fills me with hope for the future and courage to make the promises made there a reality. I feel in my heart that I did covenant with God to go through this prison experience. I can’t tell you how many times in the past 4-1/2 years, that the Lord placed men in my path who needed help. These stories are quite faith-building and will one day be brought to light. Anyway, as hard as it has been to be locked up, I’m so grateful that He has made me an instrument in His hands to help rescue His fallen sons–for in the process, I, too, have been rescued.

To a small degree, I can relate to the suffering you and John have been through. I’m grateful for your example and for what you’ve taught all of us. How you’ve dealt with your trials has helped me with my difficulties. My afflictions have tested me to the limit. I’ve been through a lot, but I’ve never given up, I’ve never lost hope. I’ve battled through the pain, the embarrassments, the loss, the depression, and the anguish of losing my family. As unbearable as it was, I humbled myself, became more disciplined, more prayerful, and more trusting in a just God who knows exactly what I needed. These experiences have empowered me to grow spiritually and to intimately get to know my Savior. His grace has lifted me from the ashes. Despite my circumstances, I’m really happy, I lead a full life, I’m healthy and strong and want for nothing. I’ve discovered that my needs are spiritual, and can only be met by looking within and by listening and obeying the Voice of Christ. That being said, it would be nice to be free from bondage. :) Thankfully, in a few short months, that will be a reality.

I’m anxious to restart my life. My three children can’t wait to have me back in their lives again. I’ve dug myself a deep hole, but with the Lord’s help I can make it.

In answer to your question – yes, you can publish my letter and any future letters you feel would be appropriate. I don’t mind if you use my name. I’m living proof that the atonement is real and that the Savior’s mercy is available to all who desire it. I want all to know that despite a person’s past, they can be redeemed and brought into the Savior’s marvelous light. He has done this for me, and in gratitude He has my loyalty and devoted service the rest of my days.

Have a great week!

Love,

Darin Perkins

About Terri Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Update: “I Was In Prison”

  1. royalstew says:

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful story of Bro. Perkins with us. Truly God can inspire and reach all us in spite of, and often because of, our unique and humbling circumstances. Again, many thanks for this and all of the inspiring words you share with us!!!

    Like

  2. Amelia Lloyd says:

    Thanks Darrin, I’m new to this blog and you heartfelt message was beautiful. We have a dear friend who was in prison for 2 years for manslaughter. He converted many while incarcerated but he always talks about the greatest conversion was himself. He is a great man and best friends with my husband. He is currently 1st counselor in his wards bishopric and he and his wife have nine children. He often administers to those in prison and is living proof of the atonement, like yourself. thanks again for your comments

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

