The Power of Correct Believing


It seems almost impossible that another year has come and gone. 2010 seemed to have been just a heartbeat in duration. The flow of time, the receipt of blessings, and the struggle of mortality all creates a swirl ice cream cone of sweet and bitter flavors of improbable combinations that both delight and challenge the soul.

In considering how to Un-Blog in this new year I have decided to take a little different approach. In the past I have been pleased to remember and record hundreds of life experiences which have had the effect of bringing me to Christ, and giving me great faith Him. And, if I was a thousand years old and had an infinite range of experience, I couple probably keep that up. Being of lesser age that a tree, the well is not unlimited from which I draw. For this reason I have decided to Un-Blog in the same way that I have come to study the Scriptures when I’m truly seeking, which is subjectively, or by subject.

I do love to read the scriptures sequentially, but most of my doctrinal understanding has come from looking up every scripture I could find on a certain subject or principle, and then every authoritative latter-day statement or talk. Such an approach is powerful, and I think it is rarely employed unless one is preparing a lesson or talk – or in my case, a book. I admit I don’t do it for entertainment. It requires too much pondering, praying and thought to be light reading. So, with the happy task of disseminating light through the Un-Blog, I think it a sufficiently worthy cause to motivate me to once again pickup up book and pen, put a new AAA battery in my brain and begin again.

The topics I wish to explore with you are those extraordinary things which elevate the spirit, and fill the soul with faith, with knowledge and the power of correct believing. There are many such topics. These are principles which are true, but somewhat obscured from view either by our lack of spiritual scholarship, or sometimes by the fickle nature of oral tradition.

I hope you will find even greater joy in Un-Blogging with your fellow seekers as each of us finds our own straight and narrow way through this newly-born year.

Brother John

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Power of Correct Believing

  1. Michelle says:

    You are such an answer to my prayers. Thank you, thank you for listening and obeying.

    Michelle

    Like

  2. K-Jo says:

    Can’t wait for the new adventure.

    I have a question if you care to answer it. I was having a discussion with a couple of people about the difference in hearing the spirit, our own thoughts, or influences from Satan and his minions. Does Satan have the power to know when we receive a prompting and can he enter our thoughts and know what we are thinking? I don’t know the answer so I thought I would ask. Thanks.

    Like

  3. Juli Thompson says:

    So looking to whatever flows from your
    pen/keyboard/brain/heart.

    Love, Juli

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

