The Trump of God


Several of you asked the same question today. It is actually a question I have asked myself. You want to know how I can write these things without revealing too much, or saying things that shouldn’t be said. Let me try to explain it by telling you a little of my history.

I published my first book in 1993, and from that moment on the Spirit repeatedly silenced me. I sat for the next 18 years in silence. My only voice was that book. Nevertheless, I was content. I had and have no intent to say more than what the Holy Spirit allowed.

In March of 2009, myself and my wife – who incidentally is more in tune more of the time with the voice of revelation the I am – heard the Holy Spirit urging us to move from Alaska. Within days, we miraculously, amazingly and suddenly had the financial means. Within weeks, we found a house in Utah and bought it. Within two months we sold almost half of our accumulated jonke’ and weeks later we were living in Utah.

From the moment I arrived here the 18 year prohibition against saying anything more than we have always heard was lifted in part. I was “inspired” (prompted) to start the Un-Blog and even given the name to use. I can hardly believe myself that I am allowed to write what I do. But I promise you that if the Holy Spirit is not present, I do not write beautiful things. And, I also promise that there is much the Holy Spirit stops me from saying and writing. I am very sensitive to this, and it marvels me, it thrills me, how many things I am given license to share.

Let me ask you this: How do you feel when you read these things? If you do feel the Holy Spirit, if it lifts your soul and gives you joy, if it fills your mind with light, truth and peace, then it is inspired because the Holy Spirit will not testify of things that are not correct. Moroni 7:16 plainly says that we may know as clearly as the daylight is from the dark night, that everything that teaches us to have faith in Christ, to love God and serve Him “is inspired of God”.

Most of you who have attended a fireside walked away with your faces lit by faith and hope. This is a miracle of the Spirit, and couldn’t happen if something was amiss or even overstated. I know the Holy Spirit is present with me because words come faster than I can speak them, and ideas line up in a sequence of truth that I have no ability to generate on my own. I know there is real power and God’s approbation because it changes me physically. It literally makes my illness and pain go away for that time. For those few minutes I feel strong and empowered. When the fireside ends, that powerful endowment of the Spirit leaves me and my body returns to my challenging version of normal.

Why can I say these things? I can only believe that to this audience, at this time, that this body of truth, these precious things, these very personal yet inspiring accounts constitute “the portion of his word which he doth grant unto the children of men, according to the heed and diligence which they give unto him.” (Alma 12:9)

If this was not so, I could not say them because I am incapable of writing them on my own. I sign everything “Brother John” to acknowledge, to witness and attest that John Pontius had very little to do with it. If this were not so, you would not feel the Holy Spirit as you read. Even if what I said was true, yet not lawful to say, then these things would not lift your soul, fill you with light, increase you faith in Christ, or give you peace.

I think another reason I may be allowed to say these things is that ever since I heard my bell begin to toll midnight, I have desired with a great desire to not go into whatever is next with these things locked in my heart. How can I not desire with a mighty desire to shout with joy to anyone who will listen that there is so much more, that the promises are ours and being fulfilled, that the great things do happen, that angels do attend, and that the promises we receive in holy places are in fact being fulfilled.

I feel like Alma, whose heart was so full of joy in his Jesus that he desired to be an angel so that he could “speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people!” (Alma 29:1-2)

It is an incredible thing to me that God has in a way given me to speak “with the trump of God”, a trumpet that with a click of the mouse sounds around the world to anyone God intends to hear it. I don’t know how much longer I will continue. I feel like I am almost done, that I have nearly said all that I can say. When it is time, when my request has been fulfilled, when the Holy Spirit no longer gives me words – then I will be quiet once again. But as long as the Holy Spirit gives me license, I will raise my little trumpet to my lips and shout praises to God and His Christ, and thereby invite anyone with ears to hear to do the same.

Brother John

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Trump of God

  1. cheyenne brashear says:

    Dear brother John, I feel I can speak for everyone on here when I say praise the Lord that after 18 years of silence, He has enabled and permitted you to speak again to all of us. I know it’s through the goodness and grace of God that we are being able to hear and feel these words. I know it’s not an accident that you have the audience that you do. When I read the words that you write, they are like the breath of life to me,because I know they are not your words,but the words of our Savior and Master. Quite often I might be having a bad day; I might be entertaining any degree of negative thoughts and emotions: fear,anger,pride,lust,self-righteousness,loneliness, etc. then I come on this un-blog and I read these words of life and truth and my soul feels renewed.I remember again that much greater is my Savior than my sins and weaknesses, and much greater and more important is my relationship with Him than anything I’m holding onto that seperates me from Him. When I feel these truths burning in my soul, I surrender to Him again, and again I feel His love and saving power.I know that the atonement of Christ wasn’t just an isolated event that took place 2000 years ago,but it is and can be an ongoing,living reality in our lives if we’ll let it be. Great and glorious are the promises and blessings of the gospel(and this I’m only just beginning to figure out), but because of this fallen nature we have it’s so easy to forget or get side-tracked at times. Brother, I know that you are sealed and anchored to Christ,and so I’m grateful to our great God that through his love and your love,he has blessed you to hold out the rope to us that are at lower climbs so that we can also come up and see and feel what you do. Thanks brother, my love and prayers are with you and your family. brother Cheyenne B.

    Like

  2. Michael says:

    I’d love to hear you speak in person; is there somewhere you post a schedule of your firesides? (Is it rude to “crash” another ward or stakes fireside?) I live in northern Davis County.

    Like

  3. Katie says:

    Thank you very much for all that you say and do. I am almost done reading The Triumph of Zion. The words I read there and here inspire me to do and be better, to come unto Christ with full purpose of heart, to be like He is, and to love my fellow men. I truly appreciate your words.

    Like

  4. Annette says:

    John-
    Thank you for your powerful words. You don’t know me, but the Spirit, Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ obviously know me perfectly. I feel the confirming presence of the Spirit with every post, and know that everything you share is for me personally. Thank you for sharing the things you are prompted to share. It is a profound blessing in my life.
    Annette

    Like

  5. Donald says:

    Thank you John. I needed to read your blog this morning. Thank you again.
    DKD

    Like

  6. Kim says:

    John- So sorry I couldn’t be in Utah to join your fireside. Did anyone tape it or do a shorthand transcript for those of us who missed it?

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

