Thank You


I very much appreciate your comments of gratitude and support. So many of you have expressed your joy in what I have been given to understand and to write. It feels amazing to my soul that for this little time I have the chance to say something of value to many ears that are truly open and anxious to hear.

One of the dangers for a person in my position lies in having people think too much of me or what I do. Anyone who knows me personally knows that I am almost paranoid about appearing to have guru status, or of appearing to have a following of people who misplace their loyalty which must remain with Jesus Christ and His living prophet, Thomas S. Monson.

I don’t want notoriety. I want everyone within the sound of my voice to maintain their faith in Jesus Christ and their loyalty and submission to this great latter-day church. All truth belongs to Jesus Christ, and He has chosen to house it in this dispensation in the LDS church as presently constituted. This is not only the way it is, it is the way it should be.

What I write has no doctrinal weight or authority. What I write is just my opinion, and doesn’t change anything. When people ask me for personal advice, I suggest they speak to their bishops. When people want priesthood blessings, I ask them to consider someone they trust within the church. I am a voice on the wind, and nothing more.

When I am given inspired words to write, I am not establishing doctrine. My words are not revelatory or prophetic. Everything I say is grounded in the writings of latter-day prophets and the scriptures. Whatever inspiration you feel comes from the simple fact that I tested these promises and found them to be true and powerful. I found it to be true that anything and everything was possible to those who believe. Standing upon that elevation of knowing, the promises in the scriptures became understandable and exciting. They aligned in single file within the corridors of my mind and ceased to be either mysterious or mysteries.

From my perspective, I am only restating in modern language what the writers of holy writ previously recorded, but which to modern eyes are seen through a glass darkly. None of this is unusual. People have understood and applied these things since Adam and Eve.

What is very, very unique I think, is that I have been able to say these things in a public forum, and in a small way to wipe away a little opacity from our “glass darkly” for a moment. Knowing these things isn’t rare – but being allowed to write them in unambiguous language seems to be exceedingly rare, and is probably a sign of the times in which we live.

The Holy Spirit seems to whisper to me that this forum and opportunity will be of short duration. I consider it a divine grace to myself, to take these precious things from my head and in an economy of words, to state in modern language, and sequential simplicity, ideas which have been so shrouded in ancient language and translation difficulties as to render these “greater things” truly “mysteries of Godliness”.

This is the wonder of the Un-Blog – not what it contains, but that it exists at all.

Brother John

© March 2011, John M. Pontius, all rights reserved for the contents of this blog and website.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thank You

  1. Steve says:

    Thanks for this. Too often in the Church, folks find fault. It’s so important for Saints to realize the Church is not off-track and the Brethren are not out of touch. The Lord leads His Church and speaks through His prophet. If we really listen to the Brethren, we can hear the tongues of angels.

    Like

  2. s allen says:

    Brother Pontius,
    I have enjoyed reading, “Following the Light” very much. It has helped me understand the scriptures more and the steps I need to follow to receive greater blessings. The meaning of the words in the scriptures are also more clear.
    As I was reading my patriarchal blessing today I saw some of those same words in my blessing and able to see a greater meaning. Although I have read my blessing many times, I did not see the greater blessings that have been pronounced to me. They are some of the very things that you mentioned in your book, yet I had never seen them to be as significant.
    Thank you

    Like

  3. K-Jo says:

    I say Amen to the Brashear’s comment also. Reading your words helps me drink a little deeper from the well. It instills within me the desire to know these things myself, through my own study and toil and labor in the gospel and confirmation from the Spirit. These is always an excitement and encouragement that wells within me that I can do as you have done and know all of what you speak for myself….line upon line, precept upon precept. I thank you again and again for your willingness to write.

    Like

  4. Melody says:

    Amen to the post and the comment. 🙂

    Like

  5. cheyenne brashear says:

    Dear brother John. There has been one common message throughout your unblogs, and that message is that Christ truly is the source of all good things and the glory truly belongs to Him and the Father. We’re coming to learn that truth in our own lives. A scripture comes to mind that reads: “My brethren, ye cannot have the faith of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Lord of glory, and yet have respect to persons.” (JST James 2:1) One of the great things about the truths of the Gospel is that they are often taught and revealed by the Holy Ghost, and later confirmed by others who have received the same truths by the Holy Ghost, whether it be by ancient prophets who recorded their words in scripture or modern prophets, but the Holy Ghost is the revealer of truth. People can speak and write words, and even when they are inspired by the Holy Ghost they are not truth for those hearing or reading them until the Holy Ghost reveals that truth to them. The scriptures say: “And the spirits of the prophets are subject to the prophets. For God is not the author of confusion, but of peace, as in all churches of the saints.” ( 1 Corinthians 14:32 ). All those who have a revealed witness of Jesus Christ are prophets, but they are subject to the chief prophet, and that prophet now happens to be Thomas S. Monson. No person with the spirit of prophecy and revelation would ever set themselves or anybody else in the stead of the Lord’s mouthpiece over the earth, and dear brother, you have never given anyone any reason to assume that you have. Even so, it is wonderful for those who are seeking truths to rejoice in them together. When you impart the things the Lord has taught you, anyone who truly receives them knows that they are not the words of John Pontius, but the words of the Lord, because the Holy Ghost bears witness to the truth of those words and they become our words. The same holds true for anyone who speaks by the power of the Holy Ghost. One of the most important things we have learned is to never accept the words of another unless or until the Holy Ghost bears witness to those words. He will never decieve, and once He bears witness to truths that are imparted, they become doctrine to us personally, not because of the person who imparted them, but because He revealed it to us. These things in your unblogs and in your books are in harmony with the scriptures, and with our modern prophets. The book of Moroni gives the keys on how to recognize when words are from God, or from some other source: “For behold, the Spirit of Christ is given to every man, that he may know good from evil; wherefore, I show unto you the way to judge; for everything which inviteth to do good, and to persuade to believe in Christ, is sent forth by the gift and power of Christ; wherefore you may know with a perfect knowledge it is of God. (Moroni 7:16). The amazing thing about every truth we have learned is that we can find them in the scriptures even if we hadn’t seen them before. We have found that you have revealed no new doctrines (even the deeper ones 🙂 ) in your writings. Every one of them are firmly established in the scriptures and in the words of our latter-day prophets. It is nice however, to see that there are actual people who are experiencing those blessings recorded in scripture. It gives the rest of us hope. It shows us that God is unchanging. The words that you’ve shared do draw us to you, but more importantly, they draw us to our Savior. When we read your book “Following The Light of Christ Into His Presence” and the Holy Ghost bore witness of it, it actually strenghtened our testimony of the Savior, the mission of this Church, the calling of the prophet, and the wonderful gifts that are available to any true seeker. In closing, one of the articles of faith comes to mind: “…We believe all things, we hope all things, we have endured many things, and hope to be able to endure all things. If there is anything virtuous, lovely, or of good report or praiseworthy, we seek after these things.” With love, brothers Cheyenne and Darrell Brashear

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

