The White Light of Truth


Dear McKay,

Thanks for your questions. When I used “we” in “Hope For Our Times” Un-Blog I was referring to this dispensation. Either we (this dispensation) will build Zion, or God will give the privilege to someone else (in this dispensation). 

We all know that this is the last and greatest dispensation. There won’t be another. 

I don’t have any more authority than my opinion on when things will happen. It could be hundreds of years – but I doubt that. The spiritual call has come to many to prepare to become Zion.  The Temple teaches daily how to obtain Zion. The world condition is deteriorating rapidly. And since we are the last dispensation, my faith tells me we can accomplish these things. When we get around to it is the big question. Perhaps it will be our children or grandchildren. But speaking for myself, I am not willing to push my obligations onto my posterity. 

It must seem apparent to every Un-Blog reader that I believe we can claim these privileges in our own lifetime. Even if it is not time for a city of Zion to be built, we can obtain the promises and stature for ourselves. This is the cause I am espousing – that we claim these magnificent privileges – then when we are ready, and we are no longer an obstacle to the actual building of Zion then the final scenes will come. 

I further believe that the timetable of the Lord’s return is scheduled for after we as a people achieve the requisite worthiness, and then we will hear the call to gather and build the actual City of Zion. That means that we can do it because the Spirit-born witness and call has been sounded to thousands of powerful souls.

I don’t know Christ will return, I just know that my obligation and privilege in the building of Zion will happen in my lifetime. Perhaps my part is just to sound this trumpet long and loud. The white light of truth as I understand it today tells me there is far more.

 Brother John

 © April 2011, John M. Pontius, all rights reserved for the contents of this blog and website.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The White Light of Truth

  1. jimmy tetuanui says:

    I totally agree with you John that we are the generation that will see Zion built. I like the following statement by President Benson given in October conference 1988:

    We command you leaders and teachers of the various Church organizations for your inspired use of the Book of Mormon in helping to rear a generation hat can redeem Zion (President Ezra Taft Benson, Flooding the Earth with the Book of Mormon, General Conference October 1988).

    I believe I belong to that generation. Another quote I like is the following one by elder Oaks given in 2004 hitting that we are the generation that will see the second coming (?):

    Today I have felt prompted to speak of the importance of preparation for a future event of supreme importance to each of us—the Second Coming of the Lord (Elder Dallin H. Oaks, of the Twelve, Preparing for the Second Coming, General Conference, April 2004).

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

