If You Love Me


I was in a Stake Conference in Idaho about 1977 when I heard Bruce R. McConkie ask the question, “How can you tell if you have been forgiven for something you repented of years ago.”

The same question might be asked on many subjects, “How can I tell if I have been born again?” “How can I tell if I am growing spiritually?” “How can I tell if I am keeping my temple covenants?”

Elder McConkie answered this way: (I’m paraphrasing from memory) “If you presently and continuously feel the Spirit of the Lord in your life, if you receive answers to your prayers, if you are growing spiritually, and receive personal revelation on a continuing basis – then you have been forgiven. The Holy Ghost does not dwell in unholy temples, and just the fact that you are experiencing spiritual events is evidence that you are acceptable to the Lord today. You may still have steps to complete (such as with church leaders, or offended parties) but your repentance has been accepted by the Lord.”

Since our entire spiritual evolution operates upon the principle of allowing the Holy Spirit to enter our souls and direct us in the pathway designated by Jesus Christ, then the fact that we are receiving that direction is all the evidence we need to conclude that we are on the right path. And, as long as we remain on that path, the Lord will take us line upon line to every spiritual accomplishment and destination we desire.

Let me say this another way: If you want to fully clean through repentance – become flawlessly obedient to the voice of the Holy Spirit, and you will succeed.

If you want to be born again – become flawlessly obedient to the voice of the Holy Spirit and you will succeed.

If you want to have your Calling and Election made sure – become flawlessly obedient to the voice of the Holy Spirit and you will succeed.

If you want to have miracles, power in the priesthood, prophetic understanding, visions, visitations of angels, and to see inside the veil – become flawlessly obedient to the voice of the Holy Spirit and you will succeed.

No matter what we are seeking, the method to obtain it is everlastingly the same – identify the light you possess, and flawlessly obey it. Each further step will be opened to your mind, each a little more challenging, but the process remains the same – obey, obey, obey, obey, obey.

Jesus put it this way, “If ye love me, keep my commandments.”

Brother John

© April 2011, John M. Pontius, all rights reserved. Non-commercial reproduction permitted.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If You Love Me

  1. Katie says:

    It’s neat that the post today was on obedience. Here at BYU-Idaho, President Kim B. Clark gave his opening devotional on Tuesday. The topic? Obedience. He gave a fabulous talk on why perfect, precise, and deeply rooted obedience to the Lord’s commandments is needed for us to progress spiritually and become better disciples of Jesus Christ. This post was a second witness to me of this key principle.

    Like

  2. darrell brashear says:

    That is such a comfort to know. I am learning by trial and error to identify the voice of the Lord. One thing I find great comfort in is that I can pray and ask for the ability to learn and recognize His voice; I can also pray to be given the desire to obey His voice so that in time, that desire is greater than anything else that might stand in the way of me following Him. If I continue to ask, I know He will grant me that desire because I know that He will grant me anything that is right. I want the desire to follow Him to become greater than my fears, guilt, pride, worldly desires or anything else.

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

