Sacrificing Blogging for Boating


Dear Friends,

We have the chance to take off and go boating on Lake Powell for the next 5 days. I will be sorry to miss Un-Blogging with you, and I hope you will forgive the interruption. I also hope the weather warms up so we don’t return with blue lips and frostbite.

If there is Internet on the lake, I’ll try to keep Un-Blogging.

I was studying the statistics for UnBlogmySoul yesterday, and it sent my heart into rejoicing. There is something so wonderful about writing the Un-Blog as opposed to a book, or an essay that sits on my computer for its lifetime. That difference is you, your spirit, and your faith and hope you express in your comments. It makes it unexpectedly powerful and sweet. The difference is also that a book takes years and years to write, and even longer to distribute. The Un-Blog goes out in a heartbeat and actually touches more lives than a book because it allows you to comment, to question and to know that there are thousands of people like you seeking the same gifts.

When I wrote FTL 18 years ago, there was very little email, no blogging, no texting, and the internet was slow and unreliable. I believe in 18 years I received less than a dozen letters from readers. Last night I was amazed to realize there were 640 comments from you, all in the last 8 months. Your comments are thoughtful, faith-filled and uplifting.

I thank you so, so much.

Brother John

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sacrificing Blogging for Boating

  1. Chris says:

    John,

    What you explained to me about the voice of the spirit really has meant a lot and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it all day.

    [Learning to hear and obey takes some experience fir mist people. Start with the thought that anything good or kind or serving comes from Christ, even just a thought or idea. Hearing words or a voice comes when we’re ready. The name Still Small Voice is a good descriptor. Still means “without sound”. Small means “tiny or hard to identify”].

    It wasn’t that clear before. The starting point, as I now understand it, isn’t to distinguish the voice of the spirit from the other voices in my head, but to notice and follow the good/positive/right inclinations that I feel or that “appear” suddenly in my head. As you explain, “that tiny voice”…”without sound”…that is “hard to identify” will be the light in the darkness. The more obedient I become to what I’m led to do, the more obvious that “voice” will become, sometimes with words. Perhaps you could share that aspect of the voice of the spirit in one of your blogs as I know there must be others that aren’t clear on it like I wasn’t.

    Again, I can’t thank you enough for opening a window onto what is possible – even expected. I believe with all my heart that I will reach what you and others have. It’s an elite group, but not because the Lord is restricting us from joining. I’m grateful that there are a few voices like yours that are patient, but committed to pointing this out. I wish it could happen quicker, but I’d rather it be done right.

    John, I think the greatest thing you’ve done for me through your writing is to help me see how much the Lord wants me, how much He cares about Chris. Growing up I was always the kid that was left out, so my impression of God has been tainted to think that I’m not on His radar. But you’ve helped me to see, to sincerely believe, that He is keenly aware of me. Colbie Caillat has a song called “Bubbly” that brings me to tears most times I hear it start because in the introduction, before she sings, she says, “Will you count me in?” That’s what I want from the Lord – to be counted in when He gathers His friends, like your character Samuel. You mentioned in one of you postings that the Lord still seeks after us even when we stray, when we aren’t whole or clean – He’s after the sick and afflicted. That connected some important dots for me. That’s why I now believe I can make it. I just hope there’s enough time left before the end to gain those greatest of blessings, be counted as one of His disciples, and have power in the priesthood to be an effective servant in preparing a people for His Second Coming. Keep cheering us on.

    Chris

    Like

  2. Pearl says:

    I just wanted to follow up on my “gun shy” post. Yesterday I learned (or re-learned) that this thinking is from the wrong source. I said in my head, “Why is this new trial unfolding before me? I was taking baby steps!” The thought came, “You certainly were.” I said in my mind, “I do not want to do this! This will be so difficult! This will be so painful!” The thought came, “I know what you mean.” As I was forming more thoughts/arguments in my mind it came to my soul again, “I know what you mean.”

    We cannot negotiate with Satan! You see, I was thinking that on some level – if I stay sort of “neutral” or don’t get out there like I’m some sort of threat, Satan will leave me alone. Like I was making “deals” in my mind with Satan. The deception! To forget he is the father of lies is a big mistake. Trials and bad times may come regardless… to try to avoid them at the cost of discipleship, well- that path leads to no good. I’ve been playing the foolish virgin. I have a long way to go.

    Thank you for all you do, Bro. Pontius. Have a good time at Lake Powell.

    Like

  3. K-Jo says:

    I am so glad you are taking some time to enjoy yourself! Everyone needs refreshing from time to time! I love every word you write….it gives me hope. Love you,
    K-Jo

    Like

  4. Joni Walker says:

    John, I know that there are true saints that are uniting in the same bond heading for a real Zion community, and we are these with true intent and desire to serve the lord at any cost! I am one who thrives on the true gospel teaching and pure inspiration given through the Holy Ghost. Your time and spiritual awareness has enlarged my territory of learning. I have asked Father-in-Heaven for further guidance in learning and he led me to you! Hugs Joni

    Like

  5. cheyenne brashear says:

    Brother John, you have taken a piece of what Christ has given to you and shared it with all of us; I think I can speak for most if not everyone on here when I say that our lives are changing forever because of these things you have shared and are sharing. I feel the closer a person comes to the Savior, the more like Him they become. By your gentleness,kindness, diligence, councel, and concern, that I have seen and felt in both your un-blogs and your comments to those who have questions or concerns, I have witnessed an extention of the Savior’s great love for all of us. I have seen you administer comfort to those who needed it, I know that at times when you are and have been silent to someone’s question or comment that even that is done out of love, and probably for that person’s best good. Coming to know of our Savior’s great love and goodness, my prayers are alot different now then they were a year ago, or even a few months ago. I see His goodness everywhere now. I am starting to see God in everyone around me. Even trials feel different than they used to. I feel I speak by the power of the Holy Ghost when I say Brother John that because of these precious truths that you have imparted to us through the Spirit that you will be blessed even greater than your expectations. Normally I don’t speak so boldly, but my heart feels full at this time and I know the Spirit is granting me the power to speak with boldness. God bless you. God bless all of us that want His goodness and presence in our lives. Brother C.

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Brother C

      You are so kind. Thank you so much. And as always all thanks go to our Savior.

      “I live, yet not I. But Christ liveth in me. And the life which I now live in the flesh, I live by faith in the son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” (Galatians 2:20)

      Brother John.

      Like

      • cheyenne brashear says:

        This is what’s so beautiful about it, is that any goodness that any person manifests is really the goodness and grace of Christ working in them(in Christ there should come every good thing, Mor.7:21)I also know that any true servant of Christ will give the credit and the glory to Him because they know where their goodness comes from. We are all unprofitable servants,but when we align ourselves with He who is profitable, we become profitable through Him,(For ye know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ,that,though he was rich, yet for your sakes he became poor, that ye through his poverty might be rich, 2 Cor.8:9)Anyway, I hope you have a great time on the lake. Try not to freeze 🙂

        Like

  6. Bruce Thacker says:

    I just want to thank you for your words they pierce my soul and remind me of the still small voice penetrating my heart. I have almost finished the Call Of Zion,and almost hope I never get to the end. I get charged up to thinking I might be able to do this and then something happens and I realize my many short commings and Know I have a long way to go. It is a path I want to follow. Thanks Bruce

    Like

  7. Skye Buhler says:

    I was inspired to tell you that about half a dozen times (or more) I have been questioning, or learning something new and I will talk about it with someone or write about it in my journal, and the very next day you will blog about it. It amazes me everytime. Thank you for following the holy spirit, it has confirmed a lot of truths to me. The work you are doing is bringing me closer to God. Thank You.

    With Love and Gratitude, Skye

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

