By Him and Of Him


One of the comments today was that I am beginning to sound like a broken record. The funny thing is that as I was writing that post I had the words “broken record” pop into my head. I didn’t know what it meant.

Let me ask a question. What is the most common substance in the universe?

I expect that among the first answers that popped into your mind was water, or carbon, or oxygen.

The right answer is – Jesus Christ. We don’t commonly think of our Savior as a substance, but the scriptures clearly say that Jesus Christ made all that exists, and that it was made by Him and of Him.

D&C 88 teaches us:

He comprehendeth all things, and all things are before him, and all things are round about him; and he is above all things, and in all things, and is through all things, and is round about all things; and all things are by him, and of him, even God, forever and ever. (D&C 88:41)

Even our own bodies are made of this same Christ-element, which is His creative power through the light of Christ, which because it came from Him, is also somehow of Him, meaning we are made of Him as well. Furthermore, Christ sustains all life because all life is a part of Him, and by his power all things remain in their proper order; Turtles don’t give birth to horses, and corn seeds don’t sprout into stake centers.

So, here we are, made of, by and for Christ, hearing His voice in our hearts, depending upon His sacrifice and atonement, dependent upon His continuing grace for the continuation of our mortal lives and for the very hope of our eternal lives – and we have trouble remembering Him and keeping his commandments – the irony being that we are surrounded by nothing so profoundly as Christ and His creations.

We forget at times that Christ is not just the source of the Still Small Voice in our heads, but He is everything else, the way the truth and the light. He isn’t the signpost that shows the way, He is the way.

And here is the reason for the broken record: No truth is more important than this, which is that because He is all things to us, the only open door through which we may come unto Him, and to become “one” with Him, and to live the life that He lives, is by hearing and obeying His voice. We don’t need a PhD, or a brilliant IQ, or a chorus of angels to reveal the way – all we need is obedience, and He will change us to be like Him, and in time to sit us down upon thrones in our own kingdoms of glory.

Brother John

© June 2011, John M. Pontius, all rights reserved. Non-commercial reproduction permitted.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to By Him and Of Him

  1. diane hawkes says:

    Even though you have continued to touch on this subject many times, I think this blog deserves being repeated. It is so meaningful and of profound truth.

    A heartfelt thank you, Br. John.

    Like

  2. Kirk says:

    I guess I am like a sheep. Hard of hearing and slow to get it’s meaning. I need to hear it again and again and again for it to sink in, or maybe it’s just that very time you say it, it is worded slightly different so that more understanding is spoken along with it. Either way i am glad that you speak the same thing often, for each time i hear it I feel drawn to it and I never seem to get tired of hearing it even if it is spoken many times over. Perhaps some are quick to pick up on the message, but that is not me, I have to hear, ponder and soul search in thought and contemplation. Then I seem to get it, or somewhat get it. But I never tire of hearing it. Maybe slow of hearing or dull of hearing, yet I sense that there is something more to it and I feel drawn to it. I wish I was faster to receive the message, but I am not. I am glad that you are saying it may times over, maybe it is more for me that you are speaking it to and I am glad that the Lord is patient as it sometimes takes time to cross the brain barrier of earthly thinking in order for us to “get it”. Thank You!

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Kirk, the truth is I need it too. Eventhough I understand the principle, I keep relearning it on different levels. I think we are all like this, so don’t be too hard on yourself. You are a true seeker, and the Lord is gracious to all such.

      Like

  3. Justin Thacker says:

    You are a record that I love to listen to over and over again Brother John. Your book The Call to Zion opened my eyes to the many possibilities that the gospel offers us. I now realize that because of Christ all things are possible through us. I’m thankful for the spirit that your words bring into my life and it is always good to be reminded of the truths that have been forgotten. Thank you.

    Like

  4. James says:

    A couple of decades ago, cosmologists discovered that everything we can observe in the universe only accounts for about 4% of what must be there in order to account for the way galaxies etc., move and interact. The other 96% they call ‘dark energy’ and ‘dark matter’, because neither can be detected by any scientific method; only by their effect on the matter we can see.

    I couldn’t help but think it could be related to the unseen world that awaits us, along the lines of “the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen”. Further to this thought is DC 131, “There is no such thing as immaterial matter. All spirit is matter, but it is more fine or pure, and can only be discerned by purer eyes; We cannot see it; but when our bodies are purified we shall see that it is all matter.”

    The idea that Christ is the source of substance which fills the universe and gives light and order to all things stands to reason, although I had not considered it quite the way it was explained in this post before. All truth is or will become self-evident. I can’t say authoritatively if anything I’ve speculated here is true, but I enjoy looking for evidences of eternal truth that surface among the secular – and just when they thought they had it all figured out, again!

    Thanks

    James

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      It’s thrilling to me to think upon these things. I too believe the whole truth will be ours some day, until then we walk by faith – and we specualte like children the night before Christmas, wide eyed and wondering.

      Good comment.

      Like

  5. Donald says:

    The most common substance? My first thought was LIGHT.

    Like

  6. Juli says:

    We LOVE the record you are playing and the station it is played on – please keep it playing until every last son and daughter of our Heavenly Father has heard, and felt and lived this song. We cannot heard it in too many ways!

    Bless you, Brother John

    Like

  7. jaredeastley says:

    I would like to take this chance to put in writing, in my own words, how I perceive the Light of Christ to function. Most of my understanding on this subject comes from three sources: D&C 88, Skousen’s talk on the Atonement, and Pontius. This is how I put it together.

    Lehi taught that there are two substances in the universe: that which acts and that which is acted upon, or, intelligence and element. Joseph Smith taught that each element is capacitated to receive intelligence. Intelligence combined with element is enabled to act according to the knowledge it has. Intelligence combined with element with knowledge of right and wrong (the law) is a possessor of moral agency.

    The Light of Christ is composed of what I call Messenger Intelligences, very tiny elements fitted with intelligence, which fill the immensity of space. All of these little Messenger Intelligences are in continual instantaneous contact with Jesus Christ. Scientists today sometimes call this Dark Matter, but only because they cannot see it with mortal eyes—it is anything but dark!

    There is a lot I don’t understand here, but it seems that the Holy Ghost has a key role to play in making this process possible. Somehow or other, the Holy Ghost makes certain functions of the Light of Christ possible.

    Within the heavens there exists a vast society of Gods/gods. These advance according to their obedience to eternal laws until they are (one by one) Supreme.

    As far as the Light of Christ goes, only those who fine-tune themselves through obedience to that light are able to receive more light, until they are filled with that light on the perfect day. We do this by remaining alert to the Still Small Voice and by taking continual steps through faith which enhance this alertness. Those who are gods/Gods are those who have perfected within themselves this process of Light of Christ Communication and Obedience. Jesus, who is now the Christ, advanced, grace by grace, until He qualified Himself to occupy his current place within the Godhead wherein He holds the Key of the Light of Christ whereby all things are governed in His name.

    All physics, all spirituality, all law is simply a matter of learning and mastering the rules governing energy transfers.

    Brother Jared

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Jared, you are obviously a deep thinker. Thank you for sharing your opinion on these things. The “messenger Intelligences” sound like the angels described in Moroni 7:29-32. There is a lot more going on under the hood than we’re aware of – I give you that.

      Like

  8. K-Jo says:

    I wish you didn’t have to be a “broken record”. I wish we could all “just get it” the first time. Thank you for your character trait of patience when we don’t get it. Thank you for speaking to “the least” who is still trying to understand and not just moving ahead with those who progress faster. The prophets and apostles have to be broken records too as they repeat over and over again the same things in conference. I really liked Cheyenne’s comment on the previous post also. It was very insightful. Once again, thanks for being willing to write the things the spirit tells you to so that we may profit spiritually from your experience.

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      K-Jo, you so kind. I agree, but I also think it takes longer than mortality to truly “get it”. It is a process in which we are all still involved. And, once you’ve “got it” it just makes you wise enough to realize there is orders of magnitue more you still don’t get.

      Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

