The Order of Things


We have been talking about many spiritual events and blessings. Some of your comments have been about when and in what order these things happen. These things can be hard to piece together. It has taken me many years to realize what was happening, and what the “Straight and Narrow Path” actually looked like. We have spoken of each of these in the Un-Blog. This 30,000 foot view of things may help understand what is happening and where you are on the path.

  • Obedience to the voice of Christ / Holy Spirit  
    • This is the first covenant, if you have ears to hear
  • Sacrifice
    • This is the second covenant,
  • Prayer
  • Faith
  • Repentance
  • Baptism
    • This is the 3rd covenant, the law of the Gospel
  • Gift of the Holy Ghost
  • Ordination to Priesthoods
    • Essential for male pilgrims
  • Being born again
  • Becoming perfect in Christ
  • Personal revelation
    • The doctrine of the Priesthood begins to distill upon our heads as the dews from heaven.
  • Temple endowment
    • Where we receive the instruction on how to arrive at the veil
    • The 4th covenant of chastity is taught here because at this point unchaste acts become eternity threatening.
  • Taught by Angels (as indicated in the temple)
  • We obtain power in the Priesthood
  • Becoming Pure in Heart
    • This includes the 5th covenant of consecration
  • Calling and Election Made Sure (becoming the elect of God)
    • This is the private fulfillment of the first trip to the veil
  • Abrahamic Trial
  • Second Comforter
    • This is the private fulfillment of the second trip to the veil where we “enter in”.
  • “Endowed” from on High
    • This the request we may make of the Lord while in his presence. This is the actual endowment.
  • Translation
    • Translation is one of the many things we may ask for as our “endowment”.
  • Zion / 144,000
    • In this dispensation, we have the privilege of asking to be a part of the building of the Latter-day Zion, which will include a call to be one of the 144,000 missionaries.

Brother John

© June 2011, John M. Pontius, all rights reserved. Non-commercial reproduction permitted.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Order of Things

  1. K-Jo says:

    Hi Brother John,
    I was just reviewing some of your past posts….particularly this one. The steps that you outline here are so amazing and I can see how it took you years to put all of this together. I don’t know how to formulate my question, but I will try…..you worked years to put this together and now you are “handing” it to us. Is it “cheating” for us to just gobble this up without any blood, sweat and tears on our own? (I know the blood sweat and tears comes when we actually DO the steps), but I mean, I am really grateful to have it, because I am not sure that I could figure it out on my own. Is it counted unto me any “less” because I haven’t figured it out on my own?

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      I’m not sure why I’m being allowed to say these things. For all of my life up until now, I’ve been prompted to say only a very small part of these things that seem to flow across the Un-Blog. The thing that is amazing to me is that apparently now is the time, and the Lord has granted me words to explain these things many times and in many ways. I’ve always felt the Spirit as I wrote, and your comments frequently mention that most of you feel it too.

      As for “cheating” I believe everyone will pay the same price for the blessings we seek and obtain. The difference is that knowing the process speeds up when people begin to obtain. It doesn’t change the price to obtain it. It just gets one started sooner.

      Brother John

      Like

      • K-Jo says:

        Then, I thank my Heavenly Father that he is allowing you to share and speed us up in the process. Thank you also for having the desire to do it! God Bless.
        K-Jo

        Like

  2. Randall says:

    In response to Ken about the gathering… ‘Not all who wander are lost’… I am from Benjamin and my son is from Dan. The rest of the family is from Ephraim. We have our own gathering every day. 🙂

    Like

  3. Joe says:

    How does Moroni 7:48 fit into this sequence/process?

    48
    Wherefore, my beloved brethren, pray unto the Father with all the energy of heart, that ye may be filled with this love, which he hath bestowed upon all who are true followers of his Son, Jesus Christ; that ye may become the sons of God; that when he shall appear we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is; that we may have this hope; that we may be purified even as he is pure. Amen.

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      This is a good question, Joe. I will address it Monday if that’s alright. Right now I’m supposed to hide so my girls can fix me a “surprise” Father’s Day dinner. I’m going to hide in my favorite spot, where nobody can find me – behind my eyelids. 😉

      Like

      • Donald says:

        LOL!! too Funny… I’m doing exactly the same thing at this very moment…. “hiding” so my daughters can fix me a surprise. 🙂

        Like

  4. Randall says:

    What about temple marriage and sealing? Shouldn’t that be part of the path too? At least I have always been taught that Celestial marriage is a necessasary requirement for making it to the Celestial Kingdom.

    In my case maybe that IS the Abrahamic trial… 😉

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      You are quite right, that Celestial Marriage is required. However, it is not required in this life, and I usually don’t list it because some people haven’t be blessed in this life to obtain it. As long as single people would obey if they could, and are walking the path with their whole heart, they will obtain these blessings in due time.

      The same question arises from married folks whose spouse is not active or has no interest. They can still accomplish everything in this life that is necessary for them here, and then complete their labors on the other side.

      But, your point is valid. Thank you for mentioning it.

      Like

  5. Dean taylor says:

    I love reading of these things as it brings joy and peace to read of others experiences. The process outlined here has been accurate so far as I have traveled it and I look forward with great anticipation to the remainder of the journey which undoubtedly will take us well into the eternities. The feelings of being alone and not being able to share has been a challenge as the spirit will rarely give consent to share with others- only a very little from time to time. I’m so greatfull that there are those who the lord has allowed to share more so we can be inspired and motivated with greater desire and determination to seek the blessings which are readily available to the obedient regardless of where we are in our progress.

    I’m a convert to the church and sought diligently for many years in order to find the true gospel. I told the missionaries the first night I met them that I wanted to be baptized because I already knew It was the Lords church from the ;communications given from the spirit.through reading the Book of Mormon. I was eighteen when I found the church and since then I have traveled a path fraught with challenges, adversity and blessings that I cannot speak of openly. The challenges and opposition which the Lord has allowed me to go through have been so intense and heavy that people have a hard time believing me when I share it so I have learned to keep to myself . These trials have been so excruciating that I have sought and plead for death to overtake me at times but I always ended my prayers with thy will be done and here I am. I just want everyone to know that at the end of the tunnel is a great light filled with joy and peace that mortals are incapable of communicating.

    One of my most treasured understandings is that of how God talks to us. Sometimes we are given dreams/visions or receive the ministering of angels but most often the voice is more wonderful and personal. I spent so much of my journey following this voice unknowingly because of how it made me feel when I did- it was natural. The consequence of course was that I wasn’t as steady in my obedience as when the understanding came after many, many prayers to know and understand this voice. His voice is ever with us and we can enhance it or diminish it by our own intents and actions. Then the understanding came that he is talking to us every day and that his arms are always stretched out to us. When I understood that he was anxiously waiting for me to ask the right questions and seek the right knowledge and blessings the excitement was intense. He was speaking and I was for the most part unknowingly hearing and obeying. To knowingly obey is a great gift that only enhances as we practice and grow. Most often he speaks to us with thoughts, ideas and feelings of peace and joy and we are left to translate this into our own language. He also instills knowledge. I am naturally more excited to speak with him now that I understand more clearly his communications. There is nothing in this world more exciting that this gospel and the magnificent blessings that flow from it. God has given us the tools and will guide us to places we can’t dream of it we will trust and obey. I don’t normally write my feelings on boards like this but it felt good to do it and I hope it is legible as I’m not very good at these types of things.
    Anonymus

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Dear Anonymous,

      Your words and experiences resonate with this group. We have all shared these exact feelings, of seeking, finding, and then feeling alone. We understand your joy, and your pains. We understand your journey because we are on the same path.

      Welcome home to the Un-Blog,

      Brother John

      Like

  6. Donald says:

    beautiful summary. Our only hope is to prepare ourselves (to be able to endure the presence of the Father) ….re-ceive the fullness of the priesthood…. and re-connect with the power of heaven……..the step by step ascent you’ve outlined is the only way.

    Donald

    Like

  7. Chris says:

    One question about the Abrahamic Trial – wouldn’t you expect that prior to your C&E? Wouldn’t that be the final test to prove your faithful obedience to all God asks of us?

    Chris

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Hi Chris,

      It is my present opinion (which often changes as I grow) that there IS a great test prior to C&E to “prove” that we are willing to serve God at all hazards, but there is a greater one prior to the Second Comforter to purify us and prepare us to be in the Lord’s presence. It depends a lot upon the person too. I have a dear friend who is basically pure in heart by nature. He did not start experiencing great trials until after his C&E. Most others though require purification prior, to prepare then for C&E.

      Like

  8. SHB says:

    So sorry to comment on your reply! I could not get the system to let me post a separate comment. Let me know if I am missing something.

    My question is regarding the Abrahamic Trial. At this point, with one’s calling and election made sure, why is one being tested again? Is it not really testing, rather purifying? I would love to hear more about this period of the journey from your perspective.

    Here are my thoughts which have not completely come together for me yet: As I look at the scriptures I think the Abrahamic trial (my spouse and I call it the “Wilderness Trial”) is sometimes associated with the number 40–forty days and nights of intense rain all while shoveling animal droppings, forty days of fasting (for Christ), forty years in the desert (as a trial for Moses but punishment for the children of Israel), and Jeremiah preaching (and being persecuted) for 40 years at Jerusalem. Other examples not associated with the number 40 would be Elisha being fed by the ravens and Joseph Smith and his associates in Liberty Jail.

    These wilderness times seem to be characterized by isolation (a single person or family–a huge family in the case of the children of Israel), reliance on the Lord for all physical needs, intense trials, being asked to do seemingly crazy or impossible things like build a boat and set sail, and lastly, the development of an extraordinarily close relationship with the Lord.

    The person or family leaves a place of presumed safety (though that safe place is Babylon and in reality is not that safe) and finds themselves having to walk COMPLETELY by faith, but at the same time experiencing the voice of the Lord with great power and clarity.

    To me, this “wilderness” or “Abrahamic Trial” is far beyond the typical trials that come in mortality. In fact, others who do not understand look on and say, “Wow, your life is REALLY messed up!”

    Any thoughts would be appreciated!

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Dear SHB,

      I can only give you my opinion, since I am not aware of much written about “the trial”. I believe that all blessings are opposed, and the greater the things that we are seeking, the greater the trials will be all through our journey. “The trial” of our faith is specifically engineered to complete our purification process, and to give us the opportunity to document in the record of heaven that we will obey God at any cost. It is usually a paradox of some sort, which means the events appear impossible, and only walking by faith and with complete reliance upon the Saviour can lead us through the paradox. The Lord always repays whatever we must sacrifice 100 fold or more.

      I like your descriptions above, but I haven’t heard your “40” connection before. It is an interesting thought that I’ll have to consider for a while. A great deal of our experiences after C&E are to help us become “pure in heart” for the pure in heart shall see God, which is our goal. Whether you call it a test, or a purification process, it is designed to strip us of pride, self-relieance, ego, ambition, unrighteous goals and every other “Impure thing”. It is also designed to give us the opportunity to obtain pure faith in the guiding voice of Christ. When it is over, if we let it happen and don’t fight against it, the end result is that we are like Christ, and the veil that separates serves no additional purpose.

      Like

  9. Chris says:

    Bro John,
    I understood that power in the priesthood came with the Rebirth. Are you saying that perhaps it begins to develop with the Rebirth, but true power in the priesthood really settles in later on?

    Chris

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      My understanding is that Priesthood Power grows as our faith grows. The rebirth brings an influx of faith, so priesthood power increases then too. With each spiritual event we become more Christ-like, and thus exhibit greater priesthood power. There is another complete level of the priesthood called “The Fullness of the Priesthood” which we receive after the Second Comforter. This gives us power to move mountains, if so commanded.

      Like

      • Ken says:

        This is supposed to be a comment and not a reply but I couldn’t get a “comment” window to open, only a “reply” window– Regardless, here is the comment/question:

        Of the 144K, there would only be 12,000 from each tribe, right?
        Do you have any pulse on the number of tribes that have started to be gathered? Of the people who have told me, almost all are either Ephraim or Manassa.

        Any idea if close to 12,000 from any other tribes are already “known” or is it possible that the 3 Nephites etc are gathering those “lost tribes” in a manner unbeknownst to us?

        Are the lost tribes still lost?

        Like

        • John Pontius says:

          They are lost to any knowledge I have. I suspect that the “gathering” of Ephraim and Manassa is accomplished physically, but the 12,000 who become part of the 144k are going to be those who qualify to be a part of Zion through ordinances and promises we presently possess.

          Another point to remember is that Enoch and his city will return and assist in the building of Zion and in the work of the 144k.

          I guess that was a long way to say “I don’t know”. :-O

          John

          Like

      • Chris says:

        Thank you. That makes a lot of sense to me as I had forgotten about the Fullness of the Priesthood. I also want to thank you for your explanation of the Rebirth you posted for Clarice. That adds a lot. I’m not going to be watching for a surprising event; if it happens, so be it, but I’ll anticipate a process. Also, thank you for your suggested study program. And thank you……you get it.

        Chris

        Like

  10. Clarice says:

    Brother John these last few blogs are amazing! I have been pondering being born again. Do you believe that most often people are born again and don’t realize it?

    I know that I have received many of the gifts that attend being reborn(mostly in the last six months). Yet I am not sure that I have actually experienced the rebirth. I have told the Lord that I am just going to keep moving forward. I just wonder if I am expecting the receiving of the Holy Ghost to be something more than it is.

    I mean being baptized by fire sounds like a pretty unforgettable experience!

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Hi Clarice,

      Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed them.

      I think most people are unaware of the rebirth. In most people it is a process, like you noted, of acquiring the gifts over time as we become more obedient and prepared. The Baptism of Fire can take many forms, many of them unrecognizable. It could happen while you’re saying your prayers, or taking the sarament, last for a few minutes, then seem to disipate. But, the thing that can’t be misjudged is that it changes you. You find yourself with more faith, more desire, less anger, less selfishness, and a willingness to submit to anything the Lord sees fit to inflict upon us (Mosiah 3:19). These changes most often happen over time, but can be a powerful event too.

      If you feel these purifying gifts, then you have been reborn, and didn’t realize it.

      Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

