The Last Great Promise


Joe asked a question last week that I promised to Un-Blog about yesterday. We had such a busy day that I didn’t get to it. Please forgive me. Here is what Joe asked:

How does Moroni 7:48 fit into this sequence/process?
Wherefore, my beloved brethren, pray unto the Father with all the energy of heart, that ye may be filled with this love, which he hath bestowed upon all who are true followers of his Son, Jesus Christ; that ye may become the sons of God; that when he shall appear we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is; that we may have this hope; that we may be purified even as he is pure. Amen. (Moroni 7:48)

This scripture is one of those sweeping statements which captured the whole process. It is easy to read it as a single event – which is that we should pray for Charity, and when we obtain Charity, we will be pure as he is pure. There are many powerful events in this verse being lumped into a single statement.

We are filled with Love when we receive Charity as a gift from Christ at the rebirth and beyond. This was typified by the vision of the Tree of Life by Lehi. The Iron Rod and straight path led to the tree, which represented the “Love of God”. This process of recognizing and grabbing hold of personal revelation (the iron rod of the Word of God) is what brings us to the Love of God.

The gift of Charity is bestowed upon all “who are true followers of his Son, Jesus Christ.” By the next statement we know he is speaking about being born again because it is at the rebirth that we become “Sons of God”.

He next teaches us that we should do all this so “that when he (meaning Christ) shall appear (when we part the veil at the Second Comforter) that we “shall be like him”. “For we shall see him as he is” which means, without the veil, in true form as a loving savior, not as a conquering God taking vengeance on a wicked world. We also know that “when he shall appear” isn’t referring to the second coming because there is no worthiness requirement (charity, son’s and daughters of God, being true followers, and being like him,) to be present when the second coming occurs. This is a person appearance which we qualify for by being “true followers”. 

This is the beauty and majesty of the Latter-day gospel – this last and great promise, this pathway that requires purification, obedience and great faith to even see – let alone believe. This is the diamond-hard faith that you and I may find ourselves in the presence of Christ long before He comes to cleanse the earth.

Brother John

© June 2011, John M. Pontius, all rights reserved. Non-commercial reproduction permitted.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Last Great Promise

  1. Pearl says:

    I will always welcome discussions having anything to do with the Second Coming. I don’t want to hijack your plans and what you want to discuss on the Unblog – you are getting the inspiration for that. (You should see how I can hijack F&T meeting!) Anyway, thank you again so much for all your efforts. Enjoying your writings very much.

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Pearl, don’t worry. I’m very interested in this topic of the Second Coming. I’ve been progressing with the veil subject slowly to let people think and comment about it. It isn’t a discussion I feel should be rushed. When it feels right, I am very intersted in the Second Coming and in the building of Zion. It is all the same subject, really. The difference is that we have control over when and if we penetrate the veil, and we have ZERO control over when Christ will return.

      Like

  2. Chris says:

    I hope this will fit into this conversation, since we’re talking about the steps to the veil…From all that has been explained, it appears that the process, the testing and changing, that gets us to our first visit at the veil with the Lord revolves around obedience. When we’ve proven to the Lord that we will be obedient in all things, no matter what, He makes our calling and election sure. Then there is a second round/process prior to our return to the veil (when we seek to claim the promises made the first time). This new round of trials and change is intended to purify us to the point that we can endure His presence. First obedience to qualify, then purification of the proven/chosen one. Is this correct?

    Chris

    Like

  3. James says:

    Bro. John, once again you point out so clearly another invitation to ‘all who are true followers of his Son Jesus Christ’ to come into his presence in this life. Those ancient prophets sure understood that the pain and suffering of this world is swallowed up in the enjoyment of the Lord’s presence, and that it is worth being sought after at all costs.

    Mormon, having been selected to lead armies from his youth and spending so many years experiencing the carnage and debauchery of the fallen Nephite/Lamanite nations, could so easily have become war-hardened, frustrated and hopeless. In fact, I read Alma 48:17, where he praises the integrity and virtue of Captain Moroni (for whom he surely named his own son), as a lamentation for the Nephites of his day – how he longed to have had such men of God at his side! Instead, however, this army General lauds the importance of charity to all his ‘beloved brethren’, and to us, speaking from the dust. Mormon clearly was awash in the grace of the Second Comforter as a mortal man.

    Also, a reminder to unblog on the Terrestrial world in the temple endowment, as you feel prompted to do so. The new FTL cover does look like a package of powdered lemonade. I think most people like lemonade, so it should be ok. It also ought to get noticed from a distance on book store shelves. Thanks again for sharing your faith and knowledge.

    James

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      James, I am pondering your question. I find it rather difficult to write about anything specific regarding the temple. If the Lord gives me the right words on this subject, I promise to Un-blog them.

      Like

  4. cheyenne brashear says:

    I love Moroni, chapter 7. In my opinion, it is the greatest chapter in all of scripture(2 Nephi 31 is a close second). In verse 48 it says that the Father bestows charity upon ALL those who are true followers of His Son, Jesus Christ.

    I remember reading verse 48 and pondering what it means to be a true follower of Jesus Christ, and wondering how a person would know if they were one. In my searching, I came across a couple of scriptures that answered my question.

    In John 12:26, it says: ” If any man serve me, let him follow me; and where I am, there shall also my servant be: if any man serve me, him will my Father honor.” I remember reading this scripture and asking the question: is it possible to serve Christ and not follow him? In the full sense of service to Him I don’t believe it is, but in a lesser sense, I see people serve all the time, and quite often, without following Him (I hope this doesn’t sound judgemental, I don’t mean it to).

    In John 10:2-4,and 27-29, it says what it means to be a true follower of Jesus Christ. These verses state: ” But he that entereth in by the door(our heart, see also Revelation 3:20)is the shepherd of the sheep. To him the porter( us, when we give place that his word may have place in our heart)openeth; and the sheep(the same as the porter) hear his voice:and he calleth his own sheep by name, and he leadeth them out(out of sin, bondage, darkness, and the world). And when he putteth forth his own sheep, he goeth before them, and the sheep follow him: for they know his voice.” and, “My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand. My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand.”

    It seems to me that based on all that the scriptures teach us, to be a true follower of Christ, a person must come to recognize his voice and follow it. To the natural man, charity isn’t really understood or appreciated, and certainly not something one would pray for. I feel that as a person begins to follow the voice of the Saviour, He(Jesus Christ) begins to manifest His love and goodness to that person, and that person begins to yearn to know God and Christ more and more, until a person’s greatest desire is to know God and follow Him; I feel this burning need and desire is what enables a true follower to pray unto the Father with all the energy of heart to be filled with this love so that eventually they will see Him as He really is, because they will have become like Him. Thanks again brother John for this beautiful un-blog. Brother C.

    Like

    • Joe says:

      Brother C – Excellent thoughts. This was exactly my next question to myself – what does it mean to be a true follower of Jesus Christ? Thanks for the head start!

      Joe

      Like

      • John Pontius says:

        Yes, I appreciated Brother Cheyenne’s summation too. Has a good understanding of these principles. The principles of discipleship and true followership has been a subject of the Un-Blog many times and in many ways. Becoming a true follower of Christ is first and foremost learning to hear and obey His voice. It is surrendering our will to His, and breathing in the Spirit every moment of our lives, until we are changed, born again, and begin to have the image of God in our countenances.

        We make Him our Shepherd by becoming his sheep. “My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me.” (John 10:27)

        Like

      • cheyenne brashear says:

        Thank you brother Joe. It is my great desire for you and I, and all of us to meet together in Zion someday. God bless you. Sincerely, brother C.

        Like

  5. TDG says:

    I’ve wondered about the same thing that Pearl brings up about the degree of worthiness required to “abide” the second coming. From D&C 45:56-57
    56 And at that day, when I shall come in my glory, shall the parable be fulfilled which I spake concerning the ten virgins.
    57 For they that are wise and have received the truth, and have taken the Holy Spirit for their guide, and have not been deceived—verily I say unto you, they shall not be hewn down and cast into the fire, but shall abide the day.

    Isn’t the world to be burned at his coming? Doesn’t this scripture say those who have taken the Holy Spirit for their guide (held fast to the iron rod) will not cast into the fire but abide the day.

    Also it seems to me those who are “caught up” to meet Christ at his coming would have to have the degree of righteousness as the those of the City of Enoch.

    On the other hand the same section of the D&C talks about the heathen nations during the millennium:
    54 And then shall the heathen nations be redeemed, and they that knew no law shall have part in the first resurrection; and it shall be tolerable for them.
    55 And Satan shall be bound, that he shall have no place in the hearts of the children of men.
    D&C 45:54-55

    I question my own understanding of the final events of last days.

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Dear TDG,

      I love the study of the events of the Second Coming. It isn’t a topic I’ve written about recently, so I’m not qualified to say “this is how it is!” Let me finish getting us to the veil, and then perhaps we can go back and study this important topic.

      I share your enthusiasm for this this topic, but ask for your patience as we complete the present topic.

      John

      Like

  6. jimmy tetuanui says:

    I had an interesting insight the other day when I reread this chapter, Moroni 7. I’ve read this chapter so many times but this time for the first time ever it hit me that this is a ‘diamond’ exerpts of a speech Mormon gave to God’s elects, not the average regular members of the Church. In other words, I realized (I hope I’m not wrong) that this is a chapter destined for those who are ready to enter the Lord’s presence, those who have climbed the moutain and are right toward the end about to reach their goal. 1) This speech was given in a ‘synagogue’ (v.1), so a special place. 2). The chapter is only an exerpt of a longer talk (v.1. a few words of my father..). 3) God inspired Mormon to give this talk (v. 2. it is by the grace of God…because of…his calling unto me…I am permited to speak unto you at this time (and place?). 4) I speak unto you…the peaceable followers of Christ (who have) obtained a suficient hope (and faith?) by which ye can enter into the rest of the Lord, from this time (until they can rest with him in heaven). (verses 4 and 5 talk about how Mormn knows of their spiritual status, by their work or by who they have become at that time). As I looked at this chapter in this new light a thought crossed my mind saying: ‘How many people do you know of who do or have prayed with all their hearts to be filled with Charity? How many people do you know who have prayed, fasted, and pleaded with all their hearts to obtain this gift?’ And the answer is that I do not know anyone personally who has done this – none! Why not? As you said in your book brother Pontius, Obtaining Charity is one of those ‘necessary steps’ to reach toward the end of our journey of becoming a zion person. My understanding is that only those who reach a certain degree of spirituality – about to become Zion or who have become Zionist and are now close to receive the Second Comforter. In fact, it seems that this might be the last step before we can actually enter into the Lord’s presence – and this will come after we have gone through other extraodinary steps (being born again, making one’s calling & election sure, entertaining angels, seeing visions etc…). I like the first sentence in the heading of this chapter ‘An invitation is given to enter into the rest of the Lord…’ Yes, this chapter is truly a ‘diamond-hard’ chapter – as if Moroni slipped it there to encourage those who ‘are almost there’!

    Like

  7. Joe says:

    Thanks for the response! And even a whole blog entry dedicated to my question. I had always thought that charity was “the end”, until now. It’s apparent that charity is more of a midpoint in The Process. Not only that, but charity is, among other things, a necessary engine or motivation or power to enable you on the rest of the journey. Moroni 7:48 is an amazing scripture. More than just beautiful words.

    Like

  8. Pearl says:

    You say there is no worthiness requirement to be present at the Second Coming. This is the first time I’ve heard this. I’ve been under the impression that, as opposed to the destruction at the Crucifixion where only the vilest of sinners were destroyed, hardly any will escape the calamities leading up to the Second Coming and there is even the condition placed upon Zion in D&C 97:25 “Nevertheless, Zion shall escape IF she observe to do all things whatsoever I have commanded her.” (Am I doing all things whatsoever I’ve been commanded?)

    Am I misunderstanding you?

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Hi Pearl,

      There IS a worthiness requirment to survive the second coming, but not to be there. Otherwise there would be nothing to cleanse. The Lord isn’t taking vengeance upon rocks and pine trees. It’s the wicked people he’s coming to cleanse by fire.

      Like

      • Pearl says:

        I guess I’ve been under the impression that the cleanup of the world will come during a stretch of time before His Coming, not at His Coming. I don’t think He will come to a world of ashes, but to the perfected Zion society, keeping all His laws, etc. as we’ve talked about.

        I don’t understand the rocks and pine trees statement.

        Like

        • John Pontius says:

          I was about to reply, but I guess I’m going to have to dig out my old research on the Second Coming. It is a fascinating study, not only because we understand that the time is near, but also because there are so many opinions and so many ways to interpret (and misinterpret) the sequence of events.

          Christ returns after the tribulations, but the world is still at war nation against nation, but also against Zion. Christ will come during the tribulation of those days, and after the first and second resurrections, He will finally return and destroy the wicked.

          But, like I said, let me get back up to speed on this subject before I put my foot in my mouth or something.

          Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

