Unfathomable Wealth


If the only Un-Blog you ever read in your life was the one from yesterday, one might get the impression that the life of a seeker of righteousness is harsh, with God withholding everything to teach us lessons that damage and create misery in our present life in favor of unseen blessings in eternity.

As a matter of fact, I can honestly say that true seekers obtain everything they righteously ask for. Personally, my life is full, as is my heart and soul. Some of these blessings take a long time to materialize, but they do come. I have great faith in these things. What I’m trying to say is that in order to bless us with the things we are righteously seeking, that we must be upgraded in order to be worthy and prepared to receive and rejoice in them. Most often that takes the form of events and happenings that take away the obstacles in our life that were inhibiting our obtaining the blessings we had righteously requested.

Sometimes those cleansing and purifying events take the form of knocking things out of our hands. It can take many years to be able to look back and see that the thing you had lost in that moment would have dramatically slowed, or even stopped the answer to your prayers. In many cases what we sacrificed were pieces of ourselves – pride, selfishness, laziness or even an inability to see the needs of others. Sometimes we lose important relationships, because that person stood as an impassable wall to our progression. Often the purification process takes the form of a dramatic challenge which could only be overcome by complete surrender to the will of God, and faith sufficiently profound to wait and wait for the answer to come.

I think sometimes, that had I been less defective in my life, and with less baggage dragging behind me, perhaps the process and the lessons would have been less dramatic. On the other hand, as I watch life unfold for many people from this blessed Un-Blog perch Jesus Christ has given me, I think that my journey was not so different than everyone else. Especially among the true seekers, and those whose eyes are properly fixed upon great, greater and greatest things, that this theme of growth is ubiquitous.

I am clearly not equipped to say exactly how and why it all works, except to say that all of these apparent losses of life, when viewed as coin paid to purchase the blessings we now possess, and those eternal blessings which, through the eye of faith, we see close at hand, then we are the most blessed of all mortals.

I often read things about how mankind is struggling to learn how to lengthen human life – and I think, I know how it can be done! There is a divine plan whereby I can achieve “Unending life” as a citizen of Zion.

I read stories and see movies about people with unusual abilities, and I think – I know how that works! I know the exact path and price to be one of those who move mountain in the name of Christ, raise the dead and walk upon the waters of mortality!

I read things about how the universe exploded into being, and I think – I know how it is really done! And, one day I fully expect to do it by my own hands.

I read about kings and queens, about palaces and unfathomable wealth, and I think – I will in some future eternal day have instead of wealth, the ability to create worlds and things without number. I think when I have an eternal day off, I might just take a world or two and create the most beautiful formal garden in my own little universe, and include a place for every beautiful thing, waterfall, sunset, lake, mountain, plant or animal, inspired structure and statue, and for art of music and canvas; the finest of which divinely-lit minds can conceive. Then I’ll invite you all for a picnic. We’ll sit by a stream sparkling with the glory of God and eat New York steaks we plucked from a tree, and cheesecake that grew on bushes. Now that will be unfathomable wealth, and it will all seem free, because our part of the bill will have been prepaid in mortality by the lessons we faithfully endured.

Looking forward now, and looking back then, who would not rejoice in a few things being knocked from their hands as a tiny down payment on such an eternity, for which Jesus Christ has already paid the mortgage?

Brother John

© July 2011, John M. Pontius, all rights reserved. Non-commercial reproduction permitted.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Unfathomable Wealth

  1. Simon says:

    Spencer, I am new to this blog, and since John invited us to write him emails to ask questions, I did so with one question which is on my mind. I am not sure if anyone will reply on that email, since I just found out that John is now on the other side. I want to ask you that question, and mayby you find the time to answer, if not publicy, mayby privately.

    Recently I read more and more about members of our church that start believing in reincarnation. Many argue that it is a hidden doctrine in the scriptures ( such as D&C 132 “eternal lives” ) … and that the early bretheren thaught this as well. Many christians, as well as members start believing it’s an original believe. Many that experience NDE’s come back with the same message… Mayby it would not be that hard for me to accept if I would know that I will stay who I am , and that the people I love would also be around me on other probations… I have thought much about it, and I have some good ideas, but the idea that some have of reincarnation seems to me a little contradictive to the doctrine of the resurrection, and that all things will be restored how they “are now”… which makes me…
    Mayby you have received some insight on the matter

    Thank you so much…I am so glad you are not one of those who constantly criticise the church, but that you work with the good which is in it..

    Simon

    Like

  2. jareth says:

    This was so beautiful, and i can relate as i currently at the time am going through suffering in ways, iam being faced with trust issues in my life, constant worry, constant hell in a way because there are so many things that i have been brought to see.

    I hope so much to look to the Savior in all of this that im going through , he really is the all powerful way and the only success is yielding all things to him, even if it means splitting ones soul to gain his love so that we may not only see into eternity, but feel our way there by way of heart and holy calling. I want to cleave to destiney, For i know that its wings shall land us in the kingdom of our father in heaven to sit down next to him and everything that we really love and will come to love as we see and feel through his eyes and his heart alone. Thank you for this posting, it touches me and makes me feel like i have something to look forward to, even amongst the turmoil in the world, iam by no stretch of my soul perfect or even close yet. But it is a desire, and i want everyone i care about and love with me.

    I express love for the Savior in this, im learning yet im suffering, im suffering yet im coming to learn one of the most importand lessons in my life that i will ever learn and i know one day ill see everything as it really is.

    Brother Jareth.

    Like

  3. Kathy Pitochelli says:

    You have such a beautiful way of stating things.

    Like

  4. darrell brashear says:

    Thank you for those beautiful words brother John. I would love to be invited to that picnic 🙂 Your current unblog reminds me of some of the words that I once read from C.S. Lewis’ book “The Great Divorce”. The quote reads “Son,’he said,’ ye cannot in your present state understand eternity…That is what mortals misunderstand. They say of some temporal suffering, “No future bliss can make up for it,” not knowing that Heaven, once attained, will work backwards and turn even that agony into a glory. And of some sinful pleasure they say “Let me have but this and I’ll take the consequences”: little dreaming how damnation will spread back and back into their past and contaminate the pleasure of the sin. Both processes begin even before death. The good man’s past begins to change so that his forgiven sins and remembered sorrows take on the quality of Heaven: the bad man’s past already conforms to his badness and is filled only with dreariness. And that is why…the Blessed will say “We have never lived anywhere except in Heaven, : and the Lost, “We were always in Hell.” And both will speak truly.”
    — C.S. Lewis (The Great Divorce)

    I remember praying one time about trials and suffering and the Spirit whispered to me that I would be given not only all the necessary trials, but also all the necessary blessings. I was told that if a blessing will bring me closer to Him then He’ll give me a blessing; if a trial will bring me closer to Him, then He’ll give me a trial.

    I really believe that those who receive thier exaltation as they look back on thier lives will truly feel that Heaven was with them all along, even through the hardships and trials. The pain in life will actually have a beauty to it, and to me part of that beauty is that it enables us to feel more, to love more, to see more, to become aquainted more with our God.

    I feel like you dear brother in that I have been very defective throughout my life, but through it all and through the grace of God I have been given desires that I know are from Him and I have constantly asked Him to fulfill those desires in my life. In my prayers I’ve often said, “You know me perfectly, and you know what will bring me to you. I’m in your hands, take me wherever you want to”.

    It was such a comfort when you said that all our righteous desires will be granted. I have been discouraged at times when I take my focus off of Him and place it instead upon my human weakness and failings to feel that such desires will never be realize. These words from the hymn “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing” express my feelings perfectly: “O to grace how great a debtor
    daily I’m constrained to be!
    Let thy goodness, like a fetter,
    bind my wandering heart to thee.
    Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
    prone to leave the God I love;
    here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
    seal it for thy courts above.
    I pray that whatever I go through in life that He will take my heart and seal it, seal it to Him and to all of my brothers and sisters.

    Brother. D.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. SHB says:

    Did you know that the picture of the garden you posted used to be an ugly quarry? That sunken garden first went through years of blasting and chiseling before the wife of the wealthy owner decided to beautify it. (Butchart Gardens, Canada) It truly is one of the most beautiful places in the world and fits your analogy very nicely.

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

