Santaquin Fireside


Thank you Val and the Santaquin 13th Ward, for the opportunity we enjoyed last night at the fireside. I rarely think to count, but it appeared as if about 300 people came out. Linda, thank you for running the chalk board. Dave, thanks for the ride and company, and thank you to Larry, Charlotte and Kathy for being friends and family. Larry and my father are first cousins, which I guess makes Larry and I first cousins, once removed.

What was interesting to me was that I only managed to get through about ¼ of the material I had planned to. But, it was one of those times when the Holy Spirit changed what I planned to say, which, of course, is always a good thing. I was planning on speaking about how to identify personal revelation, and the blessings of following the course God maps for us by His voice. Instead, I spoke about our potential, and the grand possibilities and responsibilities we have in our hands as members of Christ’s latter-day kingdom. To be honest, I’ve never spoken on that subject before.  Even the handout I had prepared was intended for a slightly different discussion. But, the Spirit was present and it was a delightful evening.

Most of the people I spoke to after the fireside were Un-Blog readers. Most of you said something like “Please keep writing the Un-Blog. Don’t ever stop.” I was glad to hear those words because sometimes it feels like I’m beginning to repeat myself, which to me would be uninteresting to long-time readers. It was helpful to see some of you face-to-face and feel your spirit and your desires.

We have a busy summer coming up, with several road trips, and also a trip to Boston in October, which would make Un-Blogging take a few breaks in July through October. So, don’t give up on us. Remember, you can subscribe to receive an email when a new Un-Blog is posted. That way you won’t miss anything and still won’t have to check the site every day. It’s just an option. The last time I looked there were about 200 email subscribers to the Un-Blog.

For those of you who live in Boise, Idaho area, I am planning on being in Boise the weekend of August 21th. My good friend Eric is working to set up a fireside in a large enough venue that everyone interested can come. I haven’t spoken in Boise previously, so this will be a wonderful opportunity to meet more of you. I will give you more details as they materialize.

I’ll do a proper Un-Blog tomorrow. Until then –

God Bless,

Brother John

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Santaquin Fireside

  1. Melody says:

    Will a recording be available? I was unable to attend and would very much appreciate being able to hear what was said.
    Thanks!
    Melody

    Like

  2. Erik says:

    Hi John,
    The fireside was great, about eight o’clock the spirit helped me to understand where I was in the continuum and what I needed to do next.

    Thank you so much
    Erik

    Like

  3. Pearl says:

    I, for one, appreciate the repetition of subjects. Sometimes you might word something a slightly different way or I just might be in a different frame of mind and absorb something I wouldn’t have last week, or even yesterday.

    I think we all can learn from these wonderful subjects and glean things in different ways just depending where we are at the time. Even the very same words hit me differently day to day.

    Looking forward to the latest fireside recording on the website. 🙂

    Like

  4. Frostie says:

    Dear John, sir.
    I’d like to humbly submit that you consider coming down this direction for a fireside sometime, too. While we only know each other through cyber space, and we have Eric and Joshua in common that I’ve met, it would be a great opportunity. Perhaps in the frozen days of winter you might like a change of venue here in sunny Arizona! Something to think about. Now to cast out a lure……..

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Haha, nobody has ever called me Sir, Madam.

      I am considering a trip to Arizona early next year. It would be good to meet you and to do a fireside or two there also.

      Brother John

      Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

