Fireside in Cedar Hills


I just returned from the fireside in Cedar Hills. It was in a private home, so I couldn’t invite the Un-Blog world. Sorry.

It was a delightful and spiritual experience. I want to thank Marc for the invitation and all of you there for sharing your sweet spirits with me this evening. This is the only the second time I have spoken on this subject, and my sweet wife told me it was the best fireside ever. They all feel about the same to me, so I am always interested in her analysis as we drive home.

I haven’t kept count of how many firesides I have done so far, but it is in the dozens. What is interesting to me is that everywhere I speak, I find myself surrounded by spiritually mature seekers of righteousness who understand quickly and rejoice in whatever further light they might receive.

This has not always been the case in my lifetime. This yearning for greater things constitutes more than a revival. It feels like a preparatory awakening of an essential desire to reach into the heavens and claim every possible blessing within our reach.

The recording I made of the fireside seems to have come out fine. I will clean it up and get it posted in a couple days.

God bless,

Brother John

 

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fireside in Cedar Hills

  1. K-Jo says:

    Thank you so much for taking the time to record and post these firesides. I know that each one is special and not one is the same. Just wanted to say thanks.
    K-Jo

    Like

  2. Cami Gygi says:

    Thank you for sharing with us last night Brother John. I have looked forward your fireside for some time and I enjoyed it thoroughly. I am overwhelmed by the Spirit often with your words. Thank you for sharing your journey with all of us. It was nice to match a face with a name. Hoping our paths cross again. I want to hear more about the ministering angels that “disappeared”. Your personal stories are always inspiring to me. Thank you.

    Like

  3. Jared Eastley says:

    Yesterday I taught the lesson in our High Priest Group during Priesthood Meeting. The lesson was on Eternal Marriage. Since everyone there was already quite solid on the very basic content of the manual, I decided to just go over some highlights from D&C 131 and 132. These sections constitute the headwaters for what we know about celestial marriage, being sealed by the Holy Spirit of Promise, and the blessings of exaltation.

    During my lesson I shared several of the concepts which are familiar to our little Unblog family. To me, these truths constitute some of my most valuable pearls and treasures. They are very personal and sacred.

    The response was very mixed. About 1/3 of the class seemed very engaged in the lesson. About 1/3 seemed very sour and silent. About 1/3 seemed completely absent and could care less while they spaced off or sat there with their eyes closed.

    This is the difference between a modern typical priesthood quorum and a fireside. At a fireside, most if not all want to be there. This provides for a rich educational and spiritual experience. At church, it is quite different.

    My wife pointed out that this represents the parable of the 10 virgins. Everyone at church will tell you they are waiting for the Second Coming, but less than half of them really want it or expect it to come, and/or simply don’t believe in the doctrine of the Second Comforter in relation to the general membership–this constitutes the veil of unbelief.

    Maybe its because I am only 35 years old and the next oldest High Priest in our group is 60, but it sure is emotionally difficult to teach these guys. I sure wish I could attend one of Brother Pontius’ firesides. So far, I haven’t found anyone out here in Oklahoma that is even remotely on the same page. This is kind of a lonely thing to deal with.

    For all of you that have at least one like-minded friend near by, I hope you appreciate such a precious gift.

    Brother Jared

    Liked by 1 person

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

