The High Road of Faith


The universal reasoning I hear for someone choosing to not begin a quest into righteousness is fear. The object of each person’s fear is different, and tailor made by the adversary to stop us.

I believe the very definition of sanity is to recognize danger and then let appropriate caution lead you around it.

In the things of mortals seeking the face of God, there is a sequence whereby we may gain extraordinary courage before we face those things which we fear. It isn’t reasonable to jump out of a perfectly good airplane – until you have acquired and learned to trust your parachute. The sequence whereof I am speaking is the process of learning faith. I don’t mean to gain faith, or to exercise what faith you have, I mean to “learn” greater faith.

If a person is paralyzed by fear from beginning their personal quest, then they are probably looking out of the airplane door before having acquired their parachute of faith.

By learning to obey the Holy Spirit, which is in fact the voice of Jesus Christ, we “learn” by righteous experience that when we do what Jesus Christ is asking us to do, that goodness, blessings and peace are always the result.

This process is so simple that few recognize it. It works like this:

After a thousand instances of obedience to Christ, and the resulting blessedness, is compared to a thousand acts of disobedience, and the unavoidable pain which always follows, we learn with great power that our only safety is in Jesus Christ, and where He sends us. This is learned faith. In time it gives us sufficient courage to resume our quest with faith strong enough to consecrate everything required of us to complete our journey to the throne of God.

Courage is not an absence of fear, it is setting aside the fear we feel because faith tells us this is the right thing to do. Faith doesn’t give us a perfect knowledge of what will happen – only the knowledge that it is right, and that peace and joy always follow obedience. Acting by faith alone doesn’t mean that there won’t be loss, it means that God repays 100 fold.

Once upon the path as one whose discipleship is by faith, cast in eternal stone, we find that this higher road is the pathway of joy, peace and happiness after all. And, trying to fly under the spiritual radar to avoiding the additional trials we suspected were on the pathway to the face of God, placed those very trials we feared everywhere before us upon the low road of fear.

Brother John

© August 2011, Johh M. Pontius, all rights reserved. Non-commercial reproduction permitted.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The High Road of Faith

  1. Maggie says:

    Thank you Toni. Thank you Brother Pontius.

    Like

  2. Toni says:

    Maggie, I have had similar experiences with addictions to thoughts I shouldn’t have. I’d have times when I was fine, then times when stress would set it off. Nothing seemed to permanently work. I finally decided to stop doing what I thought I “should” do, and I would pray, even right before, right after, and sometimes in the middle of the action. I felt like a hypocrite. I “knew” God would damn me for having the audacity to ask for help even while I was giving in, or had just given in, but I kept doing it because nothing else was working.

    I did have a temple recommend, and I found that going to the temple gave me a very real power.

    Anyway, it took a few months of doing it the “wrong” way (the “right” way, being to hide from God when I was sinning or right after, convinced that he was going to strike me, was very angry, etc. especially since I never quite shook the habit.) – then I saw results. I began to see times when I just knew I would give in. I would pray and either something would distract me, or I would go to sleep. I saw other ways I could help myself. I made affirmation recordings on my computer and I play them when I’m feeling weak. These are affirmations that mention faith in God and such. I believe that if the adversary uses words and music against us, there is no harm in using the same tactics in our own behalf.

    The biggest problem, it seems to me, is that we put a human face on God. What I mean is that we see that humans judge, condemn, and are slow to forgive. We seem to think God is like that – angry because we have, once again, fallen. But it seems to me that God is exceedingly patient. He isn’t being lenient, he is being patient as we learn to climb out of the pit (which we cannot do alone).

    My biggest advice would be 1) NEVER give up 2) Involve God in every aspect of the addiction (don’t be afraid to talk to him no matter what you are doing.).

    Brother John: If this is too long, I apologize. I can’t see how to make it shorter.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Trevor says:

    That last sentience rang very true. What I referred to in my comment was a total train wreck, total wreck. I think it was even worse because I wanted so badly to follow what the Lord desired of me. Now, looking back, there is overwhelming evidence the Lord has reshaped it all for my blessing.

    Dark nights do give way to a welcomed sunrise.

    Thanks for the reply, it gave me some needed encouragement.

    Like

  4. Maggie says:

    It don’t have a fear of trials or what I may be asked to do on the path. My stumbling block is a 34 year addiction that keeps me from progressing. (And the good Lord, in is unimaginable mercy has still lead me but I know I could be so much closer to him without this sin of mine.) I’ve heard people say that the Book of Mormon can help us with those things but I haven’t seen it in my life. I’ve pleaded for help, and I’ve received it for a day or two, then the addiction rushes upon me with renewed vigor. Has anyone found a door to the ‘miracle’ I need?

    Like

  5. Trevor says:

    There are times when the guidance and direction from the Lord is clear. Other times I’m simply not sure if I did the right thing or not. And other times I’m not sure what the right thing to do is. It’s been years since some of them. The result wasn’t immediately clear, and still isn’t. At the time I felt a particular course of action was what the Lord wanted. As time goes on some aspects of events in the past are clear but some are not. I sometimes doubt if I did the right thing.

    What would you suggest in order to build more faith and confidence? I want to do the Lords will always, but when many important events are still unclear it’s hard to know if I made a mistake or if it was indeed the voice of the Spirit? It’s as if my confidence is on hold. But I want to have faith.

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      That’s a good question. The thing to remember is that the Lord is judging us according to our desires. If we truly believed it was the right thing to do, then it was the right thing to do, because we were being obedient to the best of our knowledge.

      If we are playing a slot machine, and the Spirit tells to walk away, and the very next person, on the very next pull, while you are still watching, wins a huge jackpot – getting up and walking away was still the right thing to do. We can’t always judge past events by their outcome. I married someone because it was the right thing to do, yet she made my life horrible, and left the church and had affairs and divorced me after 25 years. Still, it was the right thing to do. I would not know what I know, and be who I am without those experiences and years of relying upon the Lord for guidance and joy in my life. I am grateful for those years.

      Just keep moving forward, doing the small things, and the large when they come, but mostly it is the small things. You will begin to more easily recognize these promptings, and to know, without doubt, that it is the voice of the Holy Spirit. It is perhaps better to judge the present moment, rather than those things in the past we can’t translate into sanity.

      Sorry I don’t have a better answer for you, except that it all does work as the Lord promised. When we are trying to do what is right, and things still blow up in our faces, the Lord reshapes it for our benefit and blessing.

      Like

  6. Thank you for your wonderful post today. I have a question.

    How do you cast your discipleship in eternal stone. I wish to begin this process with such an anchor that this is the day I chose to be flawlessly obedient. Can this happen as a singular experience or is this anchor or decision more of a process?

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      It certainly has been a process for me – but there comes a time when you are able, while in mighty prayer, to make it as a covenant which is prophetic. This means that your words are given to you as prophecy, stating what WILL be, not only what you great desire is. Just keep moving forward. Each step of obedience takes you a little closer. It is intended to take exactly a lifetime.

      Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

