The Safe Path


The point to the story of my friend who reenlisted in the Navy was that most often the reason I hear from people for not wanting to truly forge ahead into the
greater righteous pursuits, is fear – fear of trials, or of sacrifices we may be called upon to make. Just like my friend who joined the Navy to intentionally avoid going on a mission out of fear, we eventually realize that the safest and happiest pathway for our life would have been to trust the Lord, lay aside our fear and walk in His way.

It is undeniably true that we actually face greater opposition and greater trials when we step off of the path, away from the guiding voice of the Spirit. The path of fearless obedience is our safe Path – this is where we are perfected and preserved.

When we know what the Lord wants us to do, that knowledge becomes for us the law – the law of Christ.

“That which is governed by law is also preserved by law and perfected and sanctified by the same. That which breaketh a law, and abideth not by law, but seeketh to become a law unto itself . . . cannot be sanctified by law, neither by mercy, justice nor judgment. Therefore they must remain filthy still.” (D&C
88:34-35)

And, I might add, “fearful still.”

As a footnote, I had chemo yesterday, so this is Un-Blogging Lite for a few days.
I know it is confusing. The good news is that the “C” is actually under control. The bad news is that if I stop chemo it will return with a vengeance – the proverbial rock and a hard place.

Brother John

© September 2011, John M. Pontius, all rights reserved. Non-commercial reproduction permitted.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Safe Path

  1. RIck says:

    Thank you John for sharing your “cancer-walk” with us. 10 years ago I went through my own battle, and as I look at things now I believe that we cancer surviors should stick together. Keep pressing forward my friend!!
    One of the questions I have always had has come in the 88th section vs. 64-65. “Whatsoever ye ask the Father in my name it shall be given unto you, that is ESPEDIENT for you; And if ye ask anything that is not EXPEDIENT for you, it shall turn unto your condemnation.”
    I guess my question is where does expediency end and condemnation begin? From my understanding of what “is epedient” for us, it would probably include things that edify and enlighten. While at the same time we need to be careful that we are not bordering on “sign-seeking” or “consuming things upon our lusts.” Perhaps you could shed some light on a subject for me which has been somewhat like walking a tightrope.
    Warm Best,

    Rick

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Rick, thank you for joining us. I am sorry to hear about anyone’s “cancer walk”. I hope you are doing well now.

      I will Un-Blog on this subject of prayer a little later. Thanks for bringing it up.

      Is it true that you live in Spain? If so, welcome! You are our first Un-Blogger from Spain.

      Brother John

      Like

  2. Pearl says:

    You are such an inspiration… and you are right, too!

    Like

  3. Sharon Cox says:

    I sometimes do a checkup of how much I love my Heavenly Father and my Savior, by asking myself whether or not I would lay down my life for them; and most often the answer would be yes, but it always comes with a twinge of fear in the pit of my belly – Would I cop out at the last minute when the guillotine is at my neck? I hope not, but I am not sure. I understand how Peter felt when he said quite assuredly that he would never deny Christ, but yet he did. Fear is a terrible thing!

    Regarding your Chemo treatments – I don’t know how you manage to write such inspiring posts when you are undergoing these harsh treatments. I find it difficult even pray when I have a simple headache. You are truly amazing. Thank you!

    Like

  4. Chris says:

    Hang in there John!

    Like

  5. Toni says:

    I have begun to venture out, giving my heart more fully to God instead of being so afraid that the future will be as bad as (or worse than) the past. This post helps give me courage. Thank you for posting in spite of your own trials.

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      My wife told me something that I cling to at times. I was on a ventilator, and it was set wrong and for five days I was suffocating and I couldn’t make anyone understand. My wife leaned close to my ear and said, “You’ll have to give this up to Christ too, and let him carry this burden.” Then she said – “This too will pass”.

      Somehow I had the idea in my mind that I would be in that hospital and on that ventilator for years. The idea that “this too will pass” was a sweet and powerful truth that resonated with me in that dark moment. I was able after much prayer to give that trial all to Christ and let go.

      It did pass. It left me stronger, and with greater faith that Christ truly is mighty to deliver.

      I don’t worry about my trials. I have learned how to rejoice, and to wait for everything mortal to pass. It always does.

      Like

  6. patty says:

    Brother John-
    Your comment- we eventually realize that the safest and happiest pathway for our life would have been to trust the Lord, lay aside our fear and walk His way- reminds me of an incident from the life of Corrie Ten Boom. She relates in her book ‘The Hiding Place’ about a life threatening event that happened to her. As she was telling her sister about it she kept saying statements of -‘what if’. Her sister finally corrected her by saying- “Don’t say it Corrie! There are no ‘ifs’ in God’s world. And no places are safer than other places. The center of His will is our only safety- O Corrie, let us pray that we may always know it!” A little later in the book after her sister had passed away she could still remember her sisters words. She says- “There are no ‘ifs’ in God’s kingdom. I could hear her soft voice saying it. His timing is perfect. His will is our hiding place. Lord Jesus, keep me in Your will! Don’t let me go mad by poking about outside it.”
    When the cancer I have been blessed with makes me a little frustrated I am trying to remember these wise words. I know that the only place of safety I have is if I stay inside His will, the frustration leaves and I don’t go mad.
    Cancer- Gotta love it! It is not my boss!! Thankful for all things. Just trying to turn those fears into faiths.
    Patty.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Donald says:

    Thank you so much John for these insights. My wife and I were just talking about something similar before our meetings last Sunday. We were talking about the call Enoch received from God. It sounded to us like Enoch was unsure of the path God wanted him to follow and resisted his call… Enoch said “why me, I’m too young, I don’t speak very well, people hate me, why are you calling me?”

    I guess even Enoch has some fears and was unsure about “forging” ahead.

    God told Enoch to do as I ask and you will be ok… I will help you.

    To us it is a remarkable exchange between Enoch and God…. and even more remarkable the power that Enoch eventually possessed when he did as God asked.

    Moses 6:

    26 And it came to pass that Enoch journeyed in the land, among the people; and as he journeyed, the Spirit of God descended out of heaven, and abode upon him.

    27 And he heard a voice from heaven, saying: Enoch, my son, prophesy unto this people, and say unto them—Repent, for thus saith the Lord: I am angry with this people, and my fierce anger is kindled against them; for their hearts have waxed hard, and their fears are dull of hearing, and their eyes cannot see afar off;

    28 And for these many generations, ever since the day that I created them, have they gone astray, and have denied me, and have sought their own ounsels in the dark; and in their own abominations have they devised murder, and have not kept the commandments, which I gave unto their father, Adam.

    29 Wherefore, they have foresworn themselves, and, by their oaths, they have brought upon themselves death; and a hell I have prepared for them, if they repent not;

    30 And this is a decree, which I have sent forth in the beginning of the world, from my own mouth, from the foundation thereof, and by the mouths of my servants, thy fathers, have I decreed it, even as it shall be sent forth in the world, unto the ends thereof.

    31 And when Enoch had heard these words, he bowed himself to the earth, before the Lord, and spake before the Lord, saying: Why is it that I have found favor in thy sight, and am but a lad, and all the people hate me; for I am slow of speech; wherefore am I thy servant?

    32 And the Lord said unto Enoch: Go forth and do as I have commanded thee, and no man shall pierce thee. Open thy amouth, and it shall be filled, and I will give thee utterance, for all flesh is in my hands, and I will do as seemeth me good.

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

