Fast Sunday Course 501


Last week we had High Counsel Sunday. About halfway through our four year-old granddaughter leaned over and asked her Daddy in a bored voice “Daddy, is this fast Sunday, or slow Sunday?”

Well, today is Fast Sunday, and if you choose to fast today, you are one of the lucky ones. Fasting is impossible for many people due to health concerns. If you can fast, treasure this gift. Here are some ideas to possibly make your fast Sunday different that just a slow Sunday without food.

  1. Prepare for your fast by expressing gratitude that you are able and fit to fast, and that this principle of rapid spiritual growth is available to you.
  2. Decide upon some reason to fast – some righteous desire. There really is no reason to fast for greater spirituality, because that is going to happen anyway. Fast for something in addition to this.
  3. Begin and end with prayer.
  4. Fast for the full 24 hours. Keep that time sacred. Stay away from Babylon’s music, TV, movies and topics of conversation. Be clean – be the proper receptacle for the blessing Father is going to pour out upon you.
  5. When you end, offer a prayer of complete gratitude –don’t mention the object for which you fasted or ask for anything else. Focus upon thanking Father that you now have this blessing. Express gratitude exactly as if you had received it already. Heavenly Father is an eternal being, and all things are present before Him. If your request was righteous, then in His view He has granted it – even though there may be a necessary process to go through before you receive it – it is nevertheless granted.
  6. Rejoice!

Brother John

© September 2011, John M. Pontius, all rights reserved. Non-commercial reproduction permitted.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fast Sunday Course 501

  1. Elizabeth Jenson says:

    Thank you so much. I find it hard to feel the power of a fast on Fast Sunday sometimes. This helped. I read this post to my husband who I am giving tastes of these delicious things and he is becoming hungry for them as well! I am rejoicing. 🙂

    Like

  2. Jeff says:

    Brother John: The timing of this unblog was perfect! I have been struggling with feeling the Spirit, even though I hadn’t changed much of what I was doing. It came to me that I ought to fast more often and so recently I have been trying to do that, when the Spirit tells me too. I had just made the connection between fasting and increasing my baseline spirituality. Your specific comments will help my fasting to be even more of a blessing. I look forward to the next opportunity to fast in that manner! Thank you, Jeff

    Like

  3. K-Jo says:

    Wow! I love that perpective…..express gratitude exactly as if you had received it already. Of course! It makes perfect sense. Thank you for sharing this!

    Like

  4. patty says:

    Brother John-
    Boy howdy your comment on being one of the lucky ones is sure true!!! Since chemo I have learned by sad experience that I can no longer go without water for any length of time. The Dr. says it is one of chemo’s wonderful many side effects. Now I can only fast without food. How I long for the ‘good ole days’ of being able to fast without water.
    I know you have spoken about prayer a lot this past month. Cancer has robbed me of even that. Let me explain- I was always to weak to kneel. Every time I tried to kneel in prayer my body just didn’t have the strength. How I longed to kneel in prayer. I remember after a couple of years finally being able to kneel again. It was a sweet experience blessed by the Holy Ghost. I was so grateful to be able to kneel again. My Dr. even asked me what the greatest ‘thing’ I had done recently was and I told her- kneeling in prayer. (She was at the time a RS Pres) We cried together.
    I know that if I dedicate myself to the Father in prayer while sitting on my bed, and if I drink water and not eat food on fast Sunday, I will be blessed. Just as blessed as when I could do those things, because I have been. But I do like to kneel. One day it will all come back! What a glorious day that will be!!
    Patty.

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Dear Patty,

      I’m so sorry for your struggle, and I do understand. It has been several years since I could kneel – and also get back up. Just recently I’ve been able to kneel for a few minutes, then I continue praying in bed. Chemo is something nobody can understand until you go through it. People have asked me how it feels, and honestly, there aren’t words to describe it, because there is no commen experience.

      But, like you, I have conquered in my spirit, in my soul and in my joy in Christ. My body remains an unhappy place to live, but I love my life. Paul the Apostle was speaking of his own hard decision of whether to be traslated or remain in mortality, but he was also speaking for all who have struggled through chemo, and he said it so beautifully.

      “According to my earnest expectation and my hope, that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but that with all boldness, as always, so now also Christ shall be magnified in my body, whether it be to life, or by death. For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain. But if I live in the flesh, this is the fruit of my labor; yet what I shall chose I (know) not. For I am in a straight betwixt two, having a desire to depart, and to be with Christ; which is far better: Nevertheless to abide in the flesh is more needful for you(r benefit)” (Philippians 1:20-24)

      God Bless you,

      Brother John

      Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

