Santaquin Fireside Handout


Someone requested a copy of the handout at the Santaquin Fireside.

Click to download: Fireside Handout Santaquin Utah July 2011

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Santaquin Fireside Handout

  1. DEBRA NORTON says:

    THIS HAND OUT WOULD NOT COME THROUGH. HOPE YOU WILL TRY TO SEND IT AGAIN. I WAS REALLY LOOKING FORWARD TO READING IT.

    DEBRA NORTON
    MERIDIAN, IDAHO

    Like

  2. Elizabeth Jenson says:

    Thanks for taking the time to answer. It amazes me that you are willing helping us seekers. I feel satisfied with your words. I hadn’t thought of qualifying before premortality. I’m happy to see you said everyone pays an equivalent price. Previously I would almost envy people with gifts that seemed to be given out almost randomly. Now I know I can qualify for such things as well.

    Like

  3. Elizabeth Jenson says:

    I have a question that is off topic but you may be able to shed some light on for me. As I have studied deeper about receiving spiritual progression and gifts, all the way to the perfect day when one receives the Second Comforter, it has become apparent that God is no respecter of persons. Anyone, any age, any gender or station in life, can qualify for these things. Eternal laws govern it. Yet, at times, it seems there are people who were blessed with visitations, spiritual gifts, visions, or other things, without seemingly doing much or diligently seeking for such. Is this possible?

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Dear Elizabeth,

      I think the answer is that some people have different gifts as noted in D&C46 and other places. Some people do have specific gifts to ee visions, or angels or whatever. It is probably something they earned or qualified for in premortality. I do not believe that these things are just random sprinklings of spiritual glitter.

      I believe another thing to remember is that we don’t know these people’s struggles. Quite often we only know of their gifts. I read a biography of Bruce R. McConkie, and he had a very difficult life. I was actually surprised he made it as far as he did. We remember that Moses divided the Red Sea, but not his lifelong battle to rise above his childhood, and the mighty struggles against the unbelief of the Israelites.

      To answer your question, I do not believe it is possible to use a Get our of Jail Free card with God. We all will pay an equivelant price, even if part of that price was paid before this mortal life began.

      I hope that answers your question. If not, give me a few more details.

      Brother John

      Like

  4. K-Jo says:

    Thank you!

    Like

  5. Elizabeth Jenson says:

    Worked great. Thanks!

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

