Mere Christianity


I have been reading CS Lewis’ book “Mere Christianity” again. It has been long enough since I ready it that much of it seems new. You may be aware that Lewis was not a minister, but a popular novelist. It was during the Nazi “blitz” bombing of England and Lewis was commissioned by the government to do a series of radio programs to explain Christianity, and to help people’s faith increase during those hard times. I wonder if our government would be so bold with propaganda today?

Lewis’s use of the word “Mere” meant to him that it was unadorned, that it was not secular or denominational, but merely that Christianity upon which all Christians can agree.

His first four chapters are an argument for the idea that God exists. His main argument is that since we all have a common knowledge of right and wrong, and a built in code of conduct, and that this is common to all mortals – then there must be a power among us, which we all have, which tells us every moment what is right and wrong. He logics his readers through all of the possible sources of this “intelligent” voice of truth, and finally concludes it comes from Christ – and this is his first point of “Mere Christianity”.

His careful logic, and his folksy way of speaking, reminded me of an Un-Blog I wrote in April, “Stephanie, There Really is a God”, wherein I discuss our conscience as the reason we can know that God lives and he loves us.

Far beyond believing in God, or hoping God exists, is the pathway before us now. It could be years or decades yet, but recently I have come to believe that we do not have a great deal of time to prepare for the events we have read about proceeding Christ’s Second Coming all of our lives.

I personally believe that it is going to be much harder than we have ever imagined. After listening to Spencer’s description of these times of “tribulation” it sounds as if a mere 40% of us will survive the full range of calamities that will begin among us, and from there spread to the whole world. Some of the calamities will be natural, and some will be manmade, but they will make death very common among us.

We have been given two tools to survive these days – Our greatest is to become one of the five “wise virgins” and take the Holy Spirit for our guide. This is our only true shield for these days ahead. With the Holy Spirit we will be lead to prepare properly, whether it is setting up food storage, or doing sit-ups, we will be prepared. Then when the moment comes, we will reach out our hand to Christ, and He will lead us out of danger, or He will sanctify our sacrifice to our glory – and both will be glorious.

Then comes the real struggle – the struggle to rebuild, to survive and to heal. This is when we will need the Holy Spirit even greater. This is when angels will walk among us, and translated beings will be doing their great work among us, and we will need the Holy Spirit to even see them. This is when the great companies whom the Lord sends into the world will depart – some to Missouri, some to every other point of the compass. This is when we will go every step of the way by continuing revelation, when every footfall must be correctly placed, and when Jesus Christ will guide us by the same voice we learned to obey when we were reading the Un-Blog and struggling to know how to apply it in our simple and safe daily routine.

This is mere Christianity – the mere fact that these things are coming, and the mere fact that we are the generation who will thrive during these times and then go on with unconquerable faith to brave and overcome this crumbling world to rebuild Zion into a city prepared to receive the God of Salvation to rule and reign as King of kings, and Lord of lords forever.

This is the mere Christianity which ignites the nuclear fuel of faith in our souls and makes our lives so gloriously blessed. Yes we will see these hard times – but we will rejoice because it portends a dawning day of peace, safety and glory to replace this telestial hell-hole we now occupy, and then there will be sadness, pain, wickedness or death no more, forever.

Brother John

© September 2011, John M. Pontius, all rights reserved. Non-commercial reproduction permitted.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Mere Christianity

  1. Steve says:

    Great quote from Pres. Eyring. We could all use it. Now to get the ward (and the World) to listen. Thanks.

    Like

  2. Brian Bowler says:

    Bro John,
    Thanks for this wonderful email. I too feel the time is coming to a end, and game time is here, so to speak. I had several dreams, some were wakeful events that were quite alarming at the time, that showed me some things that will come to pass. On these and other promptings I have made some major decisions the last few years, which including moving and changing careers.

    What I want to speak to is the need to Know Christ. There was this little known Author I have read , James Custer, that wrote several books on the last days, on the Unspeakable Gift of the Spirit, and on Translation. What amazes me is the consistency of the message between these authors I am attracted too (You, Denver, James, Nibley, Skousen, Benson, etc) that focus on us coming to Christ and seeing things as they are. Including you, The consistent message is that we need the Spirit and Christ, and without which we will not make it through was is here and coming.

    James custer states that the most important preparation is Spiritual, and the Translation that comes with being Born of the Spirit that affects both Physical and Spiritual Body. Not saying Food, clothing, etc is not important, just that if we are not born of the Spirit, it will not matter.

    What are your thoughts, Bro John?

    Sincerely,
    Brian B

    PS invitation still open for Western Colorado.

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Hi Brian,

      I loved Custer’s Unspeakable Gift. It was a stepping stone for me into that principle. It seems true that a lot of more people are writing and speaking publicly about thee things. I think it has created a revival of sorts in the church.

      My Daughter lives in Highlands, Colorado, and she’s trying to get us to come up there and do a few firesides as well, so maybe next year. It’s a hard drive for me, but we really want to do it.

      Like

  3. Ken h says:

    Steve,

    I looked and looked in the church website and could not seem to locate it but he spoke it. This wonderful video on youtube has him saying these things. “LDS Church Leaders preparing us for the 2nd Coming of Christ” from davidcat99 It is powerful as is his “Warning for America – One Way Out”. Both I highly recommend to all.

    Ken h

    Like

  4. Steve says:

    Reference for Eyring, Ken?

    Like

  5. Victoria says:

    I love that book and love C. S. Lewis. I was amazed to find after we moved here to Redlands that the C. S. Lewis Foundation–a big international organizaton–is headquartered right here. And I was also thrilled to learn some years ago, that he and I share the same birthday. =o)

    I really appreciated this post. And your accounts of some of what you’ve heard from Spencer have been very interesting. I don’t doubt that it’s going to get harder. Of course, it has to before the end of times. His comment about how “the full range of calamities will begin among us, and from there spread to the whole world” is exactly what it says in D&C 112.

    24 Behold, vengeance cometh speedily upon the inhabitants of the earth, a day of wrath, a day of burning, a day of desolation, of weeping, of mourning, and of lamentation; and as a whirlwind it shall come upon all the face of the earth, saith the Lord.

    25 And upon my house shall it begin, and from my house shall it go forth, saith the Lord;

    26 First among those among you, saith the Lord, who have professed to know my name and have not known me, and have blasphemed against me in the midst of my house, saith the Lord.

    27 Therefore, see to it that ye trouble not yourselves concerning the affairs of my church in this place, saith the Lord.

    28 But purify your hearts before me; and then go ye into all the world, and preach my gospel unto every creature who has not received it;

    I believe this is because how can the Lord come out in vengeance upon the world when His own house is still unclean? Hence, the injunction at the end to purify our hearts. To pull ourselves up out of the mud and muck of this world and become pure in heart is what I think each of us can be striving to do everyday. Then, as far as I’m concerned, when the calamities come, whether we live in Christ or die in Christ, it’s all fine, as long as we’re in Christ.

    Victoria

    Like

  6. Steve says:

    As I read your Unblog today, I thought about the feelings of urgency I have had very recently in relation to my ward. As a leader in my ward, I’ve thought and prayed long and hard about those active members of my ward who are lagging behind or do not seem to be trying to grow and to reach for Christ, to become Zion people (it also relates to the not so active). I’ve heard the message very clearly, simply: “We’ve got to hurry!” The problem I face is how to convey that message and the urgency so the Spirit can take it to their “very center” and bring them fully to Christ, to urge them to move beyond where they are. I’ve come to truly understand Alma’s wish to be an angel and speak with the Thunder of the Voice of God.

    Like

  7. Ken h says:

    Thank you John as always for catching the vision of what we need to do and become in these days ahead. My heart takes courage and my eyes look to heaven when I read thiings like this un-blog that you have written. Now we begin to see that “casual memberdship” will never survive these perilous times. When as Pres. Eyring stated that, ” casual prayer won’t be enough. Reading a few verses of scripture won’t be enough. Doing the minimum of what the Lord asks of us won’t be enough.” Truly ONLY the companionship of the Holy Ghost can save us. ONLy striving to have the Second Comforter in our lives can see us through what lies ahead. ONLY as you stated John in TTOZ will the pure in heart live to see the fulfilment of Zion established before Christ comes. May these blesiings be ours and our posterity’s as well in Jesus’ name, Amen.

    Like

  8. Donald says:

    Doctrine and Covenants 112:25

    25 And upon my house shall it begin, and from my house shall it go forth, saith the Lord;

    I’ve wondered if tribulations (or judgements) begining upon “my house” means SLC? His church? I don’t know.

    I will be 60 years old next month….whether in my lifetime left (or not) I don’t know know how soon these events will begin or if our families will survive/endure.

    I know God is in control….when all is said and done, Zion will come again. I have made my choice where to stand.

    Isaiah 12

    1 And in that day thou shalt say, O Lord, I will praise thee: though thou wast angry with me, thine anger is turned away, and thou comfortedst me.

    2 Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and not be afraid: for the Lord JEHOVAH is my strength and my song; he also is become my salvation.

    3 Therefore with joy shall ye draw water out of the wells of salvation.

    4 And in that day shall ye say, Praise the Lord, call upon his name, declare his doings among the people, make mention that his name is exalted.

    5 Sing unto the Lord; for he hath done excellent things: this is known in all the earth.

    6 Cry out and shout, thou inhabitant of Zion: for great is the Holy One of Israel in the midst of thee.

    Thank you John (as always) for your good works.

    Like

    • Cory says:

      Very late comment, but . . . My dad said that when he was growing up (in St. George, UT) that it was frequently taught that the calamities that would flood the earth prior to the second coming would start in Salt Lake City. The Lord would clean His own house first, and then the rest of the world. Ostensibly, blood would flow in the streets of Salt Lake and usher in the cleansing that must occur before the Bridegroom can return to meet His bride.

      Like

  9. Ken J says:

    This is not a comment but simply a technical advisement.
    The email I get, for at least the past two days, has been malformatted. I have to scan around in the empty space of the window to try to find the message– and then when I finally find it, the margins are not set, etc.
    My temorary solution today was to click on the title so it would all open up correctly in the website.

    Anyway, not sure if it is something easy to fix or if you want to even mess with it.

    I can figure it out easy enough. just “merely” letting you know.

    Gracias.

    PS hmmm. just noting to myself that gracias is graces in English… which led me to remember that in Spanish we are taught to use the familiar form of You (the same kind used when speaking to children and friends) when praying, whereas in English it is the more formal and distant and stiff and unfamiliar thee and thou. any thoughts about that?

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

