St. George Fireside (Saturday)


Dear Friends,

I will be pleased to address a fireside in St. George, Utah this coming Saturday, October 15th at 7:00 pm.

The address to the church is 930 Morningside Dr. St. George UT. I believe we will be meeting in the RS room as space allows. I plan to record the fireside and post the recording on www.followingthelight.org a few days later. I have finally got the equipment I need to do a good job, and I’m going to task my sweet wife with reminding me to turn it on.

I look forward to seeing you all there.

Brother John

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to St. George Fireside (Saturday)

  1. NB says:

    Not a sound like a little kid on Christmas morning, but I am so excited to listen to the fireside!!!!!! I been checking in multiple times a day just hoping the audio has been posted.

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Oh dear, I’m so sorry. I got home and busy with life and things, and I forgot about the fireside audio!

      I will get it cleaned up and posted tomorrow if all goes well.

      Thank you for reminding me,

      John

      Like

  2. NB says:

    Wonderful! What will be the topic?

    Like

  3. Laurence Smith says:

    How exciting for the good people of St. George. Would you be so kind to tell us all what you finally found that worked for recording? I know you had asked the question earlier, and I often need to record my presentations, so I am very interested in what you found that works with your iphone…..Laurence Smith

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Hi Lawrence,

      It was very complicated, because the descriptions of the cables and connectors and microphones makes it sound they should work with the Iphone, and none of them did. I was shopping http://www.kvconnections.com. They have everything you could ever want, but nothing worked. I finally called KVconnections at 888-749-6325 and explained what I was trying to do with my Iphone. They admitted it was very confusing. They sent me a link to the right adaptor, and promised it would work with any small condensor microphone, which is the type all small lapel mics are. The part number was KM-IPHONE-MIC-ECM. It cost me $21 bucks, and it worked. The microphones cost either $2.00 each or $300 each with nothing inbetween for some reason. I ordered the cheap ones. The shipping is more expensive than the microphones. They messed up the order and sent me 10 of them, (for $20 bucks) so I’m set up for life with little clip on microphones. It records well and sounds good. Reasonable fidelity and very little fuss.

      One important thing though – put your phone on Airplane mode, because an incoming call or text stops the recording even if it is on vibrate.

      For a while there I thought the denziens of Heck were trying to stop me from finding the right equipment to record firesides. For a while I blamed Steve Jobs, but then he died so I had to quit that approach. The iphone is funny because if you plug in an external mic and it DOESN’T work, the iphone mic stays on, and tricks you into thinking it’s working. If the external mic does work, it shuts off the onboard mic, but you can’t tell the difference unless you put the phone in a drawer or pocket or something. That’s where blaming Steve came in – bless his heart. I hope there’s electronics of some sort in paradise for him. We might be getting answers to our prayers by text message in a few years if they don’t keep track of him pretty good up there.

      God bless,

      Brother John

      Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

