Visions of the Latter-day Zion


I think the final title of Spencer’s book will be “Visions of the Latter-day Zion”. What do you think?

The overarching theme of “Visions of the Latter-day Zion” is the process of becoming worthy to be a part of the latter-day Zion. I had formulated an idea in my mind of what it would take to go through that process before writing this book, and I had underestimated how completely we have to trust the Lord, and how we must learn to have nothing else between ourselves and our Savior.

It was very interesting to me that Spencer described their journey to Zion as taking four years. Each leg of the journey they lost something they depended on. First it was vehicles, then it was supplies, then it was safety. Each time they lost something, they replaced it with faith in Christ, and then Christ provided the need.

On the last leg of the journey the same thing happened, they continued to lose things, including food and water, clothing and even loved ones who were kidnapped. But, this time, when they trusted in Christ with perfect hope, Christ didn’t supply their needs, He changed them so that they didn’t need it.

They miraculously recover their loved ones, but only after they released them to Christ’s keeping. He said they arrived in Zion with nothing. No food, very little clothing, no shoes on their feet. They didn’t even have crumbs or a drop of water. But, they had a pillar of fire before them, and a pillar of fire behind, and they were in perfect health, perfect faith and perfect joy. Christ had changed them so they didn’t need anything from the world. It was the journey and the systematic stripping away of everything we think we must have that freed them from grip of the telestial world, and changed them into Zion.

At first He supplied their needs, then as their faith grew, He made them unnecessary. By the time they arrived in Zion, they were so filled with faith that all of the blessings of Zion were manifest.

Let me share with you one of the accounts from “Visions of the Latter-day Zion” as an illustration.

“On the first leg of our journey one of the brethren on the council was a diabetic from childhood. He was able to secure and bring with him a supply of his medication. But, after a few months he ran out. He grew sicker day by day until he could not function, and could only eat tiny amounts or his blood sugar went dangerously high. He lost weight dramatically and we all began to expect him to die soon.

He asked for, and of course, received several priesthood blessings, but he still did not improve. Our ability to heal had been manifest nearly 100% of the time we called upon God. We had seen many miracles of the priesthood, and could not understand why this faithful brother, whom we knew to be righteous, did not recover miraculously.

Then, one morning, he got up out of bed, and announced that he did not need medication any more. He ate a normal breakfast, and was fine ever after that. We asked him what had changed, why he was now healed.

He replied, “All I could think of was, ‘Why wasn’t the Lord leading us to more medicine so I could continue my mission for the Lord?’ I had to get very low and near death to realize that I was asking for the wrong blessing. I had been in the Conference Center when Jesus Christ showed us all our future labors in vision, and I knew I would arrive in Zion with this company. But I was trying to have the Lord make me arrive on my own terms – which was with my medicine. I humbled myself and told the Lord I would go anywhere He wanted, to Zion or to Heaven, and I would go on His terms.”

He continued, “It just came into my heart that I already knew I would arrive in Zion, and if the Lord had not yet provided medicine, then I obviously didn’t need it. I felt vitality come back into my body, and I got out of bed. I’m perfectly fine now. I just had to learn that the Lord was my salvation, not a bottle of medicine.”

Brother John

© November 2011, John M. Pontius, all rights reserved. Non-commercial reproduction permitted.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Visions of the Latter-day Zion

  1. Rob says:

    John,
    How unique this is. My biggest concern is that of diabetes. The comfort I feel towards the mindset of the person in the example is amazing.
    I’m sorry, but I don’t like the title. I’m sad though, because I don’t have a better suggestion.
    Thank you,

    Like

  2. jimmy tetuanui says:

    When I read this quote by President Benson, I thought of you, brother Pontius. I believe you are part of the fulfillment of this prophecy. You are one of those ‘inspired writers.’:

    “Only a Zion people can bring in a Zion society. And as the Zion people increase, so we will be able to incorporate more of the principles of Zion until we have a people prepared to receive the Lord.This means that in due time there will be an increasing number of textbooks written by inspired men of the Church. There will be less and less of a tendency to subscribe to the false teachings of men. There will be more and more a tendency to first lay the groundwork of the gospel truth in every subject and then, if necessary, show where the world may fall short of that standard. In due time there will be increased teaching by the Spirit of God, but that can only take place if there is a decreased promotion of the precepts of men. (President Ezra Taft Benson, President of the Quorum of the Twelve, New Era, May 1975).

    Like

  3. Jodi Sadleir says:

    This reminds me of my favorite scripture of all times, it’s D&C 6; 34-37 “Therefore, fear not, little flock; do good; let earth and hell combine against you, for if ye are built upon my rock they cannot prevail. Behold, I do not condemn you; go your ways and sin no more; perform with soberness the work which I have commanded you. LOOK TO ME IN EVERY THOUGHT DOUBT NOT, FEAR NOT. Behold the wounds which pierce my side, and also the prints of the nails in my hands and feet; be faithful, keep my commandments and ye shall inherit the kingdom of heaven. I always thought this was my favorite scripture becuase the Savior speaks to us in such a personal intimate manner, his little flock. Now I know that it’s because even thoughI have always looked to him though all the trouble and tribualtion of my life, I will need to do so much more so in the coming years. I think your title is great! I can’t wait for the book. I love your blog, your keep my mind on the things of eternity where it should be. Thank You for all you do for all of us. Sincerely appreciated. Sister Jodi

    Like

  4. Donald says:

    John,
    I think it’s a wonderful and perfect title for your book.

    I am grateful to Christ, our Savior, and see the need in my own life to more fully surrender to His will.

    YBIC,

    Donald

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

