Rejoice With Me


As most of you know I have been off of chemo for three months now. I insisted, and the doctor warned me that the cancer would come right back, and that I needed to stay on the chemo indefinitely, but it is no life I can choose to live. I’ve been on chemo for nearly two years. It’s just too hard and too devastating to continue any more. (And, yes I am doing everything natural the Spirit has led me to do. You are all so kind to share what you know about cancer. I’m not giving up.)

It has been a dramatic shift for my body. I just expected to slowly get better, but that didn’t happen. I think I was almost addicted to the chemo, because my body kept going through the same cycle even off of it. For three months my body has acted as if I had the treatments on schedule. It’s only been a week or so that I began to feel anything close to good, and the phantom chemo cycling has ended. Even still, the pain has steadily increased, and is even now much worse.

So, when I went in for a CT scan today, I was not anticipating good news. Maybe it’s just that it’s too hard to hope and then be thrust back into the waiting to die mode. So, when I got the call from the doctor I was actually amazed to hear that there is still “No visible cancer”.

I have to say, I’m pretty rugged emotionally, but I had to shed a tear or two, and a prayer or two of praise and gratitude.

I seem to still have work to do, and happily so.

Rejoice with me,

Brother John

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Rejoice With Me

  1. Sandy K. says:

    My wife and I rejoice with you. May every moment of pain continue to sanctify and prepare you for your destiny.

    Like

  2. James says:

    So glad to hear you remain cancer free, but sorrow for your pain. We pray it will all be better. If everyone that loves you could take just a bit of your pain, I’m sure it would all be gone in an instant!

    I imagine you know about this alternative clinic, but just in case, and for any others who may be suffering from cancer, here is a website. A friend of a friend had inoperable brain cancer and was given a few months to live, and now walks cancer free after seeing this guy:

    http://www.burzynskiclinic.com/

    Like

  3. Gina says:

    100 % Beautifully said!!

    Like

  4. Mila says:

    How wonderful! How kind is our God! I’m sorry you are stil in pain. I pray you may be healed in His time.

    This is a book that helped me many times:

    http://www.amazon.com/Through-Pharmacy-English-Maria-Treben/dp/B0006NZPLK/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

    Like

  5. cheyenne brashear says:

    Brother John, it’s wonderful to hear that there is no visible cancer, but I’m sorry to hear that you are still in a lot of pain. Do you know if anyone has put your name on prayer roll in the temple? I think I might call a few temples and put both your name and Terri’s name on prayer roll if that’s okay with you. Brother C.

    Like

  6. Toni says:

    That is wonderful news! I pray that the pain leaves.

    Like

  7. SBH says:

    I am so thrilled for you!

    Like

  8. ken h says:

    This reminds me of the man in Spencer’s visions of Zion where he had diabetes but the Lord helped him not to need medication anymore. Maybe he was shown that to be an inspiration to you personally, God knowning that Spencer would share that with you just when you needed it. May our Savior fill you with such unspeakable joy that you won’t even notice the pain. God’s everlasting joy has the power to overcome all pain and sorrow! God bless you John always.

    Like

  9. Steve says:

    Concise and to the point: Awesome!

    Like

  10. K. says:

    I am so happy for you and your family John. That is the best news I’ve heard this week. Although I’ve only been a part of your blog for a very short time, I can honestly say I’m addicted to it. I take a little time daily to feast on the spirit that is so strong here.

    Thank you for giving so much of yourself to help others.

    K.

    Like

  11. Adrian says:

    Hallelujah!
    Hallelujah!
    Hallelujah!

    Brother John, I can testify that I, personally, am part of your work yet to do. I’m an infinitesimally small part, perhaps, but a part nonetheless. It was literally last night that I was reading Following and finally found the direct and correct explanation of what happened to me several years ago, and what I need to do next. I may never meet you, but you are changing my life.

    Thank you, thank you for your words and for your work. And of course, all the praise and glory be to God.

    Like

  12. Leslie Nathan Boss says:

    Brother John,

    I feel to rejoice with you and give praise to God. I am glad that you are able to stick around longer as you are having a huge positive effect upon the world in the midst of all the horrible things going on around us. Just in my life alone, I see the positive effects of this great blog in my life. Thank you for who you are and all you do to spread the Spirit.

    Like

  13. John Costello says:

    God bless you dear brother. Carry on, carry on!

    Like

  14. Juli says:

    Hallelujah!!!

    Like

  15. Krisene says:

    I am so grateful to hear the good news. I appreciate the work you are doing! Thank you,
    Krisene

    Like

  16. Joni Walker says:

    John, My prayers will be with you.!!!!

    My mother and my grandmother moved into the next realm of glory through the portals of the dreaded Cancer senario, and I can only picture them saying it was worth it in the end to grow in spirit in a way that only the dreaded fear of leaving behind your loved ones and letting go of this mortal knowledge as we know life to be described by, so as to move into the glorious unknown of the draped veil concealing all of our premortal and immortal beauty awaiting us!

    In working in the eye doctors office as a lab assistant I often tell patients in our office that we never knew how well we could see until we are finally allowed to see the complete picture in full view of
    perfect sight. We never know what we didn’t see until we can finally see it! How blessed we will be when we are finally home and experiencing all things through the lords eyes and heart.

    I often wonder what worse challenges could I have had – had I not been given the challenges put before my eyes to see how to love, give, share, care, and grow in spirit. Maybe I would not have been able to bear the other challenges, or maybe if I hadn’t of had to fulfill my complete life senario – would I be able to achieve or arise to the call when my Savior calls me home. Would I have made it to the highest level of Glory possible for me if I gave up to soon or didn’t keep plugging along in this journey home?

    I guess what I am saying is that I know our trials and challenges are a gift to us to strengthen us for a Celestial Realm of Glory that will be well worth the pain we had to go through to get there. My prayer for you Brother John is thqt our Father-In-Heaven will give you strength enough to endure to the end and the understanding to be able to see the beauty and joy of the Journey home!

    My life has been blessed by your strength, love, knowledge of the gospel, and your will to carry on even during much pain and unhappy times. Thankyou so very much for who you have become through your trials and hardships. God has blessed you with so much and you have passed it on to all of us. I will be forever greatful for what you have taught me through your unblog and your books you have been inspired to write through the guidance of the Spirit!!!!!!

    Much Love Joni

    Like

  17. darrell brashear says:

    I do feel like rejoicing for you. I hope we have more visits together and more wonderful memories, including you and Terri being at the temple for mine and Amber’s sealing 🙂

    I hope that things continue to get better and better for you. I have no doubts that the Lord still has work for you to do on this side of the veil. Who knows how many great things He has in store.

    Brother D.

    Like

  18. Diane says:

    Alma 26:8
    Blessed be the name of our God: let us sing to his praise, yea, let us give thanks to his holy name, for he doth work righteousness forever.

    Your work is such a blessing to us all, brother John.

    Like

  19. Sharon Cox says:

    This is wonderful news! Hope you will get relief from the pain also. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  20. Donald says:

    John, I’m so happy and pleased for you. I’am also grateful to our Savior…. He blesses us, heals, comforts, guides and teaches us. It is wonderful.

    ybic.

    Like

  21. Eva says:

    Dearest Brother John, Your blog has touched my life so much, I look forward to your posts. I know it is the Lord working through you to inspire us. I wanted to thank you for your devotion to all of us our here in cyber space, though I have never met you in person, I feel I know you becuase I am familliar with the same Holy Spirit and truth that is contained in the words you share here. I pray your life and body may be miraculously healed or you life prolonged from the chemo and cancer that you may ba able to acomplish the work the Lord has set for you.

    Thank you dearest Brother, with all my love and heart
    Eva
    Australia

    Like

  22. Jared says:

    Praise god!! So happy for you and your family John. So happy that we get to keep you we need you around here:). Much love.

    Jared

    Like

  23. Skye Buhler says:

    🙂

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

