Praying Vocally


One of the Un-Blog family asked a question: Is it good to pray vocally? Can the bad spirits hear our prayers that way? Shouldn’t we pray silently for that reason?

I have asked myself the same question, and arrived at this answer for myself at least – it doesn’t matter. Whether “they” can hear our prayers or not does not give them additional power over us, and it does not reveal our needs or weakness to them. The largest reason may be that true prayer invites the Holy Spirit into the room, and evil must depart. Light and darkness cannot exist in the same place at the same time. On the other side of the coin, if our prayers are routine and insincere and do not invite the Holy Spirit, then “they” haven’t heard anything worth hearing. So – it doesn’t matter.

I personally find my greater prayers are silent, but I have also been urged at times to pray vocally. They key is to listen and obey.

I have written many times on “Mighty Prayer”. This is one of my favorites from last year:

Mighty Prayer is much more than praying long, or praying hard. It begins only when we bring the Holy Spirit with us into our prayer chambers, and then yield our own voice to the voice of revelation. Then the Holy Spirit guides our words, and leads in worship and glorying that man alone cannot achieve. It is prayer of the highest order, and few experiences ennoble and enable with equal power.

It requires some effort, and some time, and a suitable background in hearkening to the Holy Spirit to achieve, but when it finally happens, you will walk away a new person in Christ.

There are two overarching reasons why we should press ourselves diligently to develop and deploy Mighty Prayer. The first is that it is a necessary and unavoidable bridge that we must cross on our quest for the full blessings of the gospel. The type of veil-rending faith we seek lies at the far side of the bridge called Mighty Prayer.

The second reason is that, in my personal experience at least, every grand spiritual event I sought for and eventually obtained, began as Mighty Prayer. It’s almost as if the angels who are charged by God with vending the greater blessings only speak the language of the Holy Spirit. They don’t seem to converse in earth-born language, and the very essence of Mighty Prayer is that the Holy Spirit teaches us what to say, and how to say it. In Mighty Prayer the Spirit lifts us, sanctifies us and dresses us in spotless spiritual white, and for that moment, for that blink of eternity, we know how to speak the tongue of angels.

There are a few steps one can take to develop Might Prayer. You can read more about this in “Reaching for Mighty Prayer”.

1) Take the Holy Spirit for your guide. Do this in every decision of your life. When you kneel to pray, yield yourself to the same voice that speaks to you of right and wrong. This is the voice of revelation, and the only way to pray with power.

2) Pray, pray, pray, pray. The only way to learn to pray powerfully is to pray often and long. I personally think that praying 20 minutes every day is a minimum requirement for powerful spiritual progression.

3) Don’t use these prayers to ask for things until the Holy Spirit guides you. Use them to worship, to praise, to commune with Father. When the power of prayer falls upon you praise is natural, because you are suddenly in audience with the God of heaven, who loves you as dearly as if you were His only child. You will shout praises and weep because you will remember Him and Love Him, and yearn to be there, where you are, with Him, feeling his tender love all around you. When He tells you what you may ask for, you will have tremendous faith in His desire to grant you this thing, and you will ask with complete faith. When you ask for that thing, it will have already been granted and you will know it.

Mighty prayer seems to be about 80% praise, and 20% directed pleading and needing.

4) Lastly, enjoy your prayers. It is truly a glorious thing. When you reach for, and obtain, this mighty communion with your Heavenly Parent, you will desire to stay, and then to come back often. It is a delight. Joseph called fasting and prayer, “Fasting and rejoicing”.

Brother John

© February 2012, John M. Pontius, all rights reserved. Non-commercial reproduction permitted.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Praying Vocally

  1. kenh says:

    From Reaching For Mighty Prayer something you mentioned in TTOZ that inspired me John if possible to state it again for this has been a wonderful blessing in my life.

    I decided to “Call upon His name” even that of Jesus Christ, our Lord while praying unto the Father. When prompted by the Holy Spirit to repent of mistakes that I needed to be forgiven of, The Spirit gave me the following to utter,”Heavenly Father, I call upon the name of Jesus Christ, thy Son, thine Only Begotten Son, who is my Advocate and Mediator, to approach Thy throne, for I am unworthy to do so. I ask that He might plead my case before Thee, for I have sinned and have need of forgiveness of my transgressions that I have stated before. I call upon His Name, even Jesus Christ, upon His merits, upon His Atonement for which he has paid the price that justice demands and has bled from every pore and died upon the cross for my soul. Father please allow my Savior to request mercy and forgiveness from Thee in my behalf. (As I finished these words I felt the power of the Holy Ghost fill my very soul and I knew that I had been forgiven completely) I submit this as an example of “Calling upon His name” that you helped me to understand, John. Christ will be our Advocate and Mediator if we ask the Father to allow our Savior to do that. Thank you again. I hope this might help others to do the same.

    Like

  2. K-Jo says:

    Why did the Nephites in 3rd Nephi pray to Jesus? Then Jesus separated himself from them and Prayed to the Father, thanking him for those whom the Father had given him.

    Like

  3. darrell brashear says:

    Dear Shauna, I hope you don’t mind me sharing a few things I have learned on this matter and which I cherish. The name of the Lord isn’t just a name, it is all that He is to a person. The more a person learns of Him and His attributes the more they learn His name.

    There is a scripture in Isaiah that refers to this. The scripture reads, “For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace”. (Isaiah 9:6).

    I thought it interesting that this scripture mentions His name in the singular, and yet it is all these things. I learned that as I learn His name He becomes Wonderful to me, He becomes my Counsellor, my mighty God, the everlasting Father of my salvation, my Prince of Peace, and many many more things.

    I learned that the more I learn how to hear His voice through personal revelation, the more I learn who He is to me- the more I learn His name. To me, calling upon His name is calling out with the knowledge of all He is. When I pray to Heavenly Father, and I pray by all that I know of His Son, my prayers gain more and more power.

    I hope this helps. Brother D.

    Like

  4. Shauna Allen says:

    This was a good question, one I have also wondered about. Thank you for your response. I would like to know if calling upon the name of the Lord is included in mighty prayer. Recently it has been mentioned in several conference talks that we pray in the name of Jesus Christ. I know we do not pray to Jesus Christ, so how do we call upon His name? Is calling upon the name of the Lord ending our prayers in the name of Jesus Christ or is there more to it?
    Thanks, Shauna

    Like

  5. Chris says:

    I find that praying vocally helps me to focus on the prayer and what the Spirit is prompting me to say. My mind wanders a lot less when I pray vocally. I find also that if I have a particular place to go to pray vocally, then I more apt to get into the habit of doing so. If you haven’t ever tried it before, I would encourage you to do so. It really does bring a new dimension to prayer.

    Like

  6. Steve says:

    I appreciated this a lot, because I’ve been striving to pray wth power. I think I’ve only managed to do it a handful of times, though. I keep trying and am always looking for counsel on this, but there never seems to be enough. Do you have otherpointers or resources you can share?

    You haven’t quite been able to do this before, but you nearly brought me to tears with #3. On the other hand, it was probably the Spirit working through your words. Also, I did inherit my mother’s overactive tear ducts, so I’m not sure who gets credit. I’ll give you the point, since you did the work of being receptive.

    Like

  7. Elder Stroud says:

    Sister Stroud and I listened to the Spanish Fork fireside yesterday. Thank you for being inspired to offer it to us who at this time find ourselves 14,000 miles away from Spanish Fork.

    Like

  8. Elder Stroud says:

    Thanks John. I think of Joseph’s statement, “This was the first attempt I had made at praying vocally,” that preceded the 1st Vision. Because of this statement, I had wondered about the power of prayer vocally versus silent. I like you find my most powerful prayers to be silent. I will listen to the Spirit of the Lord, and when prompted, will pray vocally as well. Most timely for me.

    Like

  9. Mark says:

    Thank you for such a great post. I have learned that begging and pleading in prayer are two different things. The Lord’s will is what we should be seeking. Begging for what we think are needs during prayer only highlights our own will and takes our focus of of the Lords perfect will for us. When we truly desire the Lords will, out hearts plead for it instead of a panic, begging.

    Like

  10. Steve says:

    I have often wondered the meaning of entering into our “closets” to pray. There must be a purpose for distinguishing a prayer done in the open and one done privily no?

    Alma 33:7
    And when I did turn unto my closet, O Lord, and prayed unto thee, thou didst hear me.

    Alma 34:26
    But this is not all; ye must pour out your souls in your closets, and your secret places, and in your wilderness.

    3 Nephi 13:6
    But thou, when thou prayest, enter into thy closet, and when thou hast shut thy door, pray to thy Father who is in secret; and thy Father, who seeth in secret, shall reward thee openly.

    Luke 12:3
    Therefore whatsoever ye have spoken in darkness shall be heard in the light; and that which ye have spoken in the ear in closets shall be proclaimed upon the housetops.

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

