Prayer Request


Two of our Un-Blog Family, the Strouds are missionaries in the Philippines. Elder Stroud is apparently in need of our prayers. I have included the letter I received a few minutes ago. It would be so wonderful if we could avalanche them in prayers.

Here is his letter:

My name is Steve.  I’m an American living in the Philippines.  I’m a retired submarine sailor, and have been living here for about 7 years now.  I was inactive, but was “rescued” by Brother Mike Stroud and his wife, Sister Margy Stroud.
I felt compelled to e-mail you and ask for you (and others I guess) to pray for Mike.  He has been experiencing chest pains and is now on a neighboring island, visiting the doctors.  He recognizes the chest pains, having been a victim of heart attacks before.  We’re all deeply concerned about him.
Mike and Margy are both loved by all they touch here.  They cover an area of about 160 km, covering five branches on our side of the island, but help the missionaries on the other side of the island also.  They are the “mom & dad” of them, getting them together on Thanksgiving, checking their living conditions and helping them out.
Anyway, I believe that prayer works.  Is there anyway to get the unblog family to pray for him (and also for her, to comfort her)?
Thanks.
Steve

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Prayer Request

  1. Sharon Cox says:

    Elder Stroud, Thanks for updating us on your health. I added you and your wife’s name to my personal prayer roll. May the Lord bless you to complete your mission.

    Like

  2. Elder Stroud says:

    Hello everyone. Thank you so much for your prayers. You will never know how much I appreciate them.

    I just returned from a week staying at the mission home in Cebu. I spent some time in the ER, EKG, Enzyme testing, lipid panels, etc. All of the tests came back negative, but I have symptoms of MI(myo-cardio infarction). I had 5 artery bypass in 1997, and have been taking chelation therapy for the past 10 years. I am not getting any exercise here where we are serving, and the food isn’t that healthy. I found a Naturpath in Cebu, and got a couple of sessions of chelation therapy, and a hydrogen peroxide treatment. Coming home tonight, I had zero energy, chest pains, and a low-grade temperature. My greatest fear at this time is not being able to complete this mission. I have received two blessings, and both of them told me to go slowly, and take better care of myself. My mission president told me that I would complete this mission. The hospital in Cebu diagnosed the problem as muscular/skeletal spasms. At this point, I am just going to take it east for the rest of this week, and see if these symptoms go away.

    Thank you again for your faith and prayers.
    Our love to you all,
    Elder & Sister Stroud

    Like

  3. jnlowe says:

    My prayers are forthcoming!!!

    Like

  4. alicia keller says:

    Dear Brother John,
    I will pray for this sweet family. I have a strong testimony of the power of prayer. I have been a witness to many mighty miracles because of faith in our Savior. May He ever bless this amazing family.
    Recently, a friend gave me a copy of your book “The Spirit of Fire.” I wanted you to know how amazing that book is, and how it is helping me to recognize and fearlessly follow the voice of the Holy Spirit. For a long time now I have been asking myself how I can be a better wife, mother and daughter of God. I truly desire to move forward on the path and to become all that Father wants me to be. It is through reading “The Spirit of Fire” that I am beginning to see how to apply all of the principles of the gospel in my life. For example, Sam’s mother, Laura, is one of the kindest and most compassionate people I have ever read about. She is faith-filled, and absolutely shines with righteousness. The character Sam is much like me at times…learning from wise parents, and then exhibiting tremendous faith when faced with adversity. As I have read these pages, I have shed many tears as the Spirit has lovingly taught me simple truths. I will be forever thankful for all of your writings, and especially for “The Spirit of Fire”, which makes me yearn to find the Lord and experiment on His words.
    Much love and gratitude always,
    Alicia

    Like

  5. Regina says:

    Done,

    I have lived in the Philippines, conditions are totally “Third World”. Hope this sweet brother’s health is restored. The Filipino people are so sweet and humble – yet have so little.

    Regina

    Like

  6. Denise says:

    I am so sorry to hear about Mike and Margorie. I will definitely pray for them. They are friends of ours from Arizona and I served with Mike teaching seminary. They are some of the best people you will find. When I spoke with Margorie in the temple before they left, they were filled with excitement to be going to serve the people of the Philippines. Prayer does indeed work, Steve. Our prayer are with you as well to stay strong for them and for yourself. Is there a way to have an update on Mike’s condition? We are in Texas and out of the Arizona loop right now.

    Like

  7. I sure will. Shall we all place their names on our local temples roles too? If we’re looking for an “avalanche” of prayers going heavenward then the temples will send them: around-the-clock!

    Like

  8. Lindsay says:

    …. blessings and personal prayers for all of you, especially brother Mike S.

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

