Walking Upon the Water


From time to time I think about Peter, who upon seeing Christ walking upon the water, asked him “If it be thou, bid me come unto thee on the water.”

When Christ answered “come”, Peter came “down out of the ship, [and] walked on the water, to go to Jesus”. (Matthew 14:28-29)

There are many amazing elements to this story. Most often, what people like to observe is that when Peter heard the winds and saw the waves that he became afraid and began to sink. I think the greater point is that he was actually walking upon the water! No matter if it was one step or ten, or if he sank quickly or slow, or if he was afraid or of little faith, he actually did walk upon the water. As far as sacred history records, only Jesus Christ and Peter have ever done so.

When Christ caught him as he sank, I believe his faith was restored. He walked out there, he knew he could do it, and one can only marvel that Peter most probably walked back to the ship upon the water.

But, my point is this, that unless Peter had seen the Master walking upon the water, Peter could not have even conceived the idea of walking upon the water, let alone had the faith to do so.

For almost two-hundred years there has been a moratorium upon sharing grand spiritual experiences. We are told “Those who know don’t talk.  Those who talk don’t know.” This is actually a Chinese proverb from “Tao Te Ching”. The rest of the proverb says “Close your mouth, block off your sense, blunt your sharpness, untie your knots, soften your glare, settle your dust.” In other words, stop talking and listen. Or as the kids of today say, “Calm your storm.”

How it came in this latter-day world to mean that personal and glorious spiritual experiences should not be shared, and if someone is sharing them they’re being inappropriate, is hard to tell. But, it is not true in my opinion. Those who know should talk when inspired, and we should not dismiss such things because of a Chinese proverb.

If Peter had been looking the other way, or asleep in the boat, then his faith and belief would have never blossomed. He had to see such a thing to believe it because belief limits us to our own definition of possible. The only reason he knew he could was because he saw Jesus doing it, and then asked and received permission to do it himself.

We are not so different from Peter. When we see someone work a miracle by the priesthood, when we hear by spiritual ears of a miracle or great manifestation, then our faith is empowered to do the same. Without that witness, without seeing and knowing that someone else did these great things in the storms of their lives, we most often lack the faith to do so in ours. In fact, this is the power of the scriptures, that someone did it before us. This is the power that is so dramatically shut off when “those who know don’t talk.”

Imagine a priesthood meeting in some millennial day where Peter, now resurrected, takes a High Priest group to a nearby lake and turning to face them says, “Brethren, today’s lesson is on walking on the water, and here is how it is done.” With that, he takes ten steps upon the water, then returns and says, “Now you do it.” I think all of us would go home wet from the first few tries, but like Peter, we would suddenly know that we could because we saw him do it, and we eventually would walk upon the waters ourselves.

I think we are all Peters who would happily walk upon the water if we knew how. The UnBlog has taught me that I am not alone in the desire to do so. So many of us have read the scriptural promises, or believed the words of sacred ceremony, and are seeking to claim them all, sometimes without the approval of spouse, friends or family, and we desperately wish someone who actually knew how, would just speak up. I hope you realize that you are not alone in your drive to seek and obtain greater things, those things which “eye has not seen, nor yet entered into the heart of man”. But, when the eye of faith does see fellow pilgrims walking upon the water, then it does enter into the heart, and after some spectacular failures and serious dog-paddling, we do eventually find ourselves walking upon the waters heedless of the storms around us.  

Brother John

© April 2012, John M. Pontius, all rights reserved. Non-commercial reproduction permitted.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Walking Upon the Water

  1. I’ve been pondering this for the last few days, and just came to a realization: Peter could walk upon the water, because he was walking where the Lord had bid him walk. The Lord bid him walk there, and Peter had sufficient faith to step.

    Our lives are more similar to walking on water than I’d ever thought. Very often, the Lord bids us step in places that our natural mind says are no more stable than water. The lesson from Peter is to walk where the Lord would have us walk, and be not faithless but believing.

    Like

  2. Amy Weston says:

    Brother John, I loved this post! I too, as I have read this story in the past have focused on the fact that Peter started to drown… until today. Brother John, this may seem incredibly personal but I learned a little something about myself as I was reading this unblog that I would like to share. I hope it is by the spirit.

    As I was reading, I have thought about all of the righteous desires that have burned within my heart since I have been born on this earth. I realized that I have seen the Lord do some pretty awesome things from within the boat I was in. And as I have seen Him do those things I have desired them for myself. Like Peter I called out, “Lord if it be you, tell me to come to you.” And when He called out to me at that time my faith lead me to get out of my boat and go to Him. But just like Peter, my storms of life came and I doubted and I, time and again, have had to cry out, “Lord save me!”… And He always has. I never wondered before how did Peter get back to the boat, I have concluded as you have that after the Lord saved him they both walked back to the boat together. I wonder if Peter at that moment thought, “I just walked on water.” Or did he think, “I would have drown if the Lord hadn’t been there to save me.”

    I realized that the things that I have desired either have already happened or they will happen and often without me even realizing it.
    With love, God bless you, Brother John and all you unbloggers.
    Sister Amy

    Like

  3. wendy says:

    I loved your comment, Flash – and that realization that you had indeed walked on water. I think the hardest thing in the midst of an unexpected and highly personalized outpouring of spiritual power is sometimes simply to hold still and not flee. We want these things and long for them, then they come and we feel the contrast so keenly between our lowly, inadequate, prideful, inconsequential selves (or whatever other self-definition takes hold) and the awe of realizing we are actually standing in the holy places we have barely imagined existed. I find in such moments that I can hardly tolerate the very intimacy with God I had thought I would do anything to obtain. Thank you for reminding me that the astonishing reality that you did walk on water was far more important than the completely predictable reality that you sank. How overwhelming it must feel to a baby to take those first steps, then wonder how he will ever find the courage or strength or skill or stamina to remain upright as seems to be expected and required. Especially when he falls so quickly. Our Advocate encourages us to focus on the steps. The Accuser focuses our attention on the fall.

    Like

  4. Flash says:

    The metaphorical concept of walking on water came to me forty years ago when I was a very young and inexperienced Relief Society President of a difficult Ward in a very trying part of the country—so unlike what I had been accustomed to back on the Wasatch front. The two congregations which shared the chapel were more like the Jews and Samaritans than Latter-day Saints.

    My life changed in important ways as I dealt with local challenges, putting away normal life and trying to live by the spirit. One night I stayed long on my knees in a delicious communication called “prayer.” When I finally exhausted my whole list of things to be grateful for and the many needs I felt, I closed the session and crawled into bed; but I went reluctantly.

    Then, laying there in the dark, I remembered something important to me. I had been reading Cleon Skousen’s series of Old Testament books (FIRST THOUSAND YEARS, etc), and David O. McKay’s book, ANCIENT APOSTLES, and my heart filled with gratitude for those in the past who lived so heroically preparing things which we, in our latter-day times, benefited.

    So I got out of bed, and recommenced praying. Naming them one by one, from Adam down to Restoration times, I asked Father to tell those past heroes how thankful I was for their service.

    What happened was completely unexpected: My whole body seemed to shimmer with warmth and love, and I KNEW that they had received my message. I “knew,” in the way testimonies are known but can’t be explained, that in those few seconds, all had been made aware of my gratitude and were glad. Then (oh how I regret this), when that realization came, I felt embarrassed by it— feeling presumptuous and unworthy—and the split second that entered my mind, it was totally gone. I was alone again in a cold, dark room.

    For years afterward, I carried a regret that I couldn’t sustain something so wonderful, and I felt diminished by the fact. (I’m sure the opposition was suggesting such things.) Years later in another arena, inspired by a wonderful teacher, I realized: Like Peter, I had walked on water. Like Peter, I sank because of my lack of faith, but it did happen, and it will always be a testimony to such possibilities which are open to us according to our faith and desire.

    Flash

    Like

  5. Jodee Maas says:

    Thank you so much for your sharing this. It really touched my heart as other things you have shared have opened up a foundation upon which I feel my life has significantly changed. Perhaps just my perspective has changed, I am not sure. But I think for me it is so true. If we can not conceive of something as possible it often does not occur to us to ask the right questions in order to get answers that will teach us and bless us so much. I do not know if that makes sense. It is hard for me to put into words. But the spiritual experiences that you have shared have filled in the holes or the blanks like there had been missing pieces in a puzzle that now aren’t. I have been able to receive new inspiration in a way that makes everything come together and brings me such hope for the future. But it goes far beyond that, I feel I have come to be aware of my mission on earth and I do not know that that would have been possible without what I have learned because of you and your writings. I have such a fresh sense of hope and joy because of what I now know. It is hard to explain. But I wish to once again share my deepest gratitude and appreciation.

    I have had spiritual experiences that are impacting not only me, but many around me, and allowing me to be a part of building something special. Insights, inspirations about not only what would help build, protect and teach others, but seeing that even if others choose not to be helped the end will be the same because it is what Father wants, if that makes sense.

    Like

  6. Jared says:

    I rarely share spiritual experiences with others besides those who are very close and open about such things, like my wife and one brother. Instead, I share and testify of specific principles.

    Last Sunday in Fast and Testimony meeting, I talked about the difference between a broad testimony in the restoration, Jesus Christ, and the scriptures; versus actually believing the specific doctrines they teach, applying them to ourselves, and actually performing accordingly.

    I testified that if we completely consecrate our will to our Father in Heaven, and follow all the promptings Christ gives us through the Spirit with exactness and promptness, that all the miricles and manifestations promised in holy writ will begin being a part of our lives very quickly.

    It was a good expereince. I did not share my experiences, I did testify that these experiences are real.

    I do know that my comments often make my bishop and rep from the High Counsel uneasy. Let them be so. I am, slowly but surely, working to change the culture in our ward to allow greater reaching toward heaven.

    Like

  7. darrell brashear says:

    This is a wonderful post! I know those things that were shared a few days ago on “Let The Blessings Flow” unblog gave me a great deal of strength and desire. I have pondered over it again and again. It has been a great blessing to me to hear those things.

    Unfortunately, the area that I live in is prevalent with the idea that spiritual things should never be shared. I think our high inactive numbers would go down if people saw that this Church is a church of blessings and miracles. It reminds me of a talk Elder Holland gave a few years ago and he said something to the effect that if people keep going to the bakers for bread and they keep getting stones then they’ll quit going to the bakers.

    If people keep coming to the Church for spiritual nourishment and all they get is a long list of requirements and they never hear of any spiritual blessings, they’ll go somewhere else to look for fulfillment.

    I like the part where you said if the Spirit prompts we should share spiritual experiences. I know it increases desire to seek spiritual things. It has for me.

    Brother D.

    Like

  8. Terry says:

    John and All,
    I am so grateful to read these things and recognize I am not the Lone Ranger! I have experienced most of what you all have described here and am learning from my own experience and now from yours.

    It became clear to me about 15 years ago that it was my stewardship to teach my children these things, but only line up on line at first. The 4 of them and their spouses are quite far along at this point in their learning and progress. Now I am teaching my teenage grandchildren, of course with the permission and involvement of their parents and under direction of the Spirit. Teaching our own families is the only organized way I know of that this knowledge is to be passed down through the generations, as Lehi modeled to his sons Nephi and Jacob and then down to his grandson Enos.

    And so, it is outside of this context to teach others for whom we do not have direct stewardship. That must only be done when we are sure we have been directed to do so by the Spirit AND with THEIR permission. I know this becasue I have made mistakes and suffered consequences and retardation of my own progress as some of you have expressed here.

    One thing I am certain of at this point: reaching my next major mile marker on the path is clearly contingent on me following exactly the direction of the Spirit when sharing the mysteries of Godliness with others – in content, depth, intensity and clarity. Sometimes it is appropriate to just plant seeds. At other times to cultivate. And at others to reveal the full light of the blessings of the harvest. The Lord will not reveal unto me exactly how to take my next step unless I have been a good steward over the knowledge surrounding my earlier steps.

    I have to remind myself that Father taught me through revelation, and directed me what to study, and many times just dropped in my lap a piece of knowledge that filled in the puzzle I had constantly pondered and prayed about. I had no parent, grandparent, leader or teacher who directly influenced my quest for this knowledge or the attainment of any promise. It came from Him. If Father can do that for me, he can do that for all others when they are ready.

    It must be His way, not ours. Only then can we progress on our own path as we desire.

    Terry

    Like

    • I love your direct and powerful words. Thank you.

      Like

    • Sharon says:

      Terry, thank you for your comment “Teaching our own families is the only organized way I know of that this knowledge is to be passed down through the generations, as Lehi modeled to his sons Nephi and Jacob and then down to his grandson Enos.” I had never before considered that it was part of my stewardship to teach my children the “meat” of the gospel, but as I read your comment, the thought entered my mind – how else are they going to learn it if not from me? These things are not taught from the pulpits in church – From now on, I will follow Lehi’s and your example and not hold back these precious things from my children.

      Brother John, thank you also for helping to shepherd us along our journey to Christ.

      Like

  9. Steve H. says:

    John, one of the things I asked you about after your fireside in Riverdale was how you could so readily share the experiences you talked about, I believed spiritual things and miracles happen, but we are under strict command not to share them except as directed, well this is correct, but my feeling was that opportunities to share would only come in very rare private instances, so I wondered about you (as a cynic, I have to analyze quite thoroughly what motivates others, so I hope you’ll forgive my skepticism back then). I have come to see that it’s up to the Spirit what kind of forum we are to share these expriences in. The irony in this is that I have long yearned to hear of miracles in the lives of Saints now, not just from Haun’s Mill and other Church history events. I know that as we follow the Spirit, these experiences can help edify the Saints we are impressed to share them with.

    Like

  10. Adam says:

    My wife and I received another insight about Peter a couple weeks ago. He was the only one willing to get out of the boat. There were great men in that boat, men that would eventually be Jesus’ apostles, but Peter is the only one that got out. It is out of the boat that the miracles happen, but it is also out of the boat that can be scary. Few are willing get out of the safety of the boat and experience miracles is their lives.

    One other thought about sharing spiritual experiences. Last week I tried to find any occassion in scripture where someone that had seen angels or Jesus was commanded NOT to say they had. I could find no case. I know there are, spiritual experiences that have been given with a command not to share, but sharing whether or not that had seen Jesus or angles was never restricted. Do you know of a case?

    Joseph Smith made no bones about seeing Jesus and angels. My mom saw Jesus, and I have 3 other family and friends that have seen Him. I’m still working on it.

    Like

  11. Tim says:

    Hi Brother Pontius,

    I don’t know if there is a separate “questions” section or if this comment section will suffice …
    This is a great post and it brings up a question I asked previously: In one of your firesides you mentioned that many thousands have had their calling and election made sure (and you seemed to be inferring those thousands are in our day)…Inasmuch as the Lord’s plan is a doable one I don’t disbelieve that likelihood. Still, I know you are very careful with your choice of words, “something” caused you to present that as a statement of fact and not a mere presumption. I’m requesting further light on that “something” It seems to me the joy of having ones calling and election made sure is in having our inmost desires rewarded in a concrete way… and it seems to me, also, that knowing it is do-able by the witness that many thousands have had the experience (as opposed to some exclusive few) will make “our hope” that much more concrete.

    Like

    • Dear Tim,

      I remember responding to this very question. Maybe you didn’t see it. When I speak at firesides I try to release my own thinking and speak as much as possible by the flow of the Spirit. I remember making that statement. I was rather amazed when it came out of my mouth to be honest. It felt right at the time, but I have no way to prove it either way. I do believe that far more people are achieving these things than even they know about. Many times people walk the path, qualify for the blessings, and then realize it later in life. I’m not sure why this is, but it seems to happen with most blessings. Sorry I can’t quote a national poll or something. It is just what I believe, and how it came out of my mouth in that moment.

      Thanks,

      JMP

      Like

  12. Sharla says:

    Confidentiality has always been an issue for me. I have shared experiences with uplifting and edifying results, and other times a sour taste was left in my mouth, as well as the person to whom I shared.

    Recently, as I am attempting to listen and follow the spirit exactly and with honor, several things were made crystal clear to me. In Sacrament Meeting one day I was quite chastened because I use my knowledge of the scriptures and the gospel in a prideful way. I have the gift of remembering most everything I read or hear, and I am fairly well-read. I speak up often in classes to “clarify” the situation, to the point that even the teachers would defer to what I said. However, in this spiritual chastisement, I was told in no uncertain terms that I needed to listen to others and keep my mouth shut for a time. I don’t know how long. It has been difficult to say the least. I know the change needs to be not in what I share, but in how I take the pride and “glory” unto myself when I do so. I’ve also found there are a number of areas in my life where I would talk of myself and get my value from the responses of others. I struggle with this every day, and especially on Sundays when I go to church where I attempt to sit and listen rather than participating through showing off my knowledge. I found I have even attempted to take pride in the situation of learning to be less prideful. It seems everywhere I turn this issue is in my face. Therefore, I hope that at some point I “get it” and arrive at a place where I can be gracious, unassuming and meek, and it pains me to say that I am not yet there.

    I have to say that the biggest test came in a 5th Sunday discussion where the Bishop proposed we talk about Calling and Election, as well as Translation. This is after having read the amazing works of John Pontius, as well as listening to every one of the posted fireside numerous times and being so blessed with the spirit while I did so. Inside me, there was a storm. I saw the people floundering about, giving up their ideas, which often missed the point, or were blatantly wrong, and keeping my mouth shut all the while. Tears rolled down my cheeks as I tried to remember to breathe. I wanted to tell them how it was, but it wasn’t time. I found it interesting that the saying “those who know don’t talk” was brought out and I wondered about my test and what it means.

    I have faith that this little exercise will have big results for me in the future. I have hope that learning when to speak out and when to hold my peace will be worth the struggle.

    Like

    • K-Jo says:

      Loved your honesty, Sharla. Thanks.

      Like

    • SBH says:

      I was really touched by your honest and heartfelt comment. I too am doing my best to follow a pattern of speaking in Church only when moved upon by the Spirit. I ask the Lord before the beginning of the 3rd hour (I teach during the 2nd) whether He would like me to say anything. This is a good time for me to ask because this is prior to any desire to speak for personal motives. Sometimes the answer is no and I just listen. When it is yes I wait until I hear the Spirit speak to me. Often I have no clue what it is I am to say, so I have to wait for the words or ideas to come to my mind. A few times I have been left with no guidance and simply raised my hand and the words came.

      To no credit of my own and with all credit to the Lord, this has caused some great things to happen. I also recognize from the Spirit that I am not called to teach (at least for now) many of the higher things I have received or learned in the past few years, and yet I see others who are called to these things. All callings, even callings to sit in peace, have a great purpose. I learn great things even when I simply perceive that an important piece is missing in a lesson and it is not my place to share it. Discernment of truth and error through the Spirit coupled with a great deal of charity towards the error of others (knowing full well I have my own bucket load of errors to sort through) is a sure foundation for progression.

      I am sure the exercise you are going through will have a huge spiritual blessing in the end.

      Like

    • Sharon says:

      Sharla, thank you for sharing such a personal struggle. It takes great humility to admit to pride, so in my eyes, you are one of the most humble persons that I have ever encountered! Go easy on yourself, you are further along than you think.

      Like

    • Heather Joyce says:

      Yep. It is all too easy to let MY light shine too brightly. What I am trying is to make one comment per class. I pray whether it the one I should say. Mostly they are an encouraging comment, or just bearing my witness to a scripture that came to my mind, etc. If my focus is on loving the people around me, almost always someone is touched.

      Like

  13. Lindsey Dixon says:

    Yippee! I cheered when you observed my most favorite part of the scripture account. I notice too, that Peter climbed over the edge of the boat while his brothers stayed “securely” inside. His faith was simply different, and I have always loved it. I recognized the tempering that occurred in Peter’s life, the refining, but without his bold messy exuberant faith, you are right, there would have only been one to walk on the water!

    Like

  14. Kathy says:

    I am truly edified and uplifted and comforted by your message today.

    I have had many deeply spiritual and amazing experiences, and yet, as I have spoken of some of them the response has been an extreem from chastizement for having spoken of a spiritual experience with statements like “don’t you know that your spiritual experiences are only for you personally and you should never speak of them to others”, and on the other end “I have been profoundly moved and edified”.

    It is clear to me that many people lack the spiritual capability to be able to let the Holy Ghost assist them with their power of discernment upon hearing of the spiritual experiences of others. Indeed, it is a sad commentary that many are so busy with the temporal mechanics of being a religious person, and yet, seem to deny the deep spiritual gifts that can come that transcend the temporal.

    I have learned through experience those who are ready for more spiritual meat as opposed to those for whom I would be casting my pearls because they are not ready to receive. Even more amazingly, some of those persons who truly should be very spiritually connected, are not.

    At this point I have a few tried and tested deeply spiritual friends with whom I will confide because it truly helps them to grow and we receive joy together in the knowledge. In most cases it is of great benefit to seek the Spirit for authorization of what and to whom we should reveal.

    I thank our Savior Christ for opening the door to all these many blessings and for you Brother John as I am continually edified by your unblogs so please don’t stop.

    Like

  15. J.J. Brown says:

    The key being “when inspired,” as you say.

    I recently shared a choice and spiritual personal experience with my righteous brother, his wife, and their older daughter. My brother has always been open minded, so i just plowed ahead assuming his past open mindedness was all the entree i needed. I can not say i was inspired or given permission to do so, and the result was a painful and a small disaster. My motives, my worthiness, my faithfulness, and a few other things were questioned. Their reaction was hurtful to me, but more importantly it may have been hurtful to their future interest or willingness to seek some of the higher things I’ve been seeking.

    I felt condemned by the Spirit afterward, for not keeping the experience sacred until prompted to do otherwise, and I have repented. Brigham Young has been very specific about the importance of keeping these things secret until otherwise prompted by the spirit, and it’s evident that Bro. John waits for that prompting before sharing. There is safety in that practice.

    I’ve seen some comments on this blog asking why keep these things a secret? I agree with you Brother John, there’s no reason at all, as long as we are prompted or given permission by the spirit to share. UnblogmySoul has been an oasis and inspiration for me for all the reasons you list in today’s entry. My life is blessed by it.

    I caution my friends on this path to not let their enthusiasm override the still small voice, as I did, when sharing sacred things.

    Like

    • J.J. You are 100% right. I am going to begin a discussion and invite comments on this subject. I hope you will join in. Your story is a universal experience when we let enthusiasm lead us to say too much. I did that recently with a Brother-in-Law. He did not receive it well, and told his wife (my wife’s sister) and it all came back that I had messed up. So, even when you KNOW to wait for the motivation to speak, it is easy to mistake enthusiasm for inspiration. Great comment.

      JMP

      Like

  16. May says:

    I am so very grateful for this post! This very subject has been on my mind for some time now. One day as I was reading and pondering I was led to the following scripture in Acts 18:9 & 10 where the Lord speaks to Paul as he was serving his mission, “Then spake the Lord to Paul in the night by a vision, Be not afraid, but speak, and hold not thy peace: For I am with thee, and no man shall set on thee to hurt thee; for I have much people in this city.” I think that for me the key is to share ONLY when spiritually directed that it is appropriate and “needful.” I have found that this direction almost always comes to me in the moment and is rarely planned or premeditated in any way. I would be interested to hear how this works for others in the Unblog family?

    Like

  17. Clarice says:

    I agree with you 100% John. The teachings of Alma have been on my mind a lot lately. In ch.12 he says: ” Therefore he sent angels to converse with them, who caused men to behold of his glory.”

    Clearly there are things being said in these conversations that many now would cry: “That is innapropriate! Don’t talk of things so sacred…” Otherwise how could they “cause men to behold of his glory”?

    And if you look at the chapters where Alma is teaching the people of Anmmonihah, there is much “deep doctrine” being taught to unworthy, apostate people. I think it is a very clever trick of Satan to have us all afraid of talking about the “mysteries”. He has us paralyzed with fear of talking about things that are too sacred to talk about. We can’t move forward on the path, because no one dares talk about anything on the path, so no one knows anything…

    I for one am so very thankful for people who are willing to teach these things. My whole life has changed because of about 5 people(maybe less…) being willing to teach these things. Yes you are one of them John. :YMHUG: I also think that very few people are experiencing very powerul experineces like you shared a few days ago, therefore they are naturally skeptical, and scared, and probably jealous of people who claim to experience these things.

    After all if we can have these things in the gospel and someone is not, when they hear of someone else that is experiencing these things, they have 2 choices. They can humble themselves and seek for the same things. Or they can get mad. They can become fearful and jealous that they are not doing enough to have these things happen, therefore no one else should be doing so either, so they do what Nephi said would happen, they revile against you and “won’t believe it”.

    I think anyone who says “those who know don’t share, and those who share don’t know”, are just scared and jealous, and it is sad.

    I really appreciated reading about your experience. It gave me hope. It made me sharpen my focus on the Savior even more, it sent a thrill of what is possible through me like lightening, so why on earth would the Lord not want you to share something like that?

    Like

  18. Chris says:

    What a refreshing perspective! Thank you for what you’ve shared, both today and over the past few years, both here and in your books.

    Chris

    Like

  19. Juli says:

    Thank you!

    Like

  20. Brett says:

    I am so happy you have written this post. It’s about time we discuss the difference between bearing testimony and casting pearls. There’s been so much fear about casting pearls that we lose so many opportunities to hear testimony.

    Wonderfully stated John.

    Like

  21. I love this! Thank you for sharing. Just what we needed to get a start on our Friday/weekend!

    Like

  22. Elder Stroud says:

    Thank you John for “walking on the water” to show us that it can be done. It does, and has strengthened faith and confidence in us to hear of others who have gone before, not the ancients only, but fellow travelers in the here and now.

    Like

  23. kenh says:

    I fully agree with this post. One more thing I would like to add if I may. Sharing personal spiritual witnesses of the marvelous events in our lives must first be cleared by the Holy Ghost as you, John, have stated before. When the Holy Ghost prompts us to testify of such an event in our lives then we are commanded to share, for the edifying and spiritual blessing of all who hear or read our witness. When in doubt, pray. When doubt has been removed, then bear humble witness. I love this wonderful place you have invited us to come to John. It is like an oasis in the desert of our lives. Where we can sit peacefully in the shade of the tress and drink cool water and rejoice before we travel out again amidst the heat of the day. May everyone who journeys here feel the love that is here. I see the Holy Spirit inspiring so many more people today to reveal the glorious blessings that they have personally received from Christ than ten or twenty years ago. The reason is clear. What lies ahead will require each of us to seek the greatest blessings to be prepared for the greatest challenges that we must pass through on our journey to Zion. When we desire to share for the glory of God and the edification and strengthening of our fellow travelers, then the Spirit of God like a fire is burning will be poured out upon the heads of the Saints in greater abundance in these last days. May it be so.

    Like

    • Ken, your comments are always a great addition to the UnBlog. Thank you. It is true, only when moved to speak. But, as you noted, that motivation and spiritual sanction to open up seems to come with more frequency and more power recently. Exciting times! (unfortunately).

      JMP

      Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

