Christ’s Warriors


Terri and I just returned from a wonderful weekend in Colorado. We went there to attend the baptism of a beloved grandson. We were very blessed to be able to stay in a good friend’s parent’s condo, which greatly added to our comfort. So many thanks to KR. She even made us cookies!

There were family gatherings and in-law family reunions planned for every evening we were there. The second evening I had the impression there was something we should do rather than go to that particular family gathering. Being a fairly intelligent person, I kept my mouth shut because these people are all from Terri’s side of the family.  A few hours later, Terri announced that she didn’t feel that we should attend the event, but that there was something “more important” we should do. Our daughter was standing nearby, and immediately suggested three of her friends who had been asking her repeatedly if they could meet us while we were in Denver. She gave me a phone number and in a few minutes the meeting was arranged.

We spent three hours talking to these wonderful people, basking in the Spirit and learning wonderful things. One of our new friends I’ll call Mike, joined the church less than two years ago after seeing a vision during his very first missionary lesson. Talk about Golden! He knew with a sure witness that it was true. It took a while for his wife and daughters to gain a testimony, but they were all baptized in time. He said that since he received the Gift of the Holy Ghost, he has seen many visions pertaining to his life and to the building of Zion. He thought that every new member of the Church had visions, and was actually shaken to find that his experience was unique. He said many times to us that evening, how hard it was for him to learn that he had to be careful where and to whom he mentioned that he was seeing visions.

He also told us that since then he has been bombarded by temptation and voices of opposition, and that he could barely stand the explosion of light and darkness that had come upon him since his baptism.

As I was listening to this the Spirit gave me several insights that were of great comfort and meaning to him. The point isn’t what was said, but that the Lord had taken me to Denver, rearranged my schedule, provided the opportunity and the words this humble and embattled soul needed to keep going. It was one of those spiritual moments when your bosom burns, eyes water, heart thumps and it feels like the room is on fire. Everyone felt it. It was a tender mercy to me, to Mike, and to everyone in the room.

This experience reinforced my belief that the Lord is working with people everywhere to prepare them, to strengthen those who will build Zion, and to lay an immovable foundation of righteous among his people. Mike’s views don’t change anything for anyone but himself, and few people will ever know his story or his name, but the Lord will have his warriors and have them fully armed when the battles begin.

Brother John

© May 2012, John M. Pontius, all rights reserved. Non-commercial reproduction permitted.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Christ’s Warriors

  1. karen prier says:

    I find that when I am battling with Satan, God has given me the power to cast him out just as the casting out from the Temple video teaches. I find it really interesting that most people don’t seem to know how to do this but it is one of the most effective teachings we have. I have a daughter who is adopted and came from a meth house. We got her when she was almost 4 years old. She has had huge problems all her life and we have had her in therapy after therapy with some success but not as much as I would like to see. She has these temper tantrums that are amazing and can go on for hours. I found that I would put her in her bedroom and cast out the evil spirits in the other room and within seconds she would be calm. Normaly these tantrums would go on for a long time up to hours. We are also teaching her to cast them out herself and she is finding that she has the power to not be in Satans’ control of herself. She likes to steal and lie but when she is aware that Satan and his minions are working on her she can cast them out and they go away and she has no problem telling the truth or walking away from tempting things. She is 11 years old. I know that Satan has a lot of power but we have more. We have the power of faith and the power of the priesthood. Moses cast out, and other prophets teach us how to cast evil spirits out, and more importantly the temple teaches us to cast out. I believe this teaching is in the temple video for a reason. When I feel depressed and the depression seems to have come on quickly I know it is an evil spirit. I cast it out and I feel better within seconds. I was taught to cast out evil spirits when I was very young and so it is normal for me and is not frightening at all. There is no reason or us to be afraid of this power. I have taught (reminded) others how to do it in my practice and it has changed peoples lives. It is very powerful and I promise it works.

    Like

    • Brian says:

      Karen,
      I have much experience with these tools of the Spirit. I believe we forget we are at War with the Forces of Darkness, and we are taught to raise our hand and in Christ name cast out the Evil Spirits that are in Ours and others Hearts and life.
      Thanks for Sharing.
      I believe we are entering a time when we will need to become the Warriors of LIght we came here to be, and claim the Priesthood and the Power of God to act in his Name. Both Women and Men must do this, to be ONe.

      Like

  2. Elizabeth C. says:

    I have also been bombarded with voices of temptation and a very real spiritual battle with Saintan. It has been to the point where my entire body has shaken. And yes it is true, I have received many revelations and I find that when I am not careful when and whom I share them with I get into trouble. The Devil is real and I know for me to win the daily battle I must put on the whole armor of God. Just the simple prayer’s and such are not enough, just like one of the apostle’s have told us.I love your blog thanx!

    Like

  3. Ryan says:

    Wow! I’m so excited to hear all of the visions people have. I feel so blessed to have my spiritual eyes opened to these truthes.

    Thank you for sharing!

    Ryan

    Like

  4. Elder Stroud says:

    Sorry…in reading my comment I said that it was the Cebu Mission President who met “Niki.” It was the Cebu Philippines Temple President.

    Like

  5. Elder Stroud says:

    The Cebu Philippines mission president was shopping two months ago when a Filippino man walked up to him and asked if he was a Mormon. When he answered yes, the man said “I need you to tell me everything about your church.” The temple president sat down with him right then and there and spent time explaining the Restoration. This man was a high profile Catholic Priest, who was being groomed for Vatican service. He found a Book of Mormon and read it in one sitting. The mission president arranged for the APs to teach him and he was baptized last month. He was kidnapped by by some individuals and taken to an island as far north in the Philippines as you can go. He was stripped, give a shirt, pants, no shoes, cell phone taken away and locked in a room in an old Franciscan monestary. There was an inquisition in front of some priests who told him to recant his membership in the church, or else! He bore them his testimony and encourage them to investigate! They locked him back in his room. After three days there, he was “nudged” by a person, and a voice told him the door was open and to leave immediately.

    There is more to this marvelous story, but I have exceeded my word limit. If permited, I will finish the rest of the story. This has all happened within the past 60 days.
    Elder Stroud

    Like

    • Brother Stroud,

      Please record this whole story and send it to me as an email. You have my yahoo address. I will post it as an article on the UnBlog. It sounds very interesting and inspiring.

      Thanks,

      Brother John

      Like

  6. cheyenne brashear says:

    This reminds me of what the Savior told Nicodemus about how the Holy Ghost works on those that are spiritually reborn. In John 3:7-8, He says: ” Marvel not that I said unto thee, Ye must be born again. The wind bloweth where it listeth, and thou hearest the sound thereof, but canst not tell whence it cometh, and whither it goeth: SO IS EVERY ONE THAT IS BORN OF THE SPIRIT.”

    What a great example you and Terri are about moving where the Spirit directs you, and the great blessings that flow from such obedience.

    This is my desire; to obey every time the Spirit prompts, and to be an instrument in His hands to bless the lives of others. Thanks for sharing this with us. Brother C.

    Like

    • I also remember some little angels “blowing” into my home and leaving many blessings as prompted by the Spirit. You are a creature of the Spirit, and your desire is already coming to pass. Nobody is perfect, but some just try harder – like yourself and your family.

      JMP

      Like

  7. ken h says:

    This reminds me of the work of angels unseen that you John spoke about many times. Some of the choicest spirits have truly been saved to come to earth at this time to be the warriors of truth that you found in Denver. All over the globe precious souls are going through similar experiences that none of us know about for the Lord truly works in mysterious ways. Armies of heavenly beings are preparing, guiding and blessing so many people for their pre-chosen earthly missions that lie ahead of them. For us here, we need to develop eyes that see and hearts to receive the love and hard work that these emissaries from God are trying bless us with to prepare us for the challenges that await each of us as we draw closer to the day of the call to build Zion. Amazing things are happening behind the scenes that if we could see and understand fully would be overwhelming indeed. Thank you again John for sharing what the Lord has blessed you with to share with us here.

    Like

  8. Flash says:

    Thank you, Brother John. I love hearing stories of faith and power, and always feel inspired by them. Bless you for your gift to us in making such testimonies and examples available.

    Bless you too, “Mike,” wherever you are. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  9. James says:

    It’s wonderful when ignorance is not only bliss, but faithful! Love to hear how the Spirit works in the lives of the saints. Go Mike and have no fear. Let your light shine forth and glorify your Father which is in Heaven!

    Like

  10. Brian Bowler says:

    Bro John,
    Thank you for your experience in Colorado. We were led to Western Colorado,and its been a wonderful blessing. The last few years I have seen visions, and dreamed many dreams. I feel prompted at times to share, and other times I am cautioned to hold my tongue.
    I am glad miracles, visions, dreams, promptings, and the Lord is not just active, but very available in these latter days. I would not know how to live without the continued guidance of the Spirit. I still seem to make mistakes or at times I am slow to head the Lord, but overall my confidence in His love has grown considerably.
    Thank you for your witness. I believe we all should share our experiences with the Spirit, that all may be edified.
    Brian

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

