Poll – UnBlog Family Reunion


Many of you have suggested we organize a gathering where members of the UnBlog can meet one another in person. It would probably consist of a Friday afternoon workshop of guest speakers on spiritual and latter-day topics, and a “Meet and Mingle” event that evening. I believe Spencer would agree to come speak to us about the book I just wrote for him. Then, there would be a fireside Saturday evening where I would speak.

What do you think?

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Poll – UnBlog Family Reunion

  1. Bryan D says:

    Bro John,
    As I commented earlier, I would really love to be able to attend a meeting like this. To be able to meet with others who understand as I do and to be able to be more open about gospel truths. To be able to hear and be taught by those who know more than I do and are allowed to speak more freely would be amazing. I hope it can happen. But, this must be a burden for you and I am sure you can feel the great desire of all of us for this to happen. As I was reflecting about how great this kind of meeting would be, a thought accured me, we are all able to have this kind of meeting. It’s in all of our grasps to have amazing meetings. If we take those steps that lead us back to the Savior, we can have all kind of meetings. We can enjoy the company and the opportunity to be taught by administering angels. We can become part of the church of the first born and attend those meetings. Thank you for taking the time to share all these great truths with us. I would not have had this kind of a thought two years ago. Your books, essays and blog (I spelt it correct!) Have been a great blessing in my and my families life.

    Bryan

    Like

  2. Kevin says:

    Doing it around General Conference (Oct or Apr) would be great for those of us out of state.

    Like

  3. Jared says:

    I would love to come, but it will require a very real miracle to make it possible coming from Oklahoma. I would like to hear Pontius, Spencer, and Snuffer. Oh, and President Monson too.

    Like

  4. James says:

    We’d love to make the trip and meet people. Aug 17-18 could likely work, however, a week later would be better. We’re in that stage of life between kids and callings the summer seems like, ‘here-a-camp, there-a-camp, every-week-a-camp-camp’, but late Aug is best.

    Like

  5. Bryan D says:

    Bro John
    I would love to attend. I have been following your blot for almost a year now. It would be more than amazing to meet the members of the blot and attend the discussions.

    Bryand

    Like

  6. Ryan says:

    That’s great to hear!
    Thanks!

    Ryan

    Like

  7. Ryan says:

    Mr. Pontius did you mention that you just wrote a book for Spencer? What is the name? Where can I buy a copy?

    Thank you!

    Ryan.

    P.S.
    I would be interested in a meet and great but we have our 4th child due to be born about mid August. (:

    Like

  8. Kathy says:

    I am planning our Utah vacation right now. There are many logistical challenges but we will include this in our prayers as a desire in our hearts.To us it would feel very much like a pre-Celestial gathering.

    Like

  9. Christie says:

    August 17-18 works great for me. I’d love to come.

    Like

  10. Victoria M says:

    Just to clarify….what city would this be held in?

    Like

  11. Elder Stroud says:

    Please record the event for your brothers and sisters in the un-blogosphere here in the Philippines. I was traveling the other day to visit a branch far to the north of where we live, and took the 1st counselor in the District Presidency with us. After a few minutes he said, “Aren’t we going to listen to Brother Pontius while we travel?” We appreciate you Brother John for the marvelous outpouring of knowledge you have shared with us all. Everyone here listens to the firesides, and reads each and every blog and comment. God Bless you and all of our UnBlogmysoul family.
    Elder Stroud

    Like

  12. Betsy says:

    What a wonderful opportunity. I will plan on coming. Thank you , Brother John.

    Like

  13. darrell brashear says:

    I would love to attend! Unfortunately, I used up just about all of my vacation days when my mom was in the hospital. I do believe however that nothing is impossible for the Lord; if He wants us there we’ll be there. We love you guys and I’m certain if I could meet more members of the unblog I would feel a great love for many more. I already have felt a great kinship with a number of the unblog members from the comments I have read.

    Brother D.

    Like

  14. Rusty says:

    My husband and I are planning to be down in Salt Lake that weekend. I would LOVE to attend. Keep us informed of the progress. I do think a web broadcast of some sort would be great for those in the outer reaches to be able to watch. Or a video that you put up on your website afterward. Great idea!

    Like

  15. Brent says:

    I am too far east. If you held one near D.C. I would be in attendance for sure.

    Like

  16. Terese Hansen says:

    That would be wonderful. August would be great too!

    Like

  17. LDS Grandma says:

    What a great idea. I’d be there in a heart beat. But, August won’t work for me.

    Like

  18. light gatherer says:

    Would love to come. I have a daughter getting married mid August. Could you record any of the sessions? If you do it then I will certainly be there in spirit!

    Like

  19. Victoria Moore says:

    Brother John
    We will be traveling from Pennsylvania to Provo to attend the BYU Education Week of August 13-16. How about considering August 10-11 (Friday and Saturday) as a prelude to Education Week? What a spirit filled week that would be!!!

    Victoria Moore

    Like

  20. Marion D says:

    I would love to come to this if there is any way possible.

    Like

  21. Ray C. says:

    Sounds intereting

    Like

  22. Jeremy says:

    Anyway for this to be attended ‘virtually’? Like a web broadcast? I can only imagine the costs for someone like myself (Alaska) needing to travel a far distance, find a place to stay (no friends/family in area), etc.
    I would imagine there are probably others in a similar circumstance. I for one would be willing to put money towards getting this out to all who want to partake. Maybe those who would have to put a lot of resources into this can instead combine a smaller amount $ to get the talks/presentations recorded (audio and/or video)?

    These are just ideas. I would very much like to ‘meet’ individuals who are experiencing this journey that I am on or who have already taken the steps down the path. How much their insight and encouragement would be of worth!

    Brother John, at the time I write this you are the focal point. Maybe that changes…either way, please work to make something like this come together…of course according to HIS will.

    Like

    • This is a fairly new idea. I’m mostly trying to see what the interest level is to determine what type of facility we will need. I am forming a “Steering Committee” to see what is possible to do with the resources we have. I will keep the UnBlog informed.

      I just moved from Wasilla, Alaska.

      Like

  23. Mila says:

    We are in San Diego. We’ll do our very best to be there! The only problem is to wait for so long. :))

    Mila

    Like

  24. Donald says:

    My wife and I would love to attend. We feel fortunate to live so close.

    Like

  25. K-Jo says:

    that would be great! Just hope it is on a day that I can come 🙂

    Like

  26. FJC says:

    Name the time and place!

    Like

  27. Heather V. says:

    It’s a bit of a trip, but I think I could come. Would anyone from MN want to travel together?

    Like

    • You know, Heather, if (it is still an IF) we go ahead with this, I think one of the things we will try to set up is a car pool page on a website just for folks who are needing or offering rides.

      Like

  28. Denise says:

    You don’t need to post this, but July 21 would be perfect for us. We are in Texas but will be in UT for a family reunion the following week. Otherwise we are probably out. Put out the positive vibe for us too!

    Like

  29. ken h says:

    I wish I could go to Utah to attend but that is not possible for me now. The idea is wonderful. I hope it happens soon.

    Like

  30. Marc says:

    I’ll be the first to say that this would be amazing. 🙂

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

