Glimpses of Things to Come


Darrell B. sent me this letter. I thought it was wonderful and asked for permission to share it with the UnBlog.

Dear John,
There are some things I have experienced lately that I wanted to share with you. The scripture in the thirteenth chapter of Matthew has come to my mind a lot lately. The scripture reads, “Again, the kingdom of heaven is like unto treasure hid in a field; the which when a man hath found, he hideth, and for joy thereof goeth and selleth all that he hath, and buyeth that field. Again, the kingdom of heaven is like unto a merchant man, seeking goodly pearls: Who, when he had found one pearl of great price, went and sold all that he had, and bought it”. (Matthew 13:44-46)
I was pondering over this scripture the other night when the Spirit reminded me of an event that occurred in my life many years ago: In the year 1991 when I was in my senior year of high school we moved to Tennessee. The move had taken some time and my brother Cheyenne and I had missed a lot of schooling. When we finally went to register for school in Tennessee, the school board determined that we had missed too much school and that we could not catch up so they suggested that we go to a special school where we could earn the remainder of our credits at our own pace.
This school that we went to was very unique in a number of ways: We didn’t have homework, each day we just took up where we left off the day before. We could stay at school as long as we wanted, whether it be 30 minutes a day or 12 hours a day. At first, my brother and I didn’t take our schooling very seriously; we would go to school for 30 minutes to an hour each day. It just didn’t seem all that important to us, and we loved all the free time to do whatever we wanted.
On New Years Eve in that same year of 1991, my mom announced to my brother and I that we were going to make a trip to New Jersey to visit our sister Jackie. This news excited us greatly because the last time we had seen our sister Jackie was in the year 1978 when she came out to visit us in New Mexico. At the time, Cheyenne and I were 5 years old and our sister seemed amazing: she was beautiful, fun to be around, and always loved spending time with us. Her visit left a permanent impact on us. Year after year we yearned to see her again, so you can imagine how excited we were to hear that we would be going to see her again.
Our visit lasted about a month, and it was like being in a dream. Jackie had lost none of that magic she had when we were kids. Our visit with her and her daughters was the greatest high point up to that point in our lives. Mom decided that she would remain in New Jersey with Jackie and her family, but Cheyenne and I had to return to Tennessee to finish our schooling. The day we left New Jersey was one of the most painful days of my life.
In the days that followed, I missed my mom, my sister Jackie, and my nieces Stephanie, Katrina, and April so much that I felt that a part of me was dead. The emptiness and sorrow felt overwhelming; however, some days after our return to Tennessee my sister Jackie called us and told us that she wanted us to move up there with her as soon as we finished our schooling. At that moment, our schooling took on a whole new meaning to us. It seemed to us to be a gateway to our return to New Jersey. We couldn’t get enough of schooling. We would arrive at school as soon as it opened and stay until it closed at 8:00 p.m. at night. No sacrifice seemed too great. The more school work we could do the better we felt. It actually felt like a great relief.
The weekend of our graduation was one of the greatest times of my life. Mom and Jackie came to get us and to celebrate our graduation with the rest of the family here in Tennessee. A big cake was made for us by one of our cousins, and our great-aunt made a wonderful celebration dinner. It was also during that weekend that we had the Melchizedek Priesthood conferred upon us.
I mention this story because the Spirit told me the other night that that experience was a type and a shadow in my life. I had an impression that Heavenly Father will give me glimpses of the things He has in store for me just like I had a taste of how wonderful things were when I visited my sister. Having that vision or taste is what enabled me to make the sacrifice to devote so much time and attention to my schooling so that I could finally receive those things I had hoped for.
Likening this experience to my spiritual journey has prompted me to ask for a blessing: I want Him to plant in me a vision or taste of those things He has in store for me to the degree that I will be willing and desirous to make any sacrifice to obtain it, and just as I needed to be near my sister and her family again and was willing even yearning to do what it took to get back, so I want to need my Saviour to the degree that no amount of sacrifice will seem too great, that I might even view the sacrifice as a gateway to Him, just as I viewed my schooling as the gateway to my family.
The blessing of having that yearning so strong that one would be enabled to sacrifice anything seems like a blessing almost too good to be true, and yet I feel certain the Spirit planted that in my heart. As a fellow seeker, does that sound like wishful thinking, or does it sound like He’s leading me in that direction?
Sincerely, Brother Darrell B.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Glimpses of Things to Come

  1. cheyenne brashear says:

    It is my belief that the Savior greatly desires to bless us and longs to show us “great views of things to come” as often as we are able to see them.

    It is my personal testimony that the greatest thing He can show us is His great love for us. When I came to know how precious I am to the Lord no matter what I did or didn’t do and I stopped believing the lies that satan tried to tell me about God and myself, I found that there is nothing greater than this love and my life began to change immediately.

    This love in my life erases fear and guilt and replaces them with peace and contentment. Sin loses its power and hold on us when we come to know the love of God. The scriptures say that this love is more desireable than all things (including sin and all of satan’s supposed gifts).

    The scriptures promise us that we can grow in the knowledge of the glory of God, or in other words we can grow in a knowledge of His goodness and of His love (see Mosiah 4:11-12).

    This is my desire for myself and all my brothers and sisters: that we can learn and obtain more and more of this love until we are willing and desirous to sacrifice all things for him that loves us, so that we can come to know and see Him as He really is. Brother C.

    Like

  2. ken h says:

    Dear Brother Darrell B.,
    Thank you for your wonderful story. My prayer for you is that your righteous desire to understand more clearly what Our Savior has in store for you will be realized. Understanding the eternal truths concerning our own personal existence in relation to Christ is a yearning that everyone that I have read here at the Unblog desires. It is to me, the very essence of the Unblog. I testify that we do receive according to our desires. May God Almighty above fill you and every one of us who sincerely seek the truth concerning our eternal selves be given all that the Father, through the Holy Spirit, desires to share. Please keep us posted as the Spirit directs.

    Like

  3. you says:

    I have another thought (post idea). About a year ago I was woke up from a dream and the thought was “you are not prepared”. Again I was awakened as I went to nurse my baby and the thought or impression on my mind was “you are not prepared” but I still couldn’t remember my dream. By the next morning I remembered the dream vividly and again “you are not prepared” was impressed upon my mind. I was out in a field of somesort and all of a sudden I heard rushing water coming. (I then thought it was a tsunami, but have now realized the symbolism of it). My husband looked at me and he said “let’s go now!” Many of us stopped what we were doing and proceeded to leave immediatly. We knew the Lord was coming and we all got in our vehicles to leave, though we didn’t panic or ever say a word to each other. I remember vividly scooping up a child sitting on the ground as we ran to our car. That is all I remember and then a few weeks later I read your post (can’t remember what it was called) where Spencer talks about us being called by name in our minds/hearts and some of us were to stop and pick up children on the way. It hit me I had had my own version of this dream. The Lord has allowed me to ponder and learn about dreams this past year, but what I find interesting is as I talk to close friends abou this experience, many of them have had a version of the same dream. Many have actually then seen the heavens open and the Lord is in the clouds. I think this could be a glimpse of things to come…..I also believe that if all things are created spiritually before physically, maybe this is the spiritual glimpse we need to carry us through the physical challenges ahead. Obviously the point of my dream was to warn me that I was not prepared and I pray daily to find out what else I can do. The comments from last unblog helped me realize that it was more spiritually than physically unpreparedness and I have grown in many many ways this last year spiritually. I guess I’d love to hear if other’s have also had these sorts of dreams as a glimpse.

    Like

  4. Rusty says:

    Darrell – I understand just what you mean, though I didn’t have a similar experience when I was young. I get a “taste” once in a while of the “sweet fruit” of what our lives were like and can be, again, with our Heavenly Father and our Savior, and it is a wonderful feeling. It inspires me and makes me try even harder, but it is fleeting. It doesn’t last and in between those tastes, it gets harder, again, to keep up the same level of intensity of my obedience. I do think that I’m stair-stepping closer to where I need to be.
    I don’t think there’s anything wrong with asking for such an experience, since you have had the “type and shadow” already occur in your life. You may not get it right away, so be prepared for that possibility.
    All the best! Rusty

    Like

  5. you says:

    What a great post. What I feel is happening is that we have had just a few glimpses of Zion with Spencers’ account. I think that when we do finally get the full account from him it will give us a taste of things to come that we will want to give everything to have it. Otherwise though we will have the Spirit to guide us, we may second guess ourselves or wonder if we truly are heading in the right direction. We have a little taste of Zion and also a glimpse of the trials that await us, we can better prepare. By the way I’d love a post on preparedness. I feel like I’m prepared, but would also like some ideas and comments.

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

