Repose in Him My Trust


I was just playing hymns on the piano and stopped to read the words. I can’t imagine having sung this song so many times without actually hearing the inspired message.

I wander through the still of night

When solitude is everywhere.

Alone, beneath the starry light,

And yet I know that God is there.

I kneel upon the grass to pray;

An answer comes without a voice.

It takes my burden all away.

And makes my aching heart rejoice.

When I am filled with strong desire

And ask a boon of Him, I see

No miracle of living fire,

But what I ask flows into me.

And when the tempest rages high

I feel no arm around me thrust,

But every storm goes rolling by

When I repose in Him my trust.

Theodore E. Curtis, 1872-1957

Hymns 114

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Repose in Him My Trust

  1. Tina R. says:

    This takes away nothing from the beauty and meaning of the words to this hymn, but they were written by Theodore E. Curtis, 1872-1957. Thomas Moore, 1779-1852, wrote the words to the first 2 verses of Hymn 115, Come, Ye Disconsolate, which is one of my favorite. Now that Brother John has highlighted the inspired message of Hymn 114, I’ll memorize those words and take comfort in them when they come to mind during times of stress and trial. I think good music is one of God’s kindest gifts to us.

    Like

  2. vickie says:

    I have led music for years and never caught the essence of the meaning of the hymn on page 114. Thank you for passing it along. The words are very beautiful, I agree.

    Like

  3. cheyenne brashear says:

    I didn’t know there were other unblog family members living in Tennessee. My family and I live in the Morristown area, which is in the northeastern part of the state. God bless you Judy. Brother C.

    Like

  4. Judy says:

    One of my favorites.
    In our small branch here in the hills of Tennessee, they refuse to sing any hymn they don’t know. When we moved in they were singing “I Stand All Amazed” and “Welcome, Welcome Sabbath Morning” nearly every Sunday–until I became the Branch pianist! Still, if I happen to choose something unfamiliar, they ask me to change it.

    Like

  5. Donald says:

    It is a beautiful hymn

    [audio src="http://broadcast.lds.org/churchmusic/MP3/eng/Hymns_Words/HW___114__ComeUntoHim_31243_eng_119.mp3" /]

    Like

  6. ken h says:

    God has blessed me to write some personal hymns over the years. The Hymns of the church and other inspired songs are truly gifts from God.

    Like

  7. Kevin says:

    I love this. Thank you for sharing. I was just singing the following hymn today and also took pause as I reflected on what these words truly mean:

    http://brightcove.lds.com.edgesuite.net/assets/general-conference/2011-april/2011-04-2091-let-zion-in-her-beauty-rise-256k-eng.mp3?download=true

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

