Pleading With Father


UnBlog # 499

There are a lot of things in life that are troubling, which challenge us, and threaten us. I have always prayed about these things, and asked for relief, for blessings, for insight, sometimes for years. I have learned to have great faith in prayer, and have learned that the Lord listens and He does answer – most often in a way I was not anticipating.

My father had an element of faith in prayer that still amazes me many years after his passing. I don’t use it very often, nor did he, but it is very powerful when you do.

My dad had great faith that Father would change the weather for him. I saw it happen many times throughout my childhood. When I was a young teen we had gone to work one Saturday on the stake farm. It was a cloudy day, and as we began to work it began to rain. It was not only making the day miserable, but it would make the sugar beets spoil after they were out of the ground because mud clung to them. The brethren running the farm looked around and announced that we were going to stop. We had had an opening prayer a few minutes earlier where the weather was specifically mentioned. My Dad leaned toward me and whispered something about “they didn’t believe in the power of their own prayers”. He closed his eyes. He stood there in the field as others were trudging to their cars. I knew he was praying about the weather.

I was really hoping it would keep raining.

A few cars had pulled away as the clouds grew lighter and the rain stopped. It was still threatening, but a little patch of sunshine settled over the field. People returned and we worked all day in the sun.

Many years later Dad and Mom invited us to a picnic on July 4th at their home. I got up and it was almost a monsoon outside. I called Mom and asked if the party was still on because their house wasn’t big enough to have the party inside. She said, yes the party is still on. Your dad is outside mowing the lawn.

As we drove to their home it was raining hard. A few miles out I could see one donut hole in the dense clouds. Sun was streaming through it like the second coming. As we got closer I realized it was directly over Dad’s house, maybe a block in size. His house and those on every side were sunny. We ate, played games and were just done chatting when the first sprinkles hit our heads. We stood and gathered into the house as the deluge resumed.

I know that my Dad had unusual faith in this thing. Maybe his was a gift of the Spirit that few people have. But, I also know that he didn’t stop praying until he received an assurance that his request, his need or desire had been granted, or declined by Father. He just needed to know His will, and then he stopped praying and proceeded to act upon the outcome he had requested.

A few days ago I was stumped while setting up the UnBlog Family Reunion. We had tried and failed for months to secure a venue. All of the free venues just didn’t return our calls. The commercial venues wanted large sums and sizeable down payments as well as large insurance policies we had to procure.

I was beginning to wonder if it was going to happen at all. That evening I remembered my Dad’s faith, and just stayed on my knees, pleading.

It goes something like this: “Please Father, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please bless me to (fill in the blank). I will accept Thy will in all things, but please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please . . .

You get the idea.

Like I said, I don’t know why it works. I only know it does. Sometimes the answer is “no”, but it always works for me. It seems a little impertinent and even demanding. But, pleading, done properly, is not trying to manipulate Him, it is trying to ascertain His will, and being willing to stay on your knees until it comes. Once you have that assurance of knowing His will, then you can move forward with much greater faith.

After I had plead with Father for a time regarding the UnBlog, I received a sudden feeling of peace, not that the reunion was going to happen, but that everything was going to be as Father desired it. I was done. I had my answer. He was in charge.

The very next day things changed. People contacted me offering valuable financial help which made the UVU venue possible for us. We made an appointment to go walk through it, and found it to be perfect. A few days after my pleading prayer, a small feeling of peace, and a willingness to let it mean anything Father intended, the UnBlog Family Reunion was suddenly fully on track.

I’m writing this UnBlog to praise Father, and to thank Him for this answer, and to share with you a somewhat surprisingly powerful form of prayer. I think of it as The Big Guns – to be used when a rifle just isn’t enough.

Brother John

© July 2012, John M. Pontius, all rights reserved. Non-commercial reproduction permitted.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Pleading With Father

  1. Jeannette says:

    I, like your father, have had many prayers answer after much time on my knees and much pleading – I’m a huge believer in miracles through the power of prayer. Can’t wait for the reunion. I’m bringing my husband some of our kids are interested too. Our oldest daughter signed up last week.

    Like

  2. pgs says:

    All I can say is “Thank you” to you John for the hint, and to Father for a very long awaited, miraculous answer. My heart if filled with gratitude.

    Like

  3. jodeemaas says:

    Thank you John for sharing this.

    Like

  4. Joy says:

    Please, please, please make following the light available for Kindle! I seriously need it in my library but have promised no more paper books. Thank you.

    Like

  5. Joy says:

    My father was not a member of the church, but was a faithful church goer and tithe payer all his life. In all the years we owned the farm in Kansas, we never had a hail storm that totally took out our wheat crop even though a field right over the barbed wire fence was in total ruin. There are many prayers, many tithes and offerings and much faithful living that contributes to miracles great and small.

    Like

  6. Charlotte says:

    Thanks Bro. John for this blog, and everyone for your comments. I needed this SO BAD.

    Like

  7. Tom B says:

    Brother John, as I read your blog today I was reminded of a lesson I learned from my choir director, Sis. Merrilee Webb. She had been taught that the Lord answeres our prayers in one of 3 ways, “Yes”, “Not Yet” or “I have something better in mind for you”.

    Like

  8. Chris says:

    This is a powerful message and example. Thank you. I’ve learned something.

    Chris

    Like

  9. Janet Owens says:

    Loved this blog. I know He hears our prayers. The “pleases” are a yearning of the heart.

    Like

  10. Annalea says:

    Brother John, I absolutely love this post. lol It’s one of those times when an incredibly powerful, deep, true principle is also one that joyfully fills my heart to overflowing. ( . . . please please please please . . . ) It reminds me of the story when Pres. Kimball, being wheeled along in his wheelchair by a bodyguard, suddenly began to chuckle. The bodyguard asked him what was so funny, and he replied “God just told me a joke.” God’s jokes are joyously funny, not derogatorily so. And this post gave me exactly that feeling.

    This kind of prayer is something that I will remember, and use when I really need it. Thank you so much!

    Like

  11. darrell brashear says:

    I can add to that praying about the weather thing. Many of the states are currently in severe drought and Tennessee was no exception. We were having 100 to 105 degree days with weeks of no rain. People’s crops were dying and even the power companies were having trouble supplying enough power because of the power overload with people trying to keep cool.

    I have a habit of taking an evening break at work right around sunset. Every day at that time I go outside and talk to my Heavenly Father. Looking out over the countryside while I’m praying seems to add power to my prayers.

    Since the weather had become so severe, I had been praying everyday for rain, but I also asked for His will to be done. As I looked out across the parched land I actually felt a sorrow for the earth itself (I know that’s strange).

    Since that time it has rained almost every day for the last week and a half. I’m sure I wasn’t the only one praying for rain, but He answered my prayers nonetheless.

    I think of that part in your book “The Triumph of Zion” where it states that we limit ourselves, or in other words, we limit what He can do for us because of our lack of belief. I think of that scripture on charity in 1 Corinthians where it says that charity believes all things. To me that means that as a person comes to know the love of God, they come to believe that all things are possible, that He will grant us all things according to His will if we seek, ask, and knock.
    Brother D.

    Like

    • Annalea says:

      Brother D., I understand so well the feeling you had, sorrowing for the earth. I remember a time, flying home from college for break, and looking out over the incredible expanse of desert . . . completely devoid of any signs of life–not a tree or spot of sagebrush in sight. I thought of what those lands might look like verdant and lush, teeming with the incredible diversity of life that clothed so many other parts of the earth, and I though of how the earth herself must ache for those places, so barren and desolate, wanting them to be glorious and beautiful as well. I look forward to the time when we can feel more clearly the intelligence of the earth, even understand her.

      So, while your feeling isn’t usual, I wouldn’t call it strange at all. I think a closeness with the earth is something that every one of us would be blessed to feel in our lives.

      Like

      • darrell brashear says:

        Thank you for your comment Annalea 🙂 I enjoyed it. It seems to me that nature is one of those things our Father and our Savior have given us to reveal thier love, indeed, I think it reveals the love of the earth itself for the children of God.

        Like

  12. Mila says:

    Heavenly Father is so kind and generous with us! I loved the “Big Guns” metaphor. 🙂

    Like

  13. ken h says:

    We will all need to know how to use “big guns” (Spiritual artillery in prayer) in the years to come. Heavenly Father knows all and will take us to the firing range many times before then. Lock and load! Thanks John.

    Like

  14. Kathleen Balzen says:

    I too have had experiences of this “nature”. I am going through some very difficult times, and each day I “walk and talk” with God. On a particually trying day I needed my Spiritual walk but the wind was howling and suddenly it started pouring rain. I walked out the door and prayed, asking the rain and the wind to cease. Immediately, litterally, the wind and rain stopped and i proceeded on a very Spiritual walk for 30 min. When I was nearly home, the winds returned, the rain returned and the Lord told me “this was for you”. A feeling of peace and love from the Father came over me, and I knew I could endure the trials I am going through , and will yet go through. I know the Savior is right by my side and “all shall be well”!

    Like

  15. Kirk says:

    It reminds me of the Lords great instructional prayer of “on earth as it is in heaven”

    That we may be seeking to do his will on earth as “IT IS” obviously done in heaven is the beautiful part of this post. Essentially if we are truly seeking this are we not seeking Zion? For when we finally begin to do this exact thing would we not then find ourselves in Zion?
    Beautiful post. Thank you.

    Like

  16. Brent says:

    John,

    I am personally surprised you were allowed to share the weather thing. God is glorious.

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

