Making Sense of it All


UnBlog # 522

I had the privilege of giving a fireside last Sunday Evening. It was a great blessing. I have done far fewer of them this year because of my health, so this was a sweet experience. After each fireside I listen to people’s questions about their own journey. It seems a human quality to want to make sense of our lives by use of logic. Unfortunately, logic is poorly equipped to make sense of spiritual things because God’s ways are much higher than our own, and His law is light and truth, not logic as we can define it.

Especially in spiritual things, we want to know the formula, the rules of the road, the laws, bylaws and fine print that governs spiritual blessings. I suppose our hope is that if we can learn all of the requirements, we can check them off one-by-one and then the blessing will manifest. Or, perhaps we are trying to make sense of why we checked off every box we understood, and the blessing is still somewhere before us.

One of the things that I love about the gospel of Jesus Christ is that it is extremely custom made for each seeker. There are undergirding principles, ordinances and requirements that are common to every journey, but when you go beyond those few things, there really are very few “rules” one can write down and check off. The process is very simply to “come unto Christ, and be perfected in Him.” That purifying and perfecting process will assuredly take as many different forms as there are people seeking it.

This doesn’t mean that we are left without a clear guide as we step off of the known and seeable launching pad. It means that if we have correctly prepared to step off, that we have already taken Christ as our guide, that we have attuned our spiritual ears to His voice, and that we are willing to do anything he asks us to do. Here is the great safety of coming unto Christ, that we are not following a set of rules, but a living, loving, enabling and atoning Christ whose work and glory it is to see that we actually arrive there. Our exaltation isn’t a work He is doing, it is the work He is engaged in. He isn’t doing anything else.

Now, here is the hard part, it is that we must let go of the handrails and the training wheels of the launch pad, and trust Christ to lead us there with complete safety and in the highest definition of efficiency. This is a big “if”, but one should never leave home without it – if we have taken the Holy Spirit to be our guide, then we can replace every question with the assurance of faith. We do not need to know why in every instance, we only need to know that it is His will. This is not blind obedience, this is obedience with our eyes open wide with wonder and acceptance, delighting in the eternal vistas that are opening before us.

Unlike some fictional deities, our God is a God of truth, and does not deceive or trick us. It is impossible for someone to take the Holy Spirit as their guide, firmly maintain their grip upon that iron rod, and then to end up anywhere else than at exaltation in the fullest eternal sense, and with multitude blessings, miracles, manifestations, visitations, powers, protections and blessings all along the journey there.

In this we can have absolute faith, even as it makes sense of everything that happens along the way. It makes sense because faith and inspired trust overcomes fear and doubt. The Holy Spirit whispers peace and makes of our lives a direct course seen most clearly in revelatory flashes and inspired hindsight, but straight and true nonetheless.

Brother John

© September 2012, John M. Pontius, all rights reserved. Non-commercial reproduction permitted.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Making Sense of it All

  1. Roberta says:

    John: I shared the book you shared the Drft of -Spencer’s Book! Well, I am on my third read, and last night a friend called me I had shared it with, then another called and we discussed how this book has affected our lives. We want “Spencer” to know that it has affected us all in such a positve way that it is changing the way we think, the knowledge that just comes to us so natural, understanding of different thoughts that we have thought about a long time. So many things. It’s hard to explain, but a wonderful experience. R. B.

    Like

  2. Regina says:

    Thank you Brother John. You are such a great example to me (and family). I have greater hope that someday I just might make it to the Celestial Kingdom, in part, because of your inspired words of wisdom.

    Like

  3. Matthew says:

    The timing of this is perfect as I have been recently arriving at the same conclusion in my own journey. No matter how many stories I read of others’ spiritual experiences (rebirth, etc.), I’m finding my path to be unique, while still having enough overarching similarities to see that the end result of all such processes is the same: “transformation of man from his fallen and carnal state to a state of saintliness … quickened and changed by the power of the Holy Ghost.” (Bruce R. McConkie)

    Like

  4. A.J. says:

    John, I attended your Reunion in September and have been thinking about a comment you made. It appears that I am the only one who heard it, as I can’t seem to get a confirmation from those whom I know who were also in attendance. I have been waiting for the audio to post so that I could double check, but being the flawed individual I am have grown impatient. That being said I have decided to ask you directly: did you say something along the lines of “your current gender, if I may be so bold” or did I mishear? If so what was the original statement and if not would you mind taking a minute to elaborate?
    Thanks!
    AJ

    Like

    • I did say that, and immediately thought someone will misunderstand, but then the Spirit moved on and I didn’t correct it. Gender doesn’t change. I meant to say, “regardless of your gender.” Sorry for the misunderstanding.

      Like

  5. darrell brashear says:

    I think it is a comforting thing that His guidance is taylored to each of us individually.

    There is a scripture in 2 Nephi 31:3 that reads, ” For my soul delighteth in plainness; for after this manner doth the Lord God work among the children of men. For the Lord God giveth light unto the undestanding; for he speaketh unto men according to their language, unto their understanding.”

    I believe that scripture applies to each of us individually. He speaks to each of us personally in a way we can understand and He leads each of us individually.

    Like

  6. Vickie Lynne says:

    I am still waiting for the audio on the Sept. 1 blog family reunion. How is that coming? And is Spencer’s book still scheduled to come out the first of Dec.? Where can we access it?

    Like

  7. Kevin says:

    John, that was a great post! I feel like that is how my life is, always trying to check things off my list so that I can climb another rung on the ladder. I think you’re absolutely right that the Savior has a custom plan for each one of us.
    Will the fireside be posted on followingthelight? They are all so helpful!
    Any updates on the reunion recording? I would love to listen to that as well.
    Thanks for all you do!

    Like

  8. redrocksuz says:

    I enjoy following your blog, and was especially touched by the comments you wrote for today. I feel as though they were written for me. The teachings you shared added another dimension of understanding to my personal journey of learning to walk by faith. I have an independent nature, and way too often, I have bullheadedly charged ahead, making a really big mess of my life. Here I am, nearly 70 years old, and finally realizing I can do NOTHING on my own. I am just now beginning to understand what it means to trust in and rely on our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

    Like

  9. Roberta says:

    Thank you so much for your Inspirational thoughts and for Journey to Zion draft. Roberta B.

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

