40 Days of Prayer


I have received several “forwarded” emails about a national 40 days of prayer for our country. It is asking that we pray for a minimum of one minute twice a day for our country that God will pour out His spirit upon this nation, and upon the people as we engage in what might be the most important election the  USA has ever held. I am writing to tell you that I have decided to participate. I’m not going to forward everyone the email, or enter into a political discussion on the UnBlog. So, please don’t wax political in your comments. I just wanted to invite you, my friends of faith, to join your prayers with hopefully a few million others who still believe God is in charge.

I must say that I feel a great weight bearing down upon us this November. We have to get this one right.

I received all of the recordings for the UnBlog Reunion today and they sound great. I’ll work on getting them posted as soon as I can. I’ll let you know when they’re up and ready. I can’t put Kenneth Cope’s performance on the internet because of copyright issues. It’s too bad because his part of the evening was so precious and so spiritually delicious.

Terri and I have been reading and marking the latest version of Visions of Glory. Cedar  Fort is on track to have it out in November. It really looks good so far. I’m grateful it’s almost done.

I have been in the hospital these last few days. I’m home now and struggling to get my feet under me again. It keeps getting a little harder. I learned while I was in the hospital that Spencer is scheduled for surgery in November as well. We could both use an interest in your prayers.

God Bless,

Brother John

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 40 Days of Prayer

  1. Jen Memmott says:

    John:

    I am honored to join you in prayer for this election and our nation. I have been praying about this for many months, actually. I am so concerned about your health and will be praying for your well being and for a great healing to come upon you. I will keep Spencer in my prayers as well.

    Much love coming your way, Jeannette Memmott

    Like

  2. Jeannette says:

    You are in my prayers, Spencer is also, and I have been praying about this election and for our nation for a long time. I am honored to join many friends in prayer on your behalf, Spencer’s behalf and this great nation. Much love going out to you and your family, Jeannette Memmott (p.s. I listened to the reunion recording and LOVED IT!

    Like

  3. kim says:

    You and your wife are in my prayers. Thank you for sharing your life and your pure testimony of truths. By doing so, you have blessed my life. I pray that you may be filled with peace. The peace that only can come from “the prince of peace” himself. After the recent passing of my son and husband, I have truly felt his peace. May this also be a gift to you and your wife. May you be surrounded by the love of your family and friends to lift and carry you.

    Like

  4. Elder Stroud says:

    We will pray for you daily brother. Thank you so much for all that you have done.
    Elder & Sister Stroud

    Like

  5. Chuck says:

    Thank you for your encouragement. Since the debate I have recognized even more who is in charge of this world. Tender mercies come often. Most of our married children went with us to the reunion. Thanks for the recording also. Life is so much better when we have “like-minded” individuals running our country. My 40 days will consist of faith that God loves us and I will be involved in more than just voting. My fast consists of no food (or sweets) after 8 pm.

    Like

  6. carol says:

    I believe we as a country and a people have been in trouble for a while…and it is now, those of us who still believe our country is guided and protected by God..to gather and pray for what we know is truely pressing down on us..we should not only pray but invite those around us also to pray for America and this coming election..Our prays are with you brother John as they are with all of our brothers and sisters of faith and beyond..we are thankful for the inspiration and guidance of the Gospel of Jesus Christ..

    Like

  7. Mila says:

    Praying for you Brother John, for dear Spencer and for the country. I am begging and pleading for one more chance for all of us to repent, to unite, to obey, to love and worship our God. May the people see the truth in the light of day and choose freedom.

    Like

  8. kenh says:

    I agree we need to pray even more deeply for our nation now then ever before. God does answer the prayers of the righteous in His own way. Looking forward to the recordings and especially the book. God bless both of you John and Spencer.

    Like

  9. Charlotte says:

    Brother John, thanks for the 40 days of prayer memo. When is Spencer’s book out? what is the titile? please. thank you.

    Like

    • “Visions of Glory” should be out early in November.

      Like

      • Robin Carlson says:

        Bro John and Charlotte:
        Was browsing http://www.cedarfort.com recently and rather idly clicked their “New Releases” section. Imagine my surprise as I scrolled down pg 1 and then
        pg 2 to see “Visions of Glory……” in the #16 spot.
        If I understood the listing correctly it looks like advance orders are being accepted and will be shipped when the November release date rolls around.
        I will add that there is a phone number listed in their now static site:
        http://www.classic.cedarfort.com which still works and arrangements can be made
        for non-Web orders, payments, and shipping.
        Am so anticipating both book and UnBlog tapes.
        So sorry to hear of more health challenges for both you and Spencer. I will
        definitely remember both of you in my prayers.
        God bless,
        Thanks,
        Robin

        Like

  10. Rob says:

    God bless America, John and Spencer.

    Like

  11. darrell brashear says:

    I’m sorry to hear you were in the hospital John. My prayers are with you.
    brother D.

    Like

  12. Mike anderson says:

    I, my family and friends are with you, we each feel the importance of this election and trust that the Lord’s will will be manifest. Soon we will know how far we as a country have fallen, or that there is still time for us to remember and repent.
    May God bless you brother John, please don’t leave us yet!
    Mike

    Like

  13. Gayle says:

    My prayers are with you and Spencer in gratitude for the wonderful things that you have taught me and the hope you have reawakened in me, as well as for your health and well-being. God bless you Brother John

    Like

  14. Jared says:

    Both of you always have an interest in our prayers, I assure you. Please pray for us too. Since the unblog reunion, the “testing” has been very severe.

    Like

  15. Rusty says:

    Thank you for all you do for us, Brother John. You and Spencer (God will know about whom I’m praying, won’t He?) will be in my prayers.
    I’m also doing the 40 day fast and prayer thing. I started last week. I’m fasting 40 days from sweets and from a mental habit that I need to break (sort of like Lent). I am also actually fasting every Sunday before the election. I am so concerned about this country, but I have faith that God will hear and answer our prayers. I don’t know HOW He will answer them, but there are many, many people turning to Him. This is important! I, too, have felt a growing weight/urgency as we have approached this election. I think we have to show which side we are on, this time.

    Like

  16. Brett says:

    “We have to get this one right.”

    Do we? I watched both the GOP convention and the DNC convention and I started to worry that if one candidate won, the nation would be in great peril. Then had the distinct impression that no man can save us.

    What we need is not a great human leader to save us, we need to rely on God to save us. I think that regardless of which candidate wins, if we seek the Lord, we will be taken care of.

    Like

  17. Donald says:

    ah shucks John. I’m so sorry to hear about your health struggles. (and Spencer too). I will keep you in my prayers.

    -kind regards
    DKD

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

