Love and Regrets


My Dear UnBlog Friends and Family,

I regret to tell you that my health continues to take a tumble. Until I can begin to feel strong enough to get off of the pain medication, I am not going to be able to continue writing Unblogs as frequently. I am not shutting down the UnBlog, but giving myself an unavoidable rest. In the meantime, I invite you to continue to read the archives of 500+ UnBlog articles. Each of them is a part of my soul, and my life’s work in bearing testimony of the reality and profundity of the promises of our Savior in these latter days.

I have truly loved writing the UnBlog. It has had the effect I needed to complete my work, that of giving me a way to open my heart and soul so I could bear witness to the precious things I have known and seen through the Spirit of God. I began writing it because I felt compelled to record these things so that they were not lost to my posterity after my life ended. It has evolved way beyond that. I never suspected that so many people would become involved, or that it would be viewed over 350,000 times in these last two years. You have been a great blessing to me. Your words and prayers have uplifted and made these last few years possible.

During these last two years that I have been ill with chemo and other struggles, the UnBlog has given me a means of daily serving God, and of making so many lovely and precious friends among you. It also gave me a divinely appointed task that made each day spiritually significant and gave me the deep comfort that among the many other things that were not happening in my life, at least my eternal mission was not stalled, but still on course.

I consider that my life would not have been complete without these last two years of writing the UnBlog, firesides, meeting so many of you, and of meeting Spencer and writing Visions of Glory with him. Now, no matter how much longer Father leaves me in this sphere, I have completed the course. I have run the good race and fought the good fight. I have seen what lies before me, and it is far more than I could have wished for. I will be glad to move forward unhampered by a desperately ill body. But, much more, I will rejoice to see this telestial world evolve into the millennial day, and to be there with each of you.

I mentioned regrets in the title, only to remind me to say – I have no regrets. There are things I would like to have done better, or sooner, or more often. But, I would not change any event or trial or struggle that has brought me to here, to now, and to this great knowledge of things as they are.

Love and tears mix so easily. My love to you all. I leave you my everlasting confessions of love for Terri, my wife, my friend, my teacher, and my true and eternal companion. Nobody knows her sacrifices in my behalf, and probably never will. But, it is only because of her kind ministrations and spiritual strength that I have been able to make it through each day. She has lifted me each day in her arms, and in her confessions of love and spiritual unity. As much as a mortal man and a woman may, I believe we have truly become one.

I also want to confess my love for all of my children. Each of them holds a precious, irreplaceable place in my soul. Each of them has brought me love and given me an opportunity to grow. My special love and deepest apology to Jessica, whose young heart bore the heaviest burden of actually watching the day-to-day struggles.

My warmest love and eternal gratitude to you all,

John Pontius

 

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to Love and Regrets

  1. Gina says:

    John, I am so Thankful that i was directed to Unblogmysoul. Your writings have done so much for me. Thank you for sharing your Soul. Thank you John.

    Like

  2. SHB says:

    Thank you! Your writings have been a big part of my spiritual education. You are so loved by so many.

    Like

  3. Lynne S. says:

    I have had some very hard challenges come to me. I cannot adequately express my appreciation to you for how you have touched my life and helped me even though we have never met. Thank you, thank you, thank you. May the Lord bless you and keep you ( as the song goes.)

    Like

  4. Debra James says:

    OH how I miss your posts

    Like

  5. Ashley says:

    John,

    I thank you for all you have shared. And for all you have done to try and further the cause of Zion. 🙂 My thoughts and prayers are with you during this difficult time. May the Lord pour out His spirit upon you and your family and may you have health, peace, and rest.

    Like

  6. Clarice Scott says:

    John,
    I don’t know if you are checking this anymore, but I wanted to thank you. I found your books about a year and a half ago. They have changed by life. I have begun walking the path you teach of and seen the fruit of it in my life. I remember I was reading Following the light when it hit me for the first time that BF&HG is a real event, not just some vague descriptive words.
    I know the truth of what you speak. I have seen it work in my life. Thankyou John for your efforts to bring understanding to this most important subject. Someday, somewhere we will meet and I can thank you properly. Until then know you are in mine and many other hearts. We love you. And wish you the best as you enter the next phase of your journey.
    Teri, my heart goes out to you. May the Lord bless you for your behind the sceens support of John.
    Clarice

    Like

  7. MattC says:

    Thank you, Brother John.

    Like

  8. Kathy Casagranda says:

    Dear John, There are so many things to say but it comes down to saying I LOVE YOU! I wish I was there with you to say it in person and to hug you.

    Like

  9. Marla Hathcock says:

    John, I have to tell you what an inspiration you have been to me over the years. Your books have helped me through a lot hard times and I want to just say thank you. Thank you for sharing your knowledge and your uplifting Spirit with us and your books will go on for many generations to come. May God bless you and your loved ones.

    Like

  10. Justin says:

    Sending thoughts and prayers your way Brother John.

    Like

  11. Regina says:

    Dear John and Terri,
    Still prayer for you. You are such an inspiration to us all.
    Regina and Family

    Like

  12. Leo says:

    Brother John,

    I am truly grateful for your unblog and your books. You have been a true inspiration to me and a welcome guide in drawing me closer to the Savior. Thank you and I pray you may be preserved.

    Like

  13. Adrian Larsen says:

    My Beloved Brother,

    I don’t claim to know everything about how covenants in the pre-mortal life worked, but the Spirit bears witness that you have completed the one between us–as you have undoubtedly done with thousands of other readers. Thank you dear brother for finding me, reaching me, and rescuing me through the power of the words the Lord gave you.

    All the glory and honor go to He who saved us all. The tears I now shed for you are only tears of gratitude.

    We will meet again dear brother, whether in this telestial world or in Zion. I look forward to rejoicing with you then. And until then, your name will come up in remembrance before the Lord in the prayers of the thousands whom you have reached with His message.

    May His Peace be with you.

    Like

  14. Violet says:

    Hi John,

    I felt prompted to write as I am sure most all of us was.
    I was directed to your sight about a month ago from a dear friend. Inspiration from the Lord I am sure was her reason, I am impressed at what I have read. I went through a few of your unblogs over the month and like many of the others waited for the next one to come to see what new revelation awaited me.
    The Lord has blessed you with amazing gifts. One that you didn’t hide but shared with us your brothers and sisters here on earth. The Lord brought each of us to you rather directly or through your unblog; in many different ways each of us have a connection with you through the gift and power from on high. We first had that special time when we were together with Heavenly Father, and now through this wonderful technology we can unite across the globe and be here with you and each other even though many might be far away we are here connected in a way that blesses us through inspiration of what your directed/inspired to write.
    I am sorry your ill, I had no idea until I read this. I know the Lords hand is in all of our lives and he knows the hour and time for you to leave this earthly home and reunite with him , and your loved ones once again. I hope the rest of your journey here will be one that you can enjoy, that the Lord will bless you with comfort or healing to be able to enjoy those moments with friends and loved ones until your time comes.
    What a sweet reunion you shall have when that time comes for you are as Timothy.

    2 Timothy 4: 5-8

    5 But watch thou in all things, endure afflictions, do the work of an evangelist, make full proof of thy ministry.

    6 For I am now ready to be offered, and the time of my departure is at hand.

    7 I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith:

    8 Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.

    I am grateful to have found this unblog. You have done as the song asks us. Have you done any good in the world today? Have you cheered up the sad made someone feel glad.
    This you have done over and over again. I hope you are blessed with healing. Yet is it is your time soon, sorrow will fill this earth when you go, yet the Heavens will rejoice for your reunion. Tears will flow upon the earth and in Heaven. One side for sorrow the other for joy. My heart will ache for your loved ones and close friends for my beloved father left us when I was a teenager. When we mourn it is for our seperation from them. It is nice to know that though we leave this life we are not far from those on we love on earth.
    Brother Richard G Scott stated in April Conference 2012. he quoted Joseph F Smith and here is part of it “We are not separated from them…We live in there presence, they see us, they are solicitous for our welfare, they love us now more than ever……..Relationships can be strengthen through the veil with people we know and love.”
    My heart is full of thanks to have in my life the truth of this everlasting gospel. That I know and understand that Jesus Christ is my Savior and I have accepted him as my Savior each and every day.
    God Bless you in the rest of your journey. I will send my prayers with all the others to bless and comfort each of your family members and you. May God be with you and yours.

    Your eternal Sister,

    Violet

    Like

  15. Kim Gifford says:

    Brother John-

    I can’t find words for the feelings I have upon reading your post. It’s been a long sweet journey from the early days on the original FTL list to here. Your first book opened my eyes, changed my life, and your continued expressions have enlarged upon that change in intricate and profound ways.

    I am so sorry for your suffering. It pains us all to know how you’ve suffered. God bless you, John. Please know how dearly you are cared for, and how grateful we all are that you took the time, despite everything, to make sure we could share in the experiences and wisdom given to you by our Savior.
    As your father said, “It’s all true. It’s all true”.
    Thank you so much, for everything.

    With affection.
    Kim Gifford

    Like

  16. JJ says:

    This is my first time reading your blog. I only heard about you last night. I wish I could have learned about you sooner. I’ve been praying for a mentor to help me find my way to the ultimate you have described so profoundly. I’m so sorry to hear about your health problems and will pray for you. Your work is beautiful. I hope and pray you will keep your blog up so we can continue to read even after you are unable to write any more. Perhaps you could collect the blog entries into a book as well. They are all so helpful, but it would be wonderful to have the blog available for people to access. Thank you for all your work and sharing. You are a tremendous blessing. I am going to try and pace myself to read as much as possible. Take care and may God be with you.

    Like

  17. Matthew says:

    I have only been reading your writings for a couple of months, but the initial immersion has been beautiful. Thank you for all that you’ve published. I imagine I will be studying your books, blog, and talks for years to come. My sincere thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

    Like

  18. Toni says:

    Thank you for your unblog, Brother John. Thank you for sharing your insights and experiences. Thank you for so freely sharing your audio firesides. Thank you for your part in helping to enlighten and bring people to Christ.

    Love to you and Terri.

    Like

  19. John H. Schoppe says:

    John, may God continue to bless you and yours. As I know He will. Thank you for all the wonderful writings. Keep the faith! Eternal Love, your brother John.

    Like

  20. Karen Kraft says:

    Dear Brother John, I must say that I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your posts and an in the process of going back into the archives. I only found you about a year ago when one of the members of my Ward in Dallas sent me a link to your site. I am distressed to hear of your circumstances but know that when Heavenly Father calls you home, you will be greeted by many other brothers and sisters who have preceded you. If we hold fast to the iron rod, we will join you someday as we gather with Heavenly Father.

    Thank you for guidance, your insight and your love for your audience/friends/partners/brothers/sisters who have been privileged to walk this path with you, even though we didn’t know just what path we were on. We will keep you and your family in our prayers throughout whatever you still have to experience. You are loved!

    Like

  21. Cheyenne Brashear says:

    Brother John, I can’t find words adequate to express how I feel. I first discovered your book, FTL, 15 years ago. Before that time, I was hungry for truth and I knew the church was true and that it administers the gospel, I just didn’t know how to obtain those things that the gospel promises.

    Since that time, I have learned how to pray, how to worship, how to serve, and more fully how to love. The scriptures have opened up in marvelous ways. To put it shortly, the gospel has become the breath of life to me. Christ is becoming the biggest part of all I think, feel, do, and say.

    All glory and praise belongs to the Father and His Son, but how I praise Him that he has made you an instrument in His hands to bring joy to those who were seeking for more, but just didn’t know how to find it.

    My prayers go out to you, and especially to Terri for the hardships she is surely going through. I pray to meet you all again and wrap my arms around you in an environment where sorrow and death can never come. God bless you my friend. with great love, Brother C.

    Like

  22. rocky wegner says:

    Sending prayers your way, So sorry that your going through this. I just wanted to say thank-you for all the good you have done you have touched my life and so many others. Im so greatful for the senmar you put on in Orem It was so spitural and I thank-you. God bless you and your family Lots of love Virginia

    On Mon, 15 Oct 2012 03:01:50 +0000

    Like

  23. James says:

    God bless you Brother John. Your words have meant the world to me over these past 2 years. Few if any associations in my life have brought me closer to my Savior Jesus Christ than this one. I pray the Lord bless you with healing and comfort, and that He might bestow upon you and Terri, and your loved ones, That Peace that only He can give. In His name, Amen.

    Like

  24. Don says:

    Dear John, you make such a difference in so many lives, Your open, kind heart and wisdom have touched us all. I believe we are here to learn wisdom and pass that wisdom on to help others. You have succeeded gloriously. I am sure your family and your Heavenly Father are very proud of you. You are in the prayers of all that know you and we look forward to reading all you have to pass on to us. If there are any any regrets for most of us, it is that we didn’t find you sooner. Your legacy with this blog will continue to bless countless struggling souls like mine for many years. Not many of us can say we have done that if we live over 100 years.
    Thank you again for blessing my life.
    Don

    Like

  25. robert putman says:

    well i had to just pick a topic here to write to you john, i am robert putman, my friend chuck just led me to this web site of yours and im trying to figure out how im going to get any work done now, way to much to read, so i guess the work can always get done, but this, this is wonderful, i also wanted to tell you that i knew your dad, he was on the high council in the wasilla stake, i was a full time employ of the church who lived in eagle river until 1996, then had to come down to the states…i sure miss alaska, but anyway i really enjoyed your dad, and if i remember right you had a business in wasilla also, and i knew of one member who worked with you, im not sure if you and i ever met, but i just wanted to let you know i knew your dad, and him along with many other saints there, was a magical time in my life, that period and time was wonderful, working out on the stake farm was really a great experiance…well i have seen here that you are having a real struggle with your health, i pray the lords blessings on you and your family, i have dealt with bad health for many years now, but the lord has shown his hand in my life and i dont think im quite done with the trial…but i will never let go of the iron rod, never…..your site here will strengthen the lives of many and we thank you from our hearts that you have had so much to share with us, i will be reading for many days to get all of this in, but i will read it all…….god bless john………robert putman.

    Like

    • Thank you Robert, it is so good to hear from you again. Alaska was a powerful experience, and taught me many things. I am so pleased to be presently in Utah, completing my life and rejoicing in the river of grace that flows through my life.

      God bless,

      John Pontius

      Like

  26. TM says:

    We love you Brother John. I am in tears. Thank you for sharing your gifts and testimony with us. God bless you and Terri and your children.

    Like

  27. jowo says:

    Brother John,
    Shortly after my mother passed away a few weeks ago my former bishop/current home teacher gave me a blessing. He commented when he was done “Well, that was different”. There were a few things mentioned that I didn’t understand. Just a few days later you wrote a blog that specifically answered my questions as to gaining understanding of the blessing. Thank you. Thank you for all you do for so many. I’m not ready to give you up. Continuing to pray for your welfare.

    Like

  28. Mary says:

    Brother John,
    Your writings have made a difference in my life for the better. Thank you for being one who ministers so much love and goodness. I truly wish you and your family peace, love, and light.

    Like

  29. Marion D says:

    So far I have listened to the Reunion four times. The last time was a direct invitation by the Spirit to listen more closely. As I did I wondered how I missed some of the blindingly brilliant light pouring out. For instance, I went to the scriptures for clarification and knowledge and found such sweetness about the earth and the testimony she will bear of our lives. And other things I did not know and could not see. Bringing Spencer into my worlds radius expanded it again. So many times you have impacted my life by showing me what was beyond my imagination. I have read the love from posts before mine and their affection and appreciation. It matches mine. Can you hear how your sensitivity to spiritual things have added to not just mine but so many lives?

    It was your commentary on D&C 93:1 that awakened me to the possibility that I could do as Joseph, Moses, Moroni, Nephi, and so many others have. I cannot express my woe at your ills and yet the gratitude I have for your generous sharing and your life being extended fills me. May you receive your most righteous desires. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. I just wanted you to know how deeply I have been touched by your efforts.

    Like

  30. Lindsey says:

    I just discovered your blog today and have spent the entire day reading all of your posts. Thank you for all you have shared – it truly has been an inspiration for me today! You and your family are in my prayers.

    Like

  31. Bret B says:

    You have touched my life and the lives of my family. You are included in my prayers. Thank you for your books and this blog.

    Like

  32. McKay says:

    God Bless, John

    Like

  33. Robin Carlson says:

    Dear Bro John:
    I can only say “amen” and “motions seconded” to the preceding 32 comments. All my UnBlog bro. and sisters are much more skilled wordsmiths than I.
    I would like to thank you for the audios about seeking the face of the Lord. That was truly a stupendous spiritual experience. I’ve been blessed to share that with my only daughter who’s experiencing another of a whole series of trials and finally give her an inspiring answer about why it is so important to go to the Temple, and how the spiritual power gained from the endowment could
    help her re-convert her only child. I couldn’t have even attempted that mission without the understanding I gained from the audios at your FTL site. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.
    I am torn between begging the Lord to let you stay with us longer by being
    strengthened of Him or bowing in humility and say “Thy will be done: all hearts are in Thy Hands” or ??? I truly hope the Lord will bless you and give you, your wife Teri and your children peace, comfort and hopefully healing.
    Your sister in the Gospel,
    Robin
    PS email to follow

    Like

  34. carol says:

    serving our Eternal Father without complaint is a true blessing..feeding His sheep is another blessing..without regard of self..thank you Brother John for your example..the power of the words of truth and righteouness are light eternal and cannot be put out..but will always continue to light the way of those of us seeking God’s truth..whatever your course..your light has been added to the greater light…as each of us make this walk, our lights will be added with His light, until we all fill His Glory beyond compare…How Great He Is..and how bless we are to be able to trek this journey with Him…may you find peace from your pain..it surely could not have been easy…I guess we are learning to Love one another..as He has loved us…smile

    Like

  35. Trudy Barnes says:

    Thank you for you light, your love, your witness, your strength in doing God’s will no matter the weather, no matter the circumstances. You are loved, and prayed for. Bless you and your family, as well as the unblog family as we all move forward from where we are.

    Like

  36. leah says:

    Please know that you have transformed the level of spirituality in my life and my family’s life. Many years ago I read Following the Light. I was over joyed when I found your blog. We have followed it, We’ve listened to your firesides together with our teenage children. It has changed me. Every night as I kneel to pray I aim for mighty prayer. When I have the chance to share my testimony I invite the Spirit to open the fire hydrants of heaven to pour out through my witness, which is growing daily as I hearken to the Spirit. I have had so many opportunities to teach some of the concepts that you have shared, especially on following and recognizing the Spirit.

    There was something special about the reunion which was witnessed in many ways including the adversary’s attempts to keep me away. I was grateful to meet you. Thank you, Thank you Brother John. God Bless you & yours.

    Like

  37. Karen says:

    As I sit here and read your blog, tears come easily and I feel I must thank you for the years of dedicated service you have given so many. Although I have only been involved in your blog and read your books for the past few months I know that my own progress to where I am now and where I have yet to go would not have come this far, this fast, were it not for your dedication to the Lord and your willingness to share.

    I don’t know if you can fully appreciate the growth that has come to me on account of your efforts. I wish I chould tell you all that I have seen and now know because of your work. I hope that Heavenly Father will let you see it or has let you see it, being that it has truly brought me a great knowledge that I had to have in order for me to do my work here on Earth.

    The reward I am sure, will be great at that day when all is seen and known. I thank Heaven for your life and your influence and love. I pray that you will have all that you need and desire. You can visit anytime you like and I for one, will be ready to be taught by you whenever the day comes that I may need it. As your ‘desperately ill body’ is laid aside or changed, I feel to rejoice for you and with you! How glorious for you to be moving forward! How wonderful to know you will recieve “all that the Lord hath”!

    Like

  38. Gayle says:

    God bless you for all you have done for all of us in your cheering section here in mortality. I know that you have a huge cheering section on the other side as well. I keep you in my prayers and on the prayer roll. Your books, blogs, and the reunion have opened my eyes to so much more than I had hoped before and I look forward with excitement to the days ahead. Thank you for the kindness you have shown all of us. We love you!!

    Like

  39. Amber P. says:

    Dear John, I was deeply touched to tears, and very endeared by your “Love and No Regrets” post. I desire to send my heart-felt thanks and my deepest love and thanksgiving toward you and your loved ones! I stand among the many, many others who have been blessed and inspired by you… to take great courage and strength from the Lord to walk His path with a renewed Faith in our Father. I’m indeed thankful to be among one of those to have been acquainted with you (again), but in this mortal sphere. I feel most grateful to have had such sweet associations with you and your dear Terri, and of course our precious Alicia, which have been among my choicest and most profoundly spiritual moments here on earth!

    Finally meeting and sharing the yearnings of my heart with you 1 1/2 ago, which culminated in a special Priesthood Blessing (and being given your book, Following the Light of Christ), was one of the special treasured moments of my life! I felt very much led and taught by the spirit at that moment, as my quest for healing (emotionally, physically and spiritually) grew unbearable strong. I was desiring and seeking the healing that only comes from the Lord! As we conversed together with Alicia, you were inspired on my behalf (of which I prayed), to shed a clear light of perspective and understanding regarding my “emotional crippling,” and my family dynamics (i.e. pure insight about my earthly father), which was very crucial to furthering my progression. To say the least, it touched my spirit forever in a sweet and remarkable way (a God-sent moment for me)!! In that powerful Priesthood Blessing, you shared God’s wisdom that I was lacking about my worth/potential, which would ultimately help me on my journey of diligently seeking to grow closer to the the Lord and His healing power. My soul was taught and nourished in a unique way -that I had been in search of for a very long time! In that moment I felt safe/protected, cherished, tenderly nurtured and “filled” with my Heavenly Father’s love – as you served as a reminder of truth AND as a proxy “earthly” father-figure for which I had been starving and longing – thank you John!

    Oh, what a priceless, unforgettable day that was to my heart, and we all attended Amber Giles miraculous Fireside to close the weekend. To me the veil was thin and Zion, this heaven on earth, just didn’t feel so very far away! 🙂

    Attending the UnBlog reunion was yet another eternally significant moment, where I felt inspired to continue on in so great a cause – I was fed (such a delicious spiritual feast), my heart was softened, taught and changed, my vision was opened to the great possibilities and miraculous realities, and I was filled with a Heavenly HOPE! Again, every time I’m associated with you and your precious family, and wherever the Lord’s great Gospel truths are expressed, there’s a beautiful renewal of Faith, Hope and of a pure love of Christ! I stand all amazed at the love Jesus offers me (every one of us)!

    I just want to send my love, highest respect, my best regards, and my immense gratitude! John, I have been praying for your comfort and clarity. I pray that you will be reminded of the specific gospel truths that will bring you such sweet clarity (moment by moment – every hour), that special family-centered memories will fill your heart to capacity, and that our Father and our Elder Brother will be near you to bring you into their presence, and grant that special peace not of this world!

    You are a true example of a believer in word and deed! Peace, Love and Light, Amber P.

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

  40. Kevin says:

    John,
    I am so sorry to hear that you are not doing well. I have appreciated so much your books and firesides. They are so uplifting and they make me want to be a better person. My prayers go out to you and your family.

    Thank you for everything,

    Kevin

    Like

  41. FJC says:

    Upward and onward dear brother!

    My life is a series of wonderful people who have left their mark in my heart. You have left such a mark through your books, your unblogs, and through your wonderful family gathering. With such wonderful exposure and through the kindness of the Lord, I feel a proximity to the Powers of heaven that I have never felt before with such consistency. My heart is full of gratitude for your gift and the gifts of the many who the Father has put in my path. As I look back, I can see clearly, the hand of the Lord, leading me each step of the way, with His amazing patience and love. Your life’s work has been one of the many wonderful sentinels for me. I am so grateful. Thank you!

    For me, the wonderful news is, whether on this side of the other side of the veil, our work is never done, and only glorious and wonderful adventures await us, as the battle for our God continues to fill worlds without end. Carry on, carry on dear friend! We all love you!

    Like

  42. Christie says:

    I have loved the Un-Blog and the chance it has given me to hear so much of your spiritual wisdom. It is truly a treasure that will enable my children to do the same and I will cherish it forever. I love you.

    Like

  43. Denise says:

    Thank you so much for all you have done and given to each of us. Your unblogs truly will be missed. We pray for peace for you and your family. With kindest regards and love.

    Like

  44. Vickie Lynne says:

    It dawned on me the other day that you might not be feeling well, and that was why your posts have not been as frequent. How my heart goes out to you at this time. But the Lord giveth and the Lord taketh away, and it is all for our good. It is about the times and seasons of our lives. You have blessed our lives so greatly and we feel to bless yours in return. Just know that you are in our prayers.

    Like

  45. Kevin says:

    Brother John,
    Thank you for opening my view. It comes in response to heartfelt prayer and study over 15 years ago. You are a dear friend and mentor. Much love – Kevin Ball

    Like

  46. Becky says:

    Dear Bro, John Pontius,
    I am so sorry about your ill health, but, like you, one must just accept the burdening challenges and growing opportunities of ill health in our lives that God gives us for his purpose.
    I have never commented to any of your blogs posts, yet. I have wanted to send you a private message, but I could never find a link on your web sight to allow me to do so. So, while I am in public setting of comments, I shall leave a somewhat informal small note of gratitude.
    Again, I am sorry that your you must take some time to rest and step back from your unblogging. I want to tell you how grateful I am of the light-house you have been for me, which indeed, has created a small ripple effect to those around me.
    While God has given me the greatest lighthouse through the Holy Ghost and its gifts, it is the conversations or inspired testimonies I have received from other souls who are like-minded that help me to understand the revelations and directions God has given me in my life. Those testimonies from friends who I have met over the years, have each given me a tiny bread crumb, that has sent me on my way seeking for the feast I have been looking for for years.

    I some how got Spencer’s manuscript a couple months ago, and while it didn’t necessarily change my life, as I was already well on the path of being a Zion member, it did inspire me to read your book The Triumph of Zion. For this purpose, I want to write you and Thank you. These books have been a much BIGGER bread crumb, if not part of the feast that has lifted and give me more meat to add to my life. I have been aware of the work and blessings of seeking God’s face in this life, but yours and Spencer’s book has helped me to grasp more of how real it can be, and that, for those who choose, are highly encouraged to reach such a lofty goal. This has been my GREATEST hearts desire since I was a very young woman – even a child. I was focused, I was driven, and nothing over the years has changed that.
    What a joy it has been to read your book, and to ponder and look back, and see that God has indeed been working many mighty miracles in my life in so many ways, shapes and forms that helped me to grow to reach my GREATEST aspirations in all shapes and forms that even I can not even begin to truly grasp the full picture quite yet but it is forming.
    For your literary works (on your blog and your writings), which have ALL been your testimony, I deeply and truly thank you from the bottom of my heart.
    I shall miss your unblog posts.
    I hope God blesses you with some form of strength and health to continue to bless those who seek, that you may be a tool…. or for whatever other purpose he has in store for you.
    In Christ,
    Becky

    Like

  47. Debra James says:

    I write now not to have my comment published but to thank you for the way your unblog has directed my searching and been of benefit to me. Thank you for being willing to follow the Spirit and teach others willing to hear. I trust we will meet someday and recognition by our spirits will be wondeful. From sunny Suid Afrika, I wish you all the best and trust the journey will be as peaceful as possible from here on out.
    Much love

    Like

  48. Carol says:

    Thank you, thank you , thank you! Who can count the days you have uplifted, and will with your blogs. You are a tender mercy of the Lord in these increasingly perilous time, and we are grateful. Your attitude in suffering has been amazing as well. Praying and hoping the best for you and your family.

    Like

  49. Hehea says:

    Dear Brother John,

    I have not met you, but you have made a deep impact in my faith and my perception of spiritual things. I can’t help but weep when i read this blog. I felt like the Nephites “were in tears, and did look steadfastly upon him as if they would ask him to tarry a little longer with them.” Brother John, thank you for this Unblog. I am grateful for your mission that has lifted my life. Thank you. I believe to come unto the presence of the Lord would be a good payback to you for what you’ve done for me. I love you, Brother John. My love to your wife, Terri, and to your children. How i wish things were different so i can continue to learn from you. Nearer, my God, to Thee, nearer to Thee! E’en though it be a cross that raiseth me; Still all my song shall be nearer, my God, to Thee. May the Lord watched over you.

    Like

  50. wendy says:

    We pray for you, John, and hope you will receive healing blessings and strength. You will be sorely missed. We hope you will be back soon. I don’t think you know how much you strengthen many people, even while your own strength diminishes. Thank you so much for all your good works and words.

    Like

  51. darrell brashear says:

    Brother John. Your life has been a great comfort to me. You have been a true brother and a true friend. I know that everything you are going through will be for your further happiness and joy in the eternities to come, but it still brings me sadness to hear of your struggles and pain.

    It has been a pleasure and an honor to meet you and Terri. The events of that visit will be imprinted upon my soul forever. I can take comfort in the fact that trials precede blessings and I have no doubt that these trials will open the door to even greater blessings.

    I only pray that the day will come when I can be worthy to join you and the society of all those faithful brothers and sisters who will obtain eternal life in the kingdom of the Father.

    With great love…..brother D.

    Like

  52. LoLorrie says:

    Dear John,

    I am so sorry for your health problems and hope that you receive the comfort you need and enjoy as much good health as is possible at this time of your life.

    I was told about you and your website from a dear friend a year ago. I was going through the worst time of my life and just didn’t feel like I could tackle the deeper doctrine when I was just trying to get up in the morning and function. One year later, I opened the blog and started reading. Actually, a different friend of mine was telling me about the book coming out and I thought I should get to know you better, become acquainted so to speak, before I read it. So, I’ve been catching up on blogs and am also reading one of your books.

    The point of the previous paragraph is this: You have just begun to touch my life and have enlarged my understanding in areas that were completely needed. Amazing what can hit you when your heart and mind is open and ready. I will be reading and studying your books and blog entries for months and years to come. I appreciate all you have done for others and all you have done and will continue to do to enlighten me and help my path be an easier and more fulling one. Thank you so much for being such a faithful follower and willing to share your personal experiences with us.

    Much love,
    Lorrie

    Like

  53. Gwen says:

    Dear John, We are so sorry your health has declined. We hope and pray the Lord will grant you more time to spend here with your beautiful wife and family. We know that all is in the Lords hands and that things will go according to His eternal plan. I am so happy that my husband and my two daughters attended the Unblog family reunion and met and spoke with you. You will never know how much your writings have changed our lives. Our deepest gratitude for all that you have done. We are sending our love and best wishes to you and your family at this time. We will continue to hold you in our thoughts and prayers. We are hoping for another Unblog reunion next year. Gwen

    Like

  54. lsessions says:

    Thank you, my brother, for illuminating The Way.

    Like

  55. John,

    You have been a light and have been an instrument in rekindling my testimony and redefining my purpose here on this earth. Your stories of Sam and his family have transformed me. I’m forever grateful and hope to one day thank you in person on either side of the veil. You have my prayers and whatever strength I can transfer from my being to you at this time. God bless you my brother and friend. Eternally grateful.

    Jared Anderson

    Like

  56. Lorena Holmstead says:

    Your writings have had a profound impact on my life. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    Like

  57. kenh says:

    John,
    I have been so blessed to find this spiritual oasis. I have been inspired to make changes and growth that I know I needed to make. These postings and comments have lifted my soul to greater heights. Thank you John just doesn’t seem enough but I do look forward to the gathering to Zion before that Millennial day when we all can be reunited and rejoice together. Your wonderful witness of Christ John is a joy to my life. If the Lord has a special mission on the other side of the veil for you John, you have truly been prepared within these last two years in such glorious ways. We have experienced this preparation and pray for you to go forward with our love and gratitude. May the Lord spare you a little longer to see greater joy from the lives that will be blessed with the sales of your new book.

    Like

  58. K-Jo says:

    Brother John, Your words bring tears to my eyes. How can you ever know of the gratitude I feel for each one of your blogs. I have hungered for them. I have waited and watched daily for each new post. They have filled my days with wonder and joy as I have experienced an expansion of my knowledge and understanding of this beautiful gospel. They have lifted me in times of uncertainty and darkness. They have brought into consciousness the truth of many things that I have always known deep within my soul. Thank you for using your gift of writing to bless all those who read these gems of truth. Heartfelt prayers will be ascending to Heaven in your behalf and in behalf of your family. I will miss you and it is my desire that one day soon you will be able to write again. Thank you, Brother John, thank you. 🙂 Is there any way that your blog entries can be bound into a book so that I will always have them? I would love that.

    Like

    • Rusty says:

      If it is okay with John, I have just finished copying and pasting the last of his blog entries into 3 Word documents (one for each year). I started this a while ago. I didn’t copy the short, newsy ones, but I have all the rest of them. I only copied comments from a few when he asked for opinions. I would be happy to Zip my files and send them to you.
      John, it is up to you. If you don’t want me to do this, then don’t post this reply. I made these documents so I could put them on my Nook to read anywhere. But I won’t give them out if you don’t want me to. I didn’t copy the copy-write notice at the end of each post, but I will put it at the beginning of each file if you want. Like I said, I did this for myself without the thought of sharing.

      Like

      • K-Jo says:

        Rusty….yes….if you get this message I would love to have the documents. My email address is kjmallory@yahoo.com. Please put in the subject line something about John Pontius.

        Like

        • Dear K-Jo,

          We can’t put your e-mail address in the Unblog. As I mentioned earlier, my wife Terri is undertaking a similar effort. She will be in contact via the Unblog after things settle down here.

          God bless,

          Brother John

          Like

      • Karen Kraft says:

        If John approves, I’d love a copy for my personal use. Sincerely, Karen

        Like

      • Lorrie Lou Anderson says:

        Dear Rusty,

        I would really love a copy of all these wonderful Blog posts as well if you wouldn’t mind please. I don’t have a kindle or such but if I’m able to download them directly to my computer then what a blessing and heavenly resource they would be to me.

        PS
        I am one of the few who just recently found this wonderful Blog site and would love to read as much as possible, as much as time would allow, over the next few weeks, to absorb it all. As it is all so spiritually delicious to my soul. Thank you for taking the time to copy all Brother John’s posts and make them available to those who truly treasure them. What a treat. 🙂

        Thank you kindly, Lorrie Lou

        Like

        • Dear Rusty and Aaron B,

          Thank you for your interest in the Unblog. Just a reminder: All of the content on the Unblog is copyrighted. You have my permission to compile them into a book if you wish, and share them with your friends; but it would be inappropriate to charge anyone for it.

          At some point after I am passed, there are plans for my wife to compile these unblogs into books, so that they can perhaps be of benefits to many others.

          God bless,

          Brother John (Terri scribe)

          Like

  59. Tiffanie says:

    Dear John –
    I had not before heard of you or your books when I stumbled upon “Triumph of Zion” at the library this past January ~ the topic of Zion was much in my thoughts and your book was a heaven sent gift. I loved it, have loved reading Following the Light of Christ, have enjoyed listening to your firesides, reading your posts, I so look forward to reading Visions of Glory next month. Your unblog will continue to be a feast for my spirit for a long time. Thank you for your work, you have blessed my life and that of my children, I will continue to try and share with others what Christ has shared with me through you. May the Lord bless and keep you, Thank you!
    Tiffanie Wride

    Like

  60. Chris says:

    Brother John,

    My heart goes out to you in your suffering. I’m comforted by the peace you feel and pained for your family. I pray all goes as it should and that joy will be yours shortly.

    Chris

    Like

  61. Eva says:

    Brother John, your testimony has impacted my life deeply. I would be ungrateful if I didn’t express my gratitude to the Lord for allowing you this time to write. Thank you Lord, and Thank you John. I am sorry couldn’t come to your Unblog, I live over the other side of the world. I look forward to meeting you in the glorious realms above.

    Your Sister
    Eva

    Like

  62. Jason Perry says:

    Dear Brother John,
    I want to express my humble gratitude and appreciation for all that you have done to further the work of the Lord and build his kingdom here on earth. Your book, “Following the Light of Christ into His Presence,” continues to have a very deep impact upon my soul and has helped me to open my eyes to a whole new spiritual world and way of thinking, that due to complacency and life choices, I was previously blinded to. Since that time I have been an avid reader of your blog and other books and have found a new insatiable appetite for all things related to the Gospel of Jesus Christ. The Spirit speaks very strongly to me through your writings and has truly blessed the lives of me and my family, I finally feel like I am on “The Path” and it continues to bring me great joy and happiness. I have no words to express the feelings that I feel to you and your wife for the testimonies that you have born to me of all things”truth” and the change that it has brought about in me. Thank you for your devotion to our Lord and Saviour and for sharing your experiences in the Gospel for the benefit of us all. You and your family are in our prayers.

    Looking forward to Zion with love in my heart, Jason

    Like

  63. Rena Burkhardt says:

    Brother Pontius,
    My heart and prayers go out for you and Terri at this difficult time and my
    sincere gratitude for the blessings you have shared with us. My life has been
    greatly edified and improved for meeting you. Thank you just doesn’t seem
    enough.
    Rena B

    Like

  64. Rusty says:

    Dear Brother John – As I read your post, I felt so selfish about needing to hear from you regularly on this blog. You are right, the Lord blessed you to leave so many postings on this blog and we have been blessed that you found the strength to do it. I have also loved reading your books and am looking forward to reading Spencer’s book. There’s an inspirational ad of a young man going up the steps of what looks like a library with a lit candle in his hand. A young woman is sitting on a step with an unlit candle. He goes over and lights her candle. Then she lights someone else’s candle, and so on. And then there is a large group of people with lit candles. You have been, for me, the first man going up the steps, lighting my candle and the candles of others. In turn, I’ve been able to light a few candles, myself. You have been an inspiration to many and I’m grateful. I will miss your blogs, but I will continue to pray for you that you will be blessed for unselfishly sharing with so many of us and I hope and pray you will find relief from the pain that is plaguing you. Bless you and thank you!!!

    Like

  65. cami gygi says:

    Peace to you Brother John! I have no doubt that you have fulfilled your mission and purpose. Thanks for sharing your testimony and journey with us. You and your family are in our prayers!

    Like

  66. Rebecca says:

    John, You don’t know me but I know you and I have something I want to give you that I believe will help you. I am a cancer survivor and have learned so much during the process. Please tell me how I can get this to you and to Spencer.

    Like

  67. Jeannette says:

    My heart goes out to you and your family. Prayers also. I did not know of your illness and I’m so sorry. I hope you will be able to keep us all in your loop and let us know how things are with your health, or lack thereof. Again, prayers are coming on your behalf. Jeannette Memmott

    Like

  68. Wishing you and your family peace and comfort!

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

