A Post From Spencer


In pondering last night about Becoming clean before the Lord every whit, these thought and impressions came to me. These are the things we were told anew in the conference.
73 Behold, I will hasten my work in its time. 74 And I give unto you, who are the first laborers in this last kingdom, a commandment that you assemble yourselves together, and organize yourselves, and prepare yourselves, and sanctify yourselves; (how do we go about this ability to sanctify ourselves? Read carefully and you will know what it takes to be Sanctified, renewed and made clean before Christ.)yea, purify your hearts, and cleanse your hands and your feet before me, that I may make you clean; 75 That I may testify unto your Father, and your God, and my God, that you are clean from the blood of this wicked generation; that I may fulfil this promise, this great and last promise, which I have made unto you, when I will. 76 Also, I give unto you a commandment that ye shall continue in prayer and fasting from this time forth. 77 And I give unto you a commandment that you shall teach one another the doctrine of the kingdom. 78 Teach ye diligently and my grace shall attend you, that you may be instructed more perfectly in theory, in principle, in doctrine, in the law of the gospel, in all things that pertain unto the kingdom of God, that are expedient for you to understand; 79 Of things both in heaven and in the earth, and under the earth; things which have been, things which are, things which must shortly come to pass; things which are at home, things which are abroad; the wars and the perplexities of the nations, and the judgments which are on the land; and a knowledge also of countries and of kingdoms— 80 That ye may be prepared in all things when I shall send you again to magnify the calling whereunto I have called you, and the mission with which I have commissioned you. 81 Behold, I sent you out to testify and warn the people, and it becometh every man who hath been warned to warn his neighbor. 82 Therefore, they are left without excuse, and their sins are upon their own heads. 83 He that seeketh me early shall find me, and shall not be forsaken. 84 Therefore, tarry ye, and labor diligently, that you may be perfected in your ministry to go forth among the Gentiles for the last time, as many as the mouth of the Lord shall name, to bind up the law and seal up the testimony, and to prepare the saints for the hour of judgment which is to come; D&C 88:73-84

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Post From Spencer

  1. Liz Ericksen says:

    That was beautiful Amber. Thank You!

    Like

  2. amber gurr says:

    I completely agree Diane. These “sacrifices” are what really make us stand apart from the world and be peculiar people. These are the sacrifices that put us that much more in touch with heaven. Like John says in Following the Light….it really is all about seeking and following the Spirit. On the same note, it is so important to not be or seem in any way high and mighty about the choices that we make to omit certain things from our lives. People may have a tendency to THINK you are being that way just because you are making that choice, so I think (for me at least) that there is a need to be especially conscious of doing these things in love and non-judgement and with understanding of everyone else’s step by step, God-guided learning. Hopefully that is helpful in some way!?

    I want to share, I am married to Terri’s (Terri and John) nephew. I had read Following the Light of Christ 3 times, and given away several copies before I met my husband and found out that John was his uncle. I was very surprised and delighted. I love Terri and John so much and am so grateful to have them in my life and to be in their family. I want to thank all of you so much for all of the love, support, inspiration and uplift that you have given them. You have been a huge blessing and I know they can’t thank you enough.

    Like

    • Joyce says:

      Amber, so interesting to read that you are related to the Pontius family. We will greatly
      miss your uncle. Has your mom studied the books and unblog like you? My sister and friends mourn the loss if this great man

      Like

    • Shayne says:

      Thanks Amber and Diane for your questions and comments. First of all as Amber so ably mentioned, we need to make sure our motivations are pure and for the right reasons. All of us are at different stages in our lives. The Holy Ghost for me might be offended in very small things because the place my journey has taken me. Another who just joined the church and is started on their journey might be watching R rated movies but had actually been watching worse movies before they learned about the gospel. They are improving and the spirit will guide them as they move forward.
      It is as John’s spoke about quite often, a very personalized journey for each of us. That is why we don’t worry about the person next to us, we just bless everyone around us and give them grace.
      Shayne

      Like

  3. dianehawkes says:

    Thank you Spencer for taking the time and care to answer our questions. What a great blessing to glean from your knowledge and experiences of when you were on the other side of the veil.

    My question is for any of our mediators:

    I was talking with an individual recently about the affects of different TV shows and their perspective was that different people have varying degrees of ability or strengths that makes them less impacted by things they see on TV.

    I disagreed with this person and stated that the bigger picture is “what can the Holy Ghost tolerate and what can he not tolerate?”

    My thoughts are that if the Holy Ghost can’t tolerate it, then we should not be involved no matter what we think our self is capable of handling.

    By understanding when and what causes the Holy Ghost to leave us, would give us knowledge and power in the process of helping to “sanctify” ourselves. Thereby as much as possible choose activities that permit the Holy Ghost to always be with us.

    Can you give me some deeper insight into this?

    Like

  4. Donald says:

    Section 88 is a remarkable revelation. I’m currently reading a book by Karl Anderson: The Savior in Kirtland. It is impressive, and moving, to read about the Lords direction to these early saints…..the sifting that took place during this period….the obedience and sacrifice of some…. an amazing period in church history.

    I wondered if Spencer has read Denver’s “parable” (http://denversnuffer.blogspot.com/2012/10/parable.html) and had any thoughts or feelings about it?

    -kind regards

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

