Spencer’s post on becoming


On two occasions in the New Testament Jesus gives the same stunning advice; Mark 10:17-18
And when he was gone forth into the way, there came one running, and kneeled to him, and asked him, Good Master, what shall I do that I may inherit eternal life? 
18 And Jesus said unto him, Why callest thou me good? There is none good but one, that is, God. 
In Luke 18:18-19 we also read;
And a certain ruler asked him, saying, Good Master, what shall I do to inherit eternal life?
19 And Jesus said unto him, Why callest thou me good? None is good, save one, that is, God.
What might we learn from these encounters? 
What was Jesus the Christ trying to teach us from these few lines of Scripture? 
In my experience and understanding Jesus of Nazareth is and was the greatest example of anyone who ever could be called good, for He was the only and most perfect example of good that ever or will ever live upon this earth. 
 He said, “ Look to the Father and live, for all things that lead unto Him are that which will exalt us.”
The prophet Jacob said in a future day, or in our Quest to see and know the Savior, we will see “things as they really are, and as they really will be.” He is explaining how we should view Jesus, and because of His Character He, who makes seeing things as they really are and really will be possible. It is only through and of Him that we are allowed the process of beginning to see afar off. This added process of seeing as He sees, greatly changes our perspective. We then begin to see things as they really are. This added view is far better sight than seeing things as we hope them to be or want them to be. We then see things through the mind and will of The Father. The more you and I come to understand God and Jesus, the more we want to be like them, to see as They see and this sight causes us to have no other desire but to be with Them. That yearning takes on strength and an intensity that dims other things in comparison. Their character is so marvelous. 
No wonder the Prophet Joseph said, “ If men do not comprehend the character of God, they do not comprehend themselves.” How can we know who we are if we do not know who They are (The Father and the Son)? How can we understand what our character should if we do not understand Theirs? 
Elder Maxwell states, “Christ’s character is without flaw. And He is perfect in love and empathy so you and I can trust Him completely. If He was not (without flaw), imagine where we would be?”
So was it that Jesus did not want to stand in the path between the Father and us? Even though when we see Christ we also have seen the Father. How often might we get in the way between others and the Father? Not purposely, but do we to often, want them to hear our voice, rather than to clearly without obstruction, Hear The Voice of the Father? Often we might do this with the best of intentions. We might think, ‘if they first hear my voice then they might learn to hear the voice of the Spirit and then in time, better hear the voice of the Lord?’ Jesus taught us the lesson that His voice is the best teacher. Can we lead others to the voice of the Father and trust that He has the power, desire and capacity to break through their temporary deafness and restore to them their capacity to again hear His voice, which will cause them to want to break down all other barriers that we have placed in our way to have this greatest gift of God restored to us in it’s fullness. For it is by and through His voice that we will be saved and called Home.
This great blessing is there for our taking. His voice is the most familiar voice we have ever heard resounding in our ears. Our spiritual ears know it well. His voice carries with it great restoring power. It leads us to Exaltation and Eternal life. It restoreth our souls and leads us into all that He hath. 
“If you sense that one day every knee shall bow and every tongue shall confess that Jesus is the Christ, why not do so now? For in the coming day of collective confession, it will mean much less to kneel down when it is no longer possible to stand!” Neal A. Maxwell
said “In our daily walk, can we think and act to bring others to His voice, His Goodness and His love. For as we confess and boldly testify of Him to the world so will He confess and testify of Us to the Father”. 
Then it will come to pass that the Lord will say those words, He once would not allow to be said of “ Well done, thou good and faithful servant: thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter thou into the joy of thy Lord.”
Matthew 25:21

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Spencer’s post on becoming

  1. Orlando says:

    Spencer, It was a great experience reading Visions of Glory. From the time I was a child, I remember my soul leaving so often that I thought something was wrong with me. And was told that In time, I would remember the things I was taught. In my youth I remember seeing everyone with so much love and affection. Your story touched me in a way that it awoken something in me that i was searching a longtime for. Something that I had lost along the way, My true Self. Instead of progressing forward I was stepping backwards. I know now that I am not alone, there is someone out there that understands what I saw and felt. I know that its my journey and my work that I must prepare for. I love My Heavenly Father and know that he love’s us as we love our own children. Thank you my brother, I love you and bro. Pontius for putting into words what I could not. I am waiting for the day that I can feel his embrace and look into his eyes again.

    Like

  2. Luesha says:

    Spencer,
    Thank you for sharing with us so much with all of us, through your posts and book. I have more faith in the future than fear now. I look forward to the future and hope to be an instrument for the Lord. I thank the Lord for letting you share your experiences.

    Like

  3. K-Jo says:

    Thank you for this post. Spencer, I just finished your book. I couldn’t put it down! It has totally changed my view of the events of the last days and the Second Coming. I was surprised that it was such a process and that things just continued day by day and progression by progression. The other thing I loved was that all the things I usually hear about the last days is only the devastation and destruction. But the description of inside the walls of Zion in comparison to what is going on outside (devastation and destruction) was very comforting.

    Also, just a note to Eric, Shayne and Spencer…..when you post it makes for easier reading when there is a double space between paragraphs. That way if I loose my place while I am reading or if I am interrupted, I can find my place more easily. Thank you for all you do in continuing to carry the torch!

    Like

  4. D says:

    Thanks for the blog entry! I needed to have that advice given….it could be that I’m talking a little too much and sending people to inquire for themselves too little. I appreciate the reminder.

    Like

  5. Michelle says:

    Thank you so much for the time you all spend posting and managing this blog. Your efforts are well appreciated and are producing much good fruit around the world. I had a question for Spencer about his book. First of all, thank you so much for sharing so much of your precious visions and experiences with us. Your book is one of the most fascinating and life-changing I’ve ever read. One of the things that piqued my interest was the concept of time that is scattered throughout the book. I’m wondering if you could shed any more light on how the law of time operates in different spheres. You share at one point that the angels are very busy delivering blessings – which is why heavenly help is sometimes delayed in coming or seems to arrive barely in time. At another point you share how as a spirit child with the Father time didn’t exist. You shared that God exists outside of time and can move forward or backward through the construct of time. That He acts in the past, present, and future and can speed up time or stop it from progressing (all without us being aware of it). Then later in the book you share that as a translated being – you could actually go back in time to help people. You share how in Zion time was fluid for you – and you could move backward or forward in time for God’s purposes. There were no deadlines and that you were able to complete the gathering prior to the Savior’s second coming because of you not being subject to time. I’m reminded also of a dream I believe Brigham Young had where Joseph Smith visited him from the spirit world and said he was in a great hurry there to accomplish all the work they needed to before the Savior returned to earth to reign. I’m trying to cement these ideas all together. Does time exist (or not exist) differently at different levels of glory (are there different laws of time in place) – Telestial, Terrestrial, and Celestial? Does it exist differently in the spirit world than it does in Zion? Is that why some angels are in a hurry and barely get to people in time while others have the ability to travel back and forward in time? Is it a matter of glory and developed spiritual gifts that allow angels to work on different time planes?

    Like

    • (Spencer) says:

      Michelle, I have pondered your question for a day and will write a lengthy answer which will be posted maybe next week. Time was such a significant part of everything that was writen in Visions of Glory. I believe a thoughtful answer will be the best way to address it. This topic alone could be spoken of and writen about in another book which would be longer than the one we just wrote. Remember, their is God’s time, Angel time, our time, resurrested beings time, tellestial time, terrestrial time, and Celestial time ( to just name some). They all can intersect, interact so seamlessly that many are unaware of the transition. When we adhere to the Lord’s time all things become shortened or lengthened in association with that which is assigned for us to do. When we are about our own business time is often never enough. He has the power to change time in connection with whatever the will of the Father may be and for the completion of His work, where ever that work is being completed. Time is a major part of our experience here and continues to be a factor in the after life where time is or can be no more. It depepends on who we are interacting with. Thank you for reminding me anew of these profound constructs and laws. To be continued.
      Spencer

      Like

      • Michael says:

        Spencer,

        Concerning time, I along with many have wondered about Daniel 9:24-27. it seems we are told to count from 1947 forward 70 years. It seems these versus pertain to our day and to the antichrist since Daniel’s visions seem to be centered upon Zion and him. Do you have any thoughts on this? Is the abomination of desolation only 3 1/2 years or is there a time element that we don’t understand involved in this?

        It is interesting that in the dream purported to be by John Taylor, he seems to be flying over his own home. Which would be strange if the vision were for our day.

        It is interesting that in your fly over you see car models that you have not recognized yet since they were not manufactured. Would it be possible for you to let us know when you do recognize them?

        thank you,
        Michael

        Like

  6. darrell brashear says:

    Once again I must say that it is such a good feeling being able to come on this unblog and read these enlightening words. I wanted to share an experience that happened a few days ago that was nothing short of a miracle.

    This week has been the hardest week of my life. I had to make a very hard decision that was heart-wrenching, but I knew it was the right decision. This past Sunday my brother Cheyenne came over to my place for our weekly scripture study and he told us of a miracle that had happened on his way over to my place.

    My brother sometimes listens to his music on his ipod when he’s driving in his truck. This past Sunday he turned his ipod on and to his great surprise he saw that it had brother John Pontius’ talk from the unblog reunion saved onto it. He had not downloaded the talk nor was there anyone else who could have in his home. Aside from that, I doubt that itunes even has a copy of John’s talk in thier library seeing as it was a private event.

    It seemed to us to be a sign that brother John is still with us and is working beyond the veil in all of our behalf. The timing seemed miraculous to me with the trial I’ve been going through.
    Brother D.

    Like

    • (Spencer) says:

      Darrell so sweet and so profound. If we coould see him we would still not be able to comprehend or understand all that our dear friend John is doing and being in the work of Zion from the other side.

      Like

  7. LH says:

    I second that thank you!

    Like

  8. Marsha says:

    Spencer, Shayne, and Eric,
    Thank you so much for continuing this blog site as Brother John requested. It is a great blessing to us all; we continue to feel the spirit of Zion and look forward to each post.

    Like

  9. Jason says:

    I have never noticed the contrast between the Lord’s refusal to be acknowledged as “good” while in mortality and his promise to invite his “good and faithful servants” into the joy of the Lord. What a wonderful invitation that will be to receive!

    Like

  10. Nancy says:

    Dear Spenser,
    I am very simimlar to you in many ways like the way we grew up, but more importantly with the special gifts H.F. has given to us. I’m sorry for your loss in your friend, John. I know he is in a wonderful place, but I’m sure you’ll probably miss sharing things with him. I am new here and am sad about the missed opportunity in knowing him. I know what it’s like to have very special experiences and feeling restraint in sharing them. It can be very lonely sometimes. Having a true friend, a kindred spirit, to share things with is very hard to come by – and truely a very special blessing.
    I was overjoyed with sharing some of your experiences in the book Visions of Glory. Thankyou for sharing them. I have always been drawn and pulled towards the study about these last days.
    I know we are chosen for this time and day. As my kids walk out the door every morning to school I love calling to them, “Remember who your are…” I love that they shout back to me, “We are a chosen gerneration, Mom – saved for these last days…” We need to know who we are and why we’re here. We need to know our talents and gifts and learn to use them and share them and multiply them.
    Thankyou again for sharing some of who you are.
    Sincerely,
    “N”

    Like

  11. Arden says:

    Amen and thank you!

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

