Jake’s question to Spencer


My question is, for anyone that may have an opinion on this is,
You read in the scriptures,
D&C 88:63 Draw near unto me and I will draw near unto you; seek me diligently and ye shall find me; ask, and ye shall receive; knock, and it shall be opened unto you.
Ether 12:39 And then shall ye know that I have seen Jesus, and that he hath talked with me face to face, and that he told me in plain humility, even as a man telleth another in mine own language, concerning these things;
41 And now, I would commend you to seek this Jesus of whom the prophets and apostles have written…
So many places in the scriptures tell us that if we live life, being worthy, having faith in Christ, following the commandments and “Seek” the face of the Lord, we will find him, we can meet half way as we draw near unto him, he to will see our efforts and come unto us. But it says it will be on the Lord’s time and to be patient.
We read in Enos about someone that took the bull by the horns, so to speak, and got it done. He went to the Lord to “find” him, and prayed all day and into the night. He wasn’t going to get off his knees until he found the Lord.
Enos 1:2 And I will tell you of the “wrestle” which I had before God, before I received a remission of my sins.
4 And my soul hungered (deep desire); and I kneeled down before my Maker, and I cried unto him in mighty prayer and supplication for mine own soul; and all the day long did I cry unto him; yea, and when the night came I did still raise my voice high that it reached the heavens.
We live in an era where our lives are so busy, we don’t hunt or gather for survival, we don’t rely on the Lord as much as we once did. We work for a pay check and then buy groceries and life goes on.
God doesn’t change, so we should be able to do as Enos has done and if we’ve prepared ourselves, we too should be able to go, take time off from work and make this personal journey to Zion. Go to “hunt beasts in the forest” and cry mightily in prayer and not stop at all costs until the Lord sees that we truly will do anything to know him.
So my question is this, is that what God would love for all of his children to do so that they can then find him, “seek first the kingdom of God…” then the Lord can truly “use” us the way he would, without our natural man getting in the way of things. Or is that too extreme, putting the Lord on the spot, saying, “i’m not leaving until I know you, be it unto death.
If anyone has any thoughts on this, please share.
Thanks,
Jake D.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jake’s question to Spencer

  1. Kathy says:

    I know of the Enos account and I think what is important here is not that Enos went to the woods and prayed all day and all night. What IS important is that Enos desired with all his heart and he “wrestled” in his own personal way. So I too have desired with all my heart and banged on the door of heaven in mighty prayer in my mind with constant prayers of thankfulness for things I notice all day long, day after day, week after week, month after month in every action of the day. Thankful to be able to wash the dishes and even have dishes and such an abundance of fresh, warm and clean water. Thankful for an opportunity to change a diaper and having a wonderful baby on which to put a diaper and doing the diaper change for the glory of God. Washing the dishes for the glory of God. On and on throughout my days. Then pleading for an abundance of the Spirit as well. This is do-able for me and it works because the manifestation of the Spirit has also come in abundance. Therefore I suggest that there are multitudes of ways to desire with all your heart and to wrestle with the Spirit until it manifests boldly to you. Don’t give up. Just don’t give up as faith proceeds the miracle.

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

