Spencer’s answers E’s question


goChristWithChild 001

Question from E

Question for Spencer–in the book you state: “I learned that there truly is a return and report system in our present life, which we don’t use properly. I recommend that we get used to doing this in our daily and family prayers and in our relationships, that we practice returning and reporting. ‘This is what you asked me to do today, this is what I did, and this is what happened’–and then plead for eternal intervention in the details” (p.18). Can you explain this concept further? Like others I get easily distracted after I start my day with great intentions for moving forward in my purpose. Yet I am learning that I actually CHOOSE to get distracted out of fear (fear of failure, fear of success, fear of others mocking me, etc.). I wonder if this “return and report system” can become a cure for this weakness.

 

 

Answer to E’s question
It is my experience that this external monitoring of what others think of us, keeps us focused on self and how am I doing. We often end up taking our own pulse far too often. If we practice returning and reporting to The Father, the more He seems willing to tell me what it means, how He desires it to be. He tells me who I may touch today, what I may say or do to lift another to find strength beyond my own. He is looking for those who really want to serve Him at all costs. If we are one of those He seeks, let’s throw our hat in the ring and show him we are willing to put our behavior where our mouth is. When I am willing to make this major leap, then my focus turns away from me and how I am doing, to what I can say, how should I say it; to have another day to improve on becoming more like Jesus. Oh boy do I stumble and fall, and mess up and see my weakness. Boy do I see my inabilities and my incapacities fully before me. But through it all, when those I try and serve walk away feeling heard, understood, lifted with a smile,  brighter countenance, my day is secure and my reporting is very sweet. I pray that He continues to show me how to do this better.

 

I read His words and try to incorporate them into my life and behaviors. When we are mocked it at least means we are still trying. We all are mocked daily. It is part of the process of being and living. If we are not being mocked that is when we need to step up to the plate and try, try again.

E. keep trying for He wants you to feel successful, full of worth and He knows you love Him. Remember He loves you, as you are now and as you were. He can see you clearly as you will become. For you are presented to him finished complete and perfect. May we all see as He sees so we will no longer be blinded by our own misconceptions.
Spencer

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spencer’s answers E’s question

  1. xlucettax says:

    “At the end of our day, we kneel again and report back to our Father. We review the events of the day and express heartfelt thanks for the blessings and the help we received. We repent and, with the assistance of the Spirit of the Lord, identify ways we can do and become better tomorrow. Thus our evening prayer builds upon and is a continuation of our morning prayer. And our evening prayer also is a preparation for meaningful morning prayer.”-Elder Bednar, Pray Always.

    Reporting back is actually a really good way to becoming more responsible for your actions. With me, I’m still new at doing this, because I sometimes become afraid of what God asks me to do…for example:
    I get an impression to go give my teacher a hug after the lesson. For me it was a weird thought/impression because I’m not a touchy-feely person…so I found it awkward, but I went ahead and did it anyway. Gave her a hug and thanked her for the lesson. Later that evening my mom received a phone call and it was my teacher exclaiming in tears how happy she was that I came over and hugged her because lately she was feeling really depressed because she felt like she wasn’t getting through to her students. She told my mom to tell her thank you because that’s exactly what she needed. I’m so happy I followed that impression.

    another time:

    I get the impression to go give that lady a pat on the back and ask her how she was doing. (I’m not a touchy feely person so this is awkward). lol
    I was depressed at the time and didn’t feel like doing it…I also started to rationalize it, and the fear doing it kicked in, because I didn’t want to look stupid. So I decide not to do it.
    Then I find out later she was having an awful day that day, and I regretted so badly not following that impression. I will NEVER do that again, I will listen to the spirit even if it’s the simplest things or things that would seem socially awkward. I will listen to the spirit even especially if I’m having a bad day, I will not let my unhappiness keep me from helping someone else. Knowing that I could have helped her feel better is more motivation to never ever make that mistake again in my life.

    Reporting back also helps with keeping your mind continuously on God and what the spirit is telling you. Because now you make yourself responsible for doing, or not doing what God tells you to do. It’s kind of scary to take responsibility, but it gets easier the more you do it. There’s a reason we have the atonement. It’s to help you with this process of aligning your will to God’s Will. Sometimes we slip up, sometimes we need grace, and the enabling power of the Atonement. Once you rely on the Atonement responsibility isn’t so scary anymore.

    I’ve noticed that leaders of our church keep bringing up this topic of reporting back lately. So I think it’s time for us to start doing it.
    It’ll be hard, but so, so worth it!

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

