Being Engaged In The Work Of The Master


Mother&Child drawing

I would like to thank all of the women of the Unblog and wish them a belated Happy Mother’s Day. My wife’s best Mother’s Day gift was Skyping with our missionary son who is currently in the Rochester, NY mission waiting for his visa to Brazil.

As I thought of my wonderful wife on her special day, I was reminded of a time many years ago when I lived in Alaska. I had just finished reading a church book that had helped turn my heart to the Savior. I was basking in the Spirit brought by the message of that book, and so I offered a prayer of gratitude for being able to read it. I wanted to continue my spiritual development and so in that prayer I asked my Heavenly Father what I should read next to move forward along the path. The very clear and direct answer I received was a wakeup call.

I was not told a specific book to read nor was I given some unusual task to perform. Instead, I asked to do a very simple act of service. In answer to my prayer, the Spirit told me, “I want you to help your wife with the dishes. That service will be of the greatest worth to you.” I looked up chastened as I saw my wife toiling alone with the dishes. I got up off my knees and proceeded to the kitchen to help her with them. Since that day, whenever I hear the clanking of dishes, I try to immediately go to the kitchen to help with them. It is even better when I start to do the dishes on my own, so she does not have to. I am still not perfect at doing the dishes, but I am much better at it.

An important lesson I learned from this experience is that the application of spiritual principles is probably more important than only learning about these spiritual principles. Many of us love to read and study and gain further understanding of these greater blessings. That is an important step, but we also need to remember the greatest thing that we can do is apply these principles by blessing those around us, especially our own spouses, children and family members. We need to get our hands dirty by physically laboring in the trenches and doing the needed work of cleaning filthy homes and helping people in desperate circumstances for long periods of time if needed.

This is the work of the Lord, and, when we do His work unbidden, we are walking on sacred ground. We will invite the Lord to reveal himself to us as we are engaged in this type of sacred service. We will learn more about Him and His tender mercies and grace from experiencing these simple acts of charity and sacrifice than we will from reading about them. May we all waste and wear out our lives in serving and blessing and lifting each other.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Being Engaged In The Work Of The Master

  1. kenh says:

    Your post reminds me of the importance of being motivated by pure motives. In our relationships with each other, charity must be the motivating force that moves us to action. Charity is kind and does not seek its own. The moment we do anything for someone else with the intent to receive anything, even a thank you, in return we are not operating out of charity. Out of the goodness of your heart you were motivated to help your wife in her need. Imagine each of us so motivated to live our entire lives being moved to action by the pure love of Christ. Tnen and only then can we expect to become like Him. I feel that that is why Christ said,”He that loseth his life shall find it.” By losing ourselves in the selfless service of others we find a life worth living, a life that will lead us to eternal life where we will take that pattern of selfless service to a celestial level forever.Thanks again Shayne.

    Like

  2. Chris says:

    Wonderfully stayed. Thank you. Being doers of the word is a critical piece of the plan.

    Like

  3. Paul' says:

    Thank you for this powerfull message.

    Like

  4. Flash says:

    I appreciate and endorse your insight. We take make our small steps of progression with each new lesson learned. It doesn’t surprise me that so many are on a similar path of “discover, internalize and act.”

    I also read and support reading the Denver Snuffer books as provocatively inspiring. Visions of Glory has significantly changed my life. Yet it was D&C 46 that touched me most deeply this week via study in our Gospel Doctrine class.

    Aren’t we glad we can actually have it all?

    Like

  5. lorrie71 says:

    Oh, Sally your P.S. is exactly how I feel each day. Thank you for posting your comments. LLA

    Like

  6. Diana says:

    Thank so much for message, “Being engaged in the work of the Master” it reminded me what’s really important. Thank again.

    Like

  7. Kevin says:

    What a wonderful post – I add my testimony to that of this post as well.

    Like

  8. Shayne says:

    Good question Russ. The most important book I have ever been prompted to read besides the Sacred works is Lectures on Faith # 6. It opened for me many of the greater blessings we can receive. I also highly recommend all of John’s books. They are nourishment to the soul. The Second Comforter was and is a very special book to me. It is by Denver Snuffer. All of Denver’s books are incredible, I have not read his last book “Passing the heavenly Gift”. The spirit will direct you. I always read the Book of Mormon morning and night. Remember you need to “do” also, take what you learn and go bless people!

    Like

  9. Kim says:

    beautiful words, Shayne. thank you!

    Like

  10. scootd28 says:

    Shayne – a kindred soul! Someone else who doesn’t have a dishwasher!!!!!!

    Like

  11. Sally D says:

    Thank you for the gentle reminder of applying the spiritual principles by blessing those around me, starting with my own family. I especially love your last paragraph.
    “This is the work of the Lord, and, when we do His work unbidden, we are walking on sacred ground. We will invite the Lord to reveal himself to us as we are engaged in this type of sacred service. We will learn more about Him and His tender mercies and grace from experiencing these simple acts of charity and sacrifice than we will from reading about them. May we all waste and wear out our lives in serving and blessing and lifting each other.”
    This is exactly what I needed today! I am grateful for your willingness to share. So, time for me to get off the computer and spend time with my kiddos who just came home from school. The key for me is to find balance. All things done is wisdom and order.
    P.S. This blog makes me feel like a child opening up Christmas presents. Each post is like another Christmas gift. I carefully unwrap them, absorb the gift, treasure it and am totally amazed when another gift is given to me. This is how I feel about this unblog. It is an amazing gift. Thank you John, Spencer, Shayne, and Eric and the unblog family.

    Like

    • Shayne says:

      We are all engaged in this great work with all praise and glory going to Him and His wonderful Son. I learn alot from all the posts. As a Bishop I try and teach these prinicples in a gentle way to all those around me. I usually end up learning from someone else much more than what I taught. Thank you for your kind words to us.
      Shayne

      Like

  12. Carol says:

    I have experienced these very same things. A wonderful and important post. My husband and I have raised six wonderful sons. When they are young and need us physically and spiritually, it is easy to know where and how we are needed. When they are grown you must learn to increase your awareness of those around you and their needs. Once upon a prayer, I too was pointed to my husband and service more pointedly towards him. I saw that service with added understanding, and its importance to the Lord. We can not follow our Lord and Savior and disregard the needs of those around us. And, He promises “They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.” I think that is spiritual and physical. It He would have us do it, we have the assurance of His help and aid. That is the way. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

