Seeking your Audience with the Lord, Part 1


RVB de baseDo You Have Enough Light To Make It Through The Last Days?

If you’re like me, you can’t help but be a little concerned about current affairs, both at home and abroad.  The news is bad, and getting worse everyday.

And if you’ve read Isaiah in-depth, you understand that what we’re seeing now is barely the tip of the iceberg.

This may have been what Heber C. Kimball (a counselor to Pres. Brigham Young) had in mind in 1856, when he warned the Saints that the time would come when no man nor woman would be able to endure on borrowed light.  Each must gain a personal knowledge of the truth and be guided by the light within himself/herself.

Yet his statement begs the question: how much light do we seek?  Do we seek the “bare minimum”, perhaps just enough light to get by spiritually?   Or do we rely solely on the light obtained by church leaders, book authors and such?

This may be why many tend to limit their potential experiences with the Lord.  We may cast stones at ourselves because of our past or present, believing we are not worthy of greater light.

Despite your past or your present, the Lord’s message to you never wavers.  He sees in you far, far greater potential — more than you can comprehend.  He is more kind, more loving, more understanding, more forgiving, more motivating than you can imagine.  He is your best best friend, who gave His life for you.  He stands beside you, rejoicing in every little step you take in the right direction.  He never gives up on you.

He is always inviting you, beckoning you to do these three things:

Aim Higher.  Reach Farther.  Attain Greater.

I invite you to not only see, but also feel, what He is saying to you:

Draw near unto me and I will draw near unto you.” (D&C 88:63)

Seek me diligently and ye shall find me; ask, and ye shall receive; knock, and it shall be opened unto you.” (D&C 88:63)

Sanctify yourselves that your minds become single to God, and the days will come that you shall see him; for he will unveil his face unto you, and it shall be in his own time, and in his own way, and according to his own will.” (D&C 88:68)

(Then there’s my favorite scripture, which we will discuss in-depth at some point in the future):

“Verily, thus saith the Lord: It shall come to pass that every soul who forsaketh his sins and cometh unto me, and calleth on my name, and obeyeth my voice, and keepeth my commandments, shall see my face and know that I am;” (D&C 93:1; emphasis mine)

Yes, despite being that imperfect person with a lifetime of sins and weaknesses, He is anxious for you, He repeatedly invites you, to seek Him like you never have before.  And in so doing, someday, you will see His face.  You will hear Him call you by name.  You will taste the fruit which many, many others (past and present) have tasted as you melt in His arms, with tears streaming down your face, and know that He lives.

Spiritually create that moment.  Return to it over and over again — and fully expect the physical moment to happen…

…someday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Seeking your Audience with the Lord, Part 1

  1. Pingback: Read This – As the Angels of God

  2. Genevieve Ficquet says:

    Thank you SO MUCH for this spiritual teaching. I often read your articles and feel uplifted. Thank you very much. It is very helpful. I want to see the Lord. I like to read Isaiah and be a living witness of many things he has written so long ago. Thank you again.

    Like

  3. Kim says:

    Great post, Eric. I look forward to your next!

    Like

  4. Rebecca Lee says:

    Beautifully written! Thank you so much. Rebecca

    Like

  5. Jennifer says:

    Eric,
    Thank you for writing this post. You are correct on so many levels. I love how you describe the Lord’s feelings for us. He truly is our very best friend. If everyone truly understood (or remembered) how well we actually know Him it would truly change our relationship with Him and how we feel about ourselves. Thank you!

    Like

  6. kenh says:

    Thank you Eric. I write these things with all the love that God has blessed me with and to give glory to Him in all things. It has been difficult thing for me to cast off my unbelief and realize that everything from Lehi seeing God upon His throne to Moroni’s testimony of Christ, the Book of Mormon is all about coming unto Christ and knowing Him face to face in this life. Not only are we are all to “stand as witnesses of God at all times and in all things, and in all places that ye may be in” (Mosiah 18:9) but we are to become special witnesses of Jesus Christ. A special witness is one who has seen and knows Him personally. D & C 93:1 is one of my favorite scriptures as well. I am looking forward to your postings on that great scripture. Not only are we equally loved as were the people in chapter 11 of Third Nephi, who after three days of darkness, were privileged to see and know Christ personally for themselves, but we have been given far more than they were given. They were no more righteous than we are. They did not have the fulness of the Gospel of Jesus Christ, for Christ brought that to them. They did not have the New Testament, for it had not been written yet. They did not have the Doctrine and Covenants nor the Old Testament past Isaiah for Jeremiah was alive when Lehi and the others left Jerusalem and his writings were not included on the brass plates. Yet in spite of not having these sacred writings that all point to Christ yet still He came to them. I know that He will part the veil and appear unto everyone who does as 93:1 states. For God IS no respecter of persons for I take Him at his word. The Godhead truly love us more than we can comprehend and they stand united and willing to bless us with love, mercy, knowledge, and grace every step of the way back to our Heavenly Father and eternal life.

    Like

  7. jodeemaas says:

    Thank you Eric, it is always wonderful to be reminded of that need for single mindedness and where it will bring us! It reminds me of the words of a great man that we all know by heart. “We hold these truths to be self evident”! Yet unfortunately we get distracted or never come to that realization that He is so close and knocking and waiting for us to rise to the occasion!! Yes, I too personally testify that His love, understanding, kindness go way beyond our comprehension! He grasps our personal struggles as no other can, and meets our personal and emotional needs in a way no other can, if we but choose to let Him by reaching that kind of emotional intimacy with Him that He wishes.
    Thank you!

    Like

    • scootd28 says:

      Jodemass,

      Your comment that His love goes beyond our comprehension is certainly true, I rejoice increasingly as time goes by, as I progress, that spiritually I receive increasing glimpses of that love. it’s like the full comprehension is in side there, waiting to burst out in full glory. I so crave when that day will come.

      Like

  8. laruebrough says:

    Thank you Eric, I have desired it for a long time. I felt his presence in the Temple, but I have never felt worthy t behold his face. Your post has given me a renewed hope.
    LaRue

    Like

  9. scootd28 says:

    Thanks for your essential posts, Eric & Shayne.

    Like

  10. scootd28 says:

    I have been promised this blessing. I pray daily for its fulfillment. My focus is on feeling the fullness of His love. But I had to stop trying to force it – I had to say, as you mention, “let it be in your time, in your way, according to your will”. Perhaps there are yet trials I must pass through, but I’m not going to seek them. They, too, must be in His time, in His way, and according to His will. This I know – his message is a message of love, and all is centered on that love. We are created in love, we are fulfilled by love. Everything else is ancillary to our existence – just smoke and mirrors.

    Like

  11. Vickie Lynne says:

    I really liked this post. I agree with you that we need to plant the seed in our hearts and to image in on the visit we are to have with the Savior face to face. I feel its importance more strongly now than ever before. I see no other way to make it through the trying times ahead. It is not enough for me to wish for it. I need and seek for the evidence that Joseph Smith’s “Lectures on Faith” declared we must have in order to know we are chosen of God.

    Like

  12. Mandi says:

    Thank you so much for this, I really needed it. I have been especially thankful for these last few unblogs lately from shayne and Eric, they have been tender mercies from the Lord for me. God bless!

    Sister Ehlers

    Like

  13. K-Jo says:

    Beautiful post. Very inspiring and motivating. Thank you.

    Like

  14. Eric,
    You have beautifully described some of the processes needed to see the Lord. We do need to gather our own light to stand the day. Well done
    Shayne

    Like

  15. Kathy says:

    Eric,
    Thank you for your words and the words of the Lord. A sweet and powerful reminder of what the Lord wants for us and what we should want for ourselves.
    Please continue your writings, they are inspiring and truly appreciated.
    Kathy

    Like

  16. Carol says:

    I love these posts! It seems the harder I try, the clearer I see my weaknesses. I need to spiritually create the moment, and return to it over and over- for the Lord Himself said His Grace is sufficient for all men who humble themselves before Him. Thank you caring and sharing 🙂

    Like

  17. Gina says:

    Thank you, i needed that today! So true, in our own families i can see how we have to have our own oil in our lamp, life can sap the heck out of you!

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

