“I was in prison, and ye came unto me”


(The following is posted, without alteration, with permission from Darin Perkins and Terri Pontius)

Date: March 15, 2014 at 1:13:32 PM MDT

To: Terri Pontius
Subject: Dear Sister Pontius,

Dear Sister Pontius,

My name is Darin Perkins and I am currently incarcerated in the Sevier County Jail in Richfield, Utah. I have six months remaining on a five-year sentence. I’m writing to you to express my deepest gratitude for your wonderful husband. I’ve read Visions of Glory, The Triumph of Zion, and Journey to the Veil. These books have made a profound impact on my life. I take that back – they’ve changed my life. I just finished Journey to the Veil, and there wasn’t a day that went by that I wasn’t overwhelmed by the Spirit. Most people on the outside wouldn’t believe that statement, but it’s true. I have had many amazing experiences that are helping me prepare for life upon release. I know God has a plan for me, and the information in these books is helping me realize my true potential.

I know it’s been two years since your husband passed on, but somehow I feel he has helped me understand these concepts from beyond the veil. I hope that doesn’t sound strange. Your husband is a remarkable man whose work has carried on in the spirit world.

For the past 4-1/2 years I’ve made the most of my incarceration by serving others. I’ve devoted my life to the Savior, and these books along with the Scriptures have helped me teach others these sacred truths. As a result, many are coming to the knowledge of the truth. The scales of darkness are falling and the light of Christ is filling our souls.

Again, thank you for everything.

Sincerely,

Darin Perkins

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “I was in prison, and ye came unto me”

  1. Phyllis says:

    Darin, thank you so much for sharing your testimony with us. As I was reading your post, I felt to rejoice in the Lord and His wisdom. He has touched your heart and helped you turn your life around. Not only did he do that, but he has allowed you to touch the lives of others in the prison. It sounds to me like the Lord has made you into a missionary to His children there. =) Blessings be upon you in your work there and your continued work as you return to your family in a few months time. And, yes, I join my heart with others here and John and others on the other side of the veil in saying, “Hurrah for Israel! Hallelujah! Hurrah for Israel!”

    Like

  2. kansas0gal says:

    Darin, thank you so much for sharing your testimony of John’s books. I have felt that same Spirit.

    Like

  3. Barbara says:

    Truly amazing, shows you how the spirit makes miracles in everyday life, even to where we least expect it.

    Like

  4. Amber says:

    Beautiful! So happy for you Darin!

    Like

  5. Kerri says:

    What an amazing and wonderful letter!
    I see a man filled with true gratitude.
    Journey To The Veil is wonderful, I agree. I know it helped me tremendous as well. I finally feel as though someone else “gets it” like I do…am not crazy.
    Ditto On the thank you to a wonderful man, John, and his wife, who left us all, and bring to us all what I consider some of the greatest writings other than scripture.

    Like

  6. Kelly Williams says:

    As one who works in the Corrections environment, I know this kind of thing can happen. I use the gospel everyday to lift others around me, whether they be staff or inmates. Many look at inmates as lower than anything on earth. I know better. I am so grateful for my testimony of the truth. I find joy in those incarcerated making the changes and “going toward the light”, if you will. Amen, Darin. Never go back and God bless you.

    Like

  7. FJC says:

    GLORIOUS!!

    Like

  8. Honor says:

    What an amazing testimony! It brought tears to my eyes and fire to my heart. God is real and loves ALL of His children! Thank you for sharing this letter.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. stuart hallam stocks says:

    john,s work is on both sides of the veil, and will be for ever, I have read john,s books and they are so encouraging, the light shines so brightly, from all is books, the hand of the lord is in them all, god bless all those searching for the light, and god bless the church of jesus Christ of latterday saints, yours stuart.

    Like

  10. So awesome, Darin! THIS is where the gospel light shines brightest- when our lives change for the better and we help others along the path. That is The Plan in its entirety right there- beautiful and sweet.
    God bless you and those you serve, Darin. And thank you Unblog for the inspiration. “Hoorah for Israel!”

    Like

  11. Tom Binford says:

    AMEN

    Like

  12. Daryl says:

    What a wonderful testimony of hearts changing. Glad to know Brother John’s testimony is touching hearts on the inside as well as outside. Thank you for sharing a portion of your experiences. God bless you upon your release.

    Like

  13. Psudoname Grandpa says:

    I too became acquainted with John’s books while in jail. The first book I read of his was The Triumph of Zion which I’ve read 6 or 8 times, Since being released, I’ve determined to turn my life around and am now helping other people who are released to turn to the light, to find real purpose in their lives. Since being released I have read Visions of Glory and Journey to the Veil and I read your unblog as often as I can. Thank you Terri for your beautiful testimony and sharing your Husband with the world. Jesus Christ can change all of us if we are willing, You and John have helped make me willing.

    Like

  14. Jared says:

    What a wonderful post. 🙂 I agree Darin. The fruits that a sincere seeker partakes of through John’s writting is marvelous. It is truth. it is light. it is delicious. it is of God… No dancing around the edges with John’s Christ inspired writtings. The storm is approaching– how desperately we need these life transforming truths….

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

