An Epiphany Moment


A few days ago I had some wonderful people in my home for a spiritual evening. We were discussing what the “voice” of the Holy Spirit sounds like. I felt prompted to ask one of the brethren present, “If while driving your car you came across a cat in the road, would you run over it?” I had no idea where the question would lead, only that I should ask it.

He said, “No, that would be wrong. I would try very hard to miss it.”

I asked, “How do you know killing the cat would be wrong?”

“Well, I guess I have been taught that by my parents.”

I said, “I’m sure that’s true. But, when I asked that question you visualized in your mind driving your car, didn’t you.”

He smiled. “Yes, I was seeing it in my mind.”

“And when you saw the cat, you had the distinct and power feeling that it was wrong to run over the cat, right?”

He nodded. “I felt it very strongly.”

I then said, “What you just experienced was a revelation from the Holy Spirit. You were given to know right from wrong, in that moment. You were pondering an act, and the Holy Spirit revealed to you the correct course of action. This is what the Holy Spirit feels like and sounds like, even when there are no words spoken. Any time you know right from wrong, truth from error, good from evil, that knowledge has come to you from Christ, not as a memory, but as revelation in that moment through the Holy Spirit.”

His face lit up, and the Spirit whispered that he had just had an epiphany moment. He understood perfectly, and he realized his understanding came from God.

These moments when our Savior grants us such great clarity, when his light shines through so brightly that you can see it in someone’s face, when His mercy changes lives, these are the hundred-fold-reward moments that make meeting with you, and Un-Blogging with you such a divine pleasure.

Thank you,

Brother John

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Epiphany Moment

  1. Kelly says:

    Brother John,
    There is a group of us, in Riverdale, Utah, who have read both your books and would love the opportunity to meet with you. I know you have probably had many requests recently. Would be willing to come this way for a fireside, We could do as big or as small as you want to make it worth your time. You have, through being an instrument, helped change alot of thoughts and lives.

    Like

  2. Michelle says:

    Brother John (I figured out why I call you that, um because you call YOURSELF that! I’m slow on the uptake sometimes, forgive me. :)),

    We would love to invite you to our home for a small fireside of about 12-18 people at your convenience. We live in Herriman, UT, which is only 20 minutes west of Sandy. We think that a Friday evening would be the best for those that we feel like we should invite. We would be happy to have you and your wife as well as anyone else you feel like should come. We also will have something delectable to eat. Thank you for considering us.
    Sincerely,
    Dan and Michelle Skousen

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

