Praise and Honor and Glory


I also heard Elder McConkie make the statement that we shouldn’t seek a personal relationship with Christ. I believe what he was saying was that we shouldn’t seek an exclusive relationship, in the sense that Heavenly Father is excluded from our worship. This type of relationship is common in today’s Christian theology, and it is not the way of those who receive the higher law.

But, we certainly do have a relationship with Christ, and it is personal because He gave his life for me, he paid for my sins, and speaks to me through the voice of the atonement every day of my life – that makes it personal. That makes it intimately personal because what I hear – nobody else in the world hears. It isn’t the global loudspeaker of the Light of Christ. It is the Still Small Voice of the Light of Christ.

Prayer is a different matter. Christ Himself taught us to pray to the Father. This is the higher law. This is the privilege which Christ purchased by the shedding of His blood. In part, He suffered so that we could pray to the Father – in His name. It is such a high and holy privilege that it honors Christ, and praises Him when we do so. It would be a step backwards in privilege to begin to pray to Christ directly.

We should not use prayer to worship Christ and adore Him directly. The sacramental prayers lead us in covenanting to “always remember Him”. To remember Him with joy, with adoration and worship is not only appropriate, but it is what we promise to do. We remember Him when we obey Him. And we worship Him when we ponder upon the sacrifice He wrought by the shedding of His blood. It is also why I always capitalize even pronouns that refer to Christ, because I adore and reverence Him. These things are not prayer, they are praise; they are covenantal obedience.

I consider that it is wonderfully appropriate to thank the Father for His Son, to worship Christ by worshiping the Father. In the most complete sense, the Father and Son are one. To worship the Father is to worship the Son. To express gratitude to the Father, is to do the same to His Beloved Son. It would be a 5000 year spiritual devolution to pray directly to Christ, who in that day was known as Jehovah, and the only God those generations had access to.

Christ Himself, when accepting His calling to be our Savior said to the Father, “And the glory be thine forever.” When Christ, by completing His earthly mission, became One with the Father, from that moment to this, to praise the Father, was and is to praise the Son.

Even though we are far more familiar with Jesus Christ’s role in our salvation, the truth is that this whole plan; the creation of the earth(s), the work and glory of bringing to pass the exaltation and eternal life of man, the creation of Celestial glories and the perpetuation of the divine genealogy is all the Father’s plan. He sacrificed His son to complete that plan. If the Father had done none of this, we wouldn’t be alive as mortals, wouldn’t be on a pathway to godliness, we wouldn’t be able to repent and shed culpability for sins, and Jesus would not be “the Christ”.

That is the lesson of Abraham’s life – the sacrifice of the Father in giving His Son. As large and glorious as Jesus Christ is to our eternal hopes, the Father is infinitely larger, and the price Father paid is infinitely greater.

This then is the given, and correct and highest order of worship, that in prayer we give all praise and honor and glory to the Father – and we always remember and obey His Son.

Brother John

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Praise and Honor and Glory

  1. Robyn Thomas says:

    John,
    Thanks so much for this blog. After I heard Bother Mckonkie’s talk years ago I was really confused and even more so with your first blog the other night. After I read it I prayed that that some how I could understand more so my prayers and worshop during the day would be more meaningful. Then you came through with this blog and I felt the spirit so strong.I understand and feel at pease about this after years of wondering. R.T.

    Like

  2. Michelle says:

    O.k. so, what I’m feeling I should do is to thank the Savior and my Heavenly Father for the Atonement. I pray to my Heavenly Father and thank Him for sending a Savior and then I feel VERY strongly to thank Jesus directly for His sacrifice. Is this wrong?I do feel like I am praying to Father and praising Christ but, I always thought prayer was both.So, I guess I haven’t been “praying” to Christ.I was worried about this.

    I also have noticed that before Christ was resurrected He would not allow any to worship or pray to him. However,I also noticed that after Christ is resurrected and during His visit to the Americas, the people pray to Him and He doesn’t stop them. Thank you for clarifying this. I want to pray to Heavenly Father. I love Him. I worship Him. I’m grateful to Him for sending His Only Begotten and I am grateful to Christ for His willingness to be sacrificed.

    Thank you for helping us to clarify.You do make a difference.

    Like

    • unblogmysoul says:

      Michelle,

      I don’t think any form of worship and praise is “wrong”. We just try to do the best we can, and when the Spirit gives us words of praise or feelings of worship, how can any of it be “wrong”. You are surely on the right track.

      JP

      Like

  3. McKay says:

    Beautiful post. Your site always fills me with hope and joy. Thank you for your efforts. They make a difference to me in my life.

    your comments about praying to Jesus directly are consistent with the scriptures and church policy, yet the Book of Mormon has two places where persons pray directly with Jesus: 1-the repentant Alma, “Oh Jesus thou son of God, etc.” and 2- the 12 disciples prayed directly to Jesus during His visit to the Americas while he was right there with Him.

    That is a puzzle to me.

    Like

    • unblogmysoul says:

      You are right, of course. The point to remember is that Jesus was Jehovah all throughout the Old Testament. Everyone prayed to Him, even if they had no name to call him, or called him “Father”. Until Christ completed the Atonement and taught the various groups to pray to the Father, they still correctly prayed to Jehovah. What is happening in 3rd Nephi is that we get to see the transition of the dispensations from the Law of Moses to the Law of Christ.

      While Christ was with them, He instructed the Disciples to pray to Him. Then, he taught them to pray to the Father, and shortly thereafter ascended into Heaven. It is a very instructive snippet from history.

      Like

  4. Jeff says:

    Thanks Brother John. Wonderful clarification. Jeff

    Like

  5. Melody says:

    Not to belabor, but still trying to understand. If in trying to learn to hear the voice of the Spirit, I am actually hearing the voice of the Savior to me (am I getting that right?), is it okay in my mind to talk to the Savior — paying a complement about a beautiful sunset, or saying thank you for the never-ending tender mercies that happen on a daily basis? I guess that’s what I’m trying to figure out: Is it okay to talk to Jesus in my thoughts, when I’m not praying formally? Thank you for your continued thoughts on this subject.

    Like

    • unblogmysoul says:

      Melody,

      I don’t think either the Father or Jesus are “letter of the law” type beings. The spirit of the law is to love God with all of our heart might and mind and strength. I think any genuine praise or gratitude is wholesome. When we engage in formal prayer, and formal worship, we should conform to the pattern. My guess is They only feel joy when we shout the occasional Hallelujah! even if the address on the envelope was wrong.

      JP

      Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

