Chests of Eternal Gold


If there is one thing that I have learned about life, it is that nothing I thought was going to occur in my life actually happened, and most everything I was determined wouldn’t happen – actually did.

I have focused on a hundred different things, only to have each of them knocked out of my grasp. I realize that everything I presently value the most – blessings I could not have conceived of before, let alone plotted a course to obtain them – have come as a result of the Lord taking away what I thought I wanted, and replacing them with gloriously greater things.

It took me a lot of years to submit to this process, to view these events of correction as an act of love and grace. I’m not sure it is possible for a mortal to entirely understand this process. It is certainly not possible to understand it while looking at your empty hand, wondering how life could be so cruel. But, if one looks back with faith, looking through the lens of grace, it becomes clear that our greatest blessings came this way.

I can’t help be also see that I asked for every one of them. I prayed diligently for each blessing, and then uncomprehendingly endured the oftentimes painful process of obtaining them. These weren’t random lessons a harsh schoolmaster inflicted upon me because the present course of study demanded it. These were blessings I requested, for which I was willing to pay any price (even though I stupidly had no idea how costly they were). Each of these beautiful things, these glorious views, this towering flame of hope and the brightness of faith approaching the summit of knowing, each of these divine gifts came at my request.

I can see this now, and I am eternally grateful. I now realize that everything righteous I have and will ask for has and will come to me. Seeing this process now, after years of undefined suffering now focused into gifts, knowledge and blessings most precious to me, makes the price I paid seem as if I had dropped a penny into a wishing well, and even as I childishly mourned its loss, miracles were placing chests of eternal gold in my way.

Brother John

© July 2011, John M. Pontius, all rights reserved. Non-commercial reproduction permitted.

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chests of Eternal Gold

  1. cheyenne brashear says:

    Brother John, I greatly long for the day when all my prayers can and will be answered. I long for the day when all my desires are perfectly aligned with my Father in Heaven and my Savior’s desires for me.

    When I make supplication to God in my prayers, a lot of times I notice that I am dictating to Him what I think I want, or what I think is best for me or others; I’m starting to get away from doing this, because I’m starting to realize that our Father in Heaven has a complete fullness of love,power, and wisdom, and He knows and desires what is best for me, much more than I do.

    One continual request that I make of Him that I know is a righteous one, is that I will come to know Him by coming to know His Son, Jesus Christ, with that love that passes knowledge. I want my thoughts to be directed on Him and by Him at all times, and I want the effections of my heart to be placed on Him forever.

    I want to come to know my God perfectly; if that means I have to go through hardships or have things stripped away from me or from my life, then so be it. I can’t imagine a greater comfort then knowing God, and knowing that your way of life is pleasing in His sight. I don’t think I can presently imagine the joy and comfort that a person would feel when they are sealed up to eternal life and they know that they will be with the God they love forever, and that their relationship, love, and knowledge of Him will only increase.

    After reading this post, I feel a greater desire to come unto Christ and deny myself(through His grace) of all things that seperate me from Him and the knowledge of His love and goodness. Thanks again brother John for writing those things the Spirit moves you to write; this one gave me a great spiritual boost. Brother C.

    Like

  2. Pearl says:

    Wonderful post and so true. Brings many thoughts and ideas to mind, but swirling so fast it’s difficult to make much comment…

    Like

  3. Chris says:

    Absolutely love your final analogy.

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

