When the Lord opens a Door – Walk Through it


Dear Friends,

I just returned home from the Lindon Fireside. Thank you Annette for arranging it.

I still feel the glow of the Spirit, and my heart is full of joy. Thank you every one who sacrificed to attend. There was a couple there from Houston, Texas who had traveled just to be at the fireside, and another couple from Vernal, Utah who came for the same reason. I also had my mother sacrifice to come, who is recuperating from a shoulder replacement, and Michael and Heather who drove from Layton, and Cecile from Daybreak. And, of course, Terri is always with me. I don’t even know if I could give a fireside without her present, because she’s never given me the opportunity to try it.

I was also so pleased to see so many older members of the Un-Blog family. It was happiness to see you there.

I think for me the sweetest part of anything like this is feeling the sustained presence of the Spirit of the Lord. When the Spirit is so wonderfully present I have a tendency to say things in a way I have never thought of or considered before – things which teach me and uplift my own understanding. That happened a few times tonight.

On our way home, my sweet wife reads her notes of the “new and inspiring” things that were said. She announced that it was one of our “best ever” firesides. I honestly never really know until it is all over, because I have taught myself to not evaluate such things while in the process. It would be like worrying about how a priesthood blessing is going while actually giving it – it sort of sucks the Holy Spirit out of the room.

I would also like to inform you that my summer schedule of Firesides has been completed. I have given about 30 firesides this spring and summer.

Beginning immediately, I am making myself available for firesides for the fall and winter season. If the Spirit is moving upon you to gather your friends or family, quorum, ward, or stake for a fireside, please leave a comment on this (or a subsequent) Blog posting. I will contact you personally and we can arrange the details.

I have given firesides on many subjects. I take requests, but it is also often true that the Holy Spirit brings up other things when the moment to speak comes.

Most of the firesides I give are in homes with a dozen or so people, or in LDS chapels with hundreds. The largest group I have spoken to was about 500, and the smallest was two.

I am willing to speak to small groups or large as the Spirit leads us to arrange.

My health is such that I can’t say what will happen beyond this small window of opportunity. My mantra has always been “When the Lord opens a door – walk through it.”

Brother John

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to When the Lord opens a Door – Walk Through it

  1. Helena says:

    I have been rereading all the posts, and while John can no longer lead a fireside here in st johns, az, would you Eric, Shayne or “Spencer”? I believe we could get together a fairly big gathering. Please pray about it and let us know, it would be an answered prayer for me and my community.

    Love
    Helena

    Like

  2. Clarice says:

    John,
    I am sorry I am just writting this, my life has been slightly crazy. I just wanted to say I enjoyed the fireside and it was a pleasure meeting you. I was the one who bee-lined it up to talk to you first after you finished the meeting(if you don’t remember).

    Anyway thankyou. And especially for the last few posts, they have been really great.

    Clarice

    Like

  3. Michelle says:

    Thankyou for giving the fireside. I also learn alot from your blog and appreciate the time you put into it.

    Like

  4. Cassey Stanger says:

    Great thank you so much. I am so excited. I will speak with my Relief Society president and see if she has a topic in mind. I am hoping to have both men and women in attendance with a light dinner before. Do you prefer to speak in the chapel? I will get a more accurate count as the date gets closer. Thanks!

    Like

  5. Cassey Stanger says:

    I am interested in having you come and speak to our Relief Society for our meeting in November. The date would be November 9th, 2011. We live in West Point, UT which is North of Salt Lake. Let me know if you would be available for this. You may contact me by email at cassey_stanger@comcast.net or phone 801-458-6459. Looking forward to hearing back from you.

    Like

  6. Sandy Skougard says:

    I would love to invite you to St. George. Are there any plans already for you to come down?

    Like

  7. Kelle Richardson says:

    Please please come to Highlands Ranch! I will be in Salt lake this weekend and am hopefully visiting with “spencer” and would love to visit with you and Terri if you have the time.
    -Kelle

    Like

  8. Jared says:

    Brother John,

    I just could not contain myself anymore. I have been a long time follower of your Sam Mahoy series. I read the first two books when they first came out and reread them several times after. They were a source of great inspiration and strength to my family and I. Years later I found this website and your blog and to my joy found the continuation of that series. It was like rediscovering or finding a long lost friend. We quickly all read the manuscripts. I have to tell you that they have refocused my testimony and given me a perspective that I have never had before. I feel in a sense reborn in my faith and purpose. I’m so grateful for your testimony and spirit. I want to let you know that those stories have served as a great light to me in a time of darkness and searching in my life. I am eternally grateful because in some regards these stories and truths you have shared have saved me. They have given me a new direction/focus within the gospel. I’m so grateful for the insight you have gained and shared. I wish to convey to you John how greatly you have touched my life. Thank you thank you thank you. We love you so much and I hope someday to express my gratitude to you personally. Our prayers are with you at this time. I pray the lord guides your search in healing your body. We love you. Thank you again.

    Brother Jared

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Thank you Jared,

      I am humbled to have any positive part in someone’s journey. The Lord truly has been good to us both. It seems sad to me that the series you speak of didn’t market well, and the last three books were never printed. But, I have heard from quite a few people, like you, who have found them on my website and benefitted from them anyway. For this I am most grateful.

      John

      Like

  9. patty says:

    Brother John-
    Where do you live? I live in Wyoming and would love to have you come up here, but perhaps it would only be for an audience of two. 🙂 I would hate for you to travel all that way. Maybe if you are in the SLC, Ogden area we can catch you there. I hope so.
    Patty.

    Like

    • John Pontius says:

      Hi Patty,

      If I go that far I would hope to speak to large groups, even multiple firesides. But, please do contact me when you come to SLC or Provo area. We can meet somewhere, or in my home.

      Until then,

      John

      Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

