A Major Unblog Update!


Dear Unblog Family,

First, I want to tell you how grateful I am for your support, especially the last 13 months since John’s passing. John always considered Unblog subscribers as an extended family, and have no doubt his feelings have continued (if not expanded)!

There are several things I’d like to catch you up on:


UNBLOG ADMINISTRATION:
I’ve asked Eric, John’s good friend and “techie guy,” to administer the Unblog from now on. We’ll have expanded contact capabilities here on the Unblog as well, so you’ll be able to contact Eric or I should it be necessary. Shayne, John’s other friend, did a tremendous work with the Unblog in 2012 and 2013, and I can’t thank him enough for all his time and efforts.

MERGE AHEAD!: We are, as we speak, working on transferring all the content on FollowingTheLight.org (aka “FTL”) to the Unblog, as well as a major update of what’s offered here on the Unblog. We’re also fixing some problems with the comments section. These revisions should be done within a week or two.

CONTENT #1: We have no plans at this time to remove any more content from the Unblog or the files being transferred from FTL.  As you know, we needed to remove some Unblog content due to their publication in Journey to the Veil.  One audio file was removed about a year ago from FTL due to a request from the person recorded (which I hope anyone who has the audio file, even online, would also respect and honor).

CONTENT #2: In fact, we have plans to expand the content being offered here on the Unblog. You’ll see things no one else has seen before (like notes of John’s lectures), expanded gospel study resources and — get this — passages from all of John’s books.

VoG AND JttV: Speaking of books, I was thrilled this morning to see that Seagull Books is selling Visions of Glory and Journey to the Veil side-by-side in its January mailer.  I can’t thank Seagull Book enough for its support not only of John and his books, but also of great authors everywhere who testify of Christ and his gospel.  I HOPE THAT EVERYONE WILL SHOW THEIR SUPPORT TO SEAGULL BY PURCHASING FROM THEIR JANUARY AND FEBRUARY MAILERS.  Thanks to you all.

SOME BACKGROUND: FTL, the Unblog, John’s books and lectures were his creations. They are reflections of a man who was always in good standing in the church, continuously held a temple recommend as well as significant callings in the Church, completely defended and celebrated the doctrines of the Gospel of Jesus Christ and policies of the Church, and always sustained Church leaders. To insinuate anything contrary is a gross mischaracterization (a lie) about a good man who has passed on.

Make no mistake: Paramount within John’s soul (and continuing on this Unblog) is a desire to teach, preach, expound and exhort all to come unto Christ — period.  John did that unceasingly throughout his mortal life, he is doing so today, and will continue doing so throughout a never-ending eternity.

On that note, prepare for a new and improved Unblog in the coming weeks!

Love,

Terri

About John Pontius

I am a lover of truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to A Major Unblog Update!

  1. Thank you for this. I know that when John was alive and keeping the UnBlog as only he could, the UnBlog family became very close with one another. We would love to see that again, and I’m sure Eric can give us a vehicle on the UnBlog to do this. Good suggestion!

    Like

  2. Marion Newey says:

    HI Terri,
    This last week I visited BYU-I and was astounded to find three of John’s books in the University store: Three!!! Following the Light of Christ Into His Presence, Journey to the Veil, and Visions of Glory. I looked just on the hope one would be there and was so surprised. It makes me so happy that our students have access to these books as John had such an incredible talent to teach with the Spirit. Thank you for making his writings available to all. Great news on the restructuring of the web site. Will Shayne continue to write? He is also very gifted. Marion

    Like

  3. tgmusser says:

    Will the new site have a place where like minded people can socialize, share their struggles, or connect?

    Like

  4. Dennis the Unmenace Warr says:

    As an LDS author (LDS Fiction) yet to be published, I too have a thin skin which is why I am yet to be published. Have read VoG seven times and ToZ 2.5 times (third time thru) and my spiritual level increased 1000 times, I finally understand what the Savior meant when He said the meek shall inherit the earth. The words of John Pontius have brought the Savior’s words (both the scriptures and personal revelation which often occurs at the same) to glorious life for me. His future interview with me consumes my soul. His will be done. Both books have caused so many “wow’s” to enter my heart to fill it with intense joy and wonder. Thank you thank thank you.

    Like

    • Dennis, your words are empowering to me. Wow it’s incredible that you have read “Visions” seven times . . . and TTOZ so often, as well. You inspire me. It hearkens to the scriptural encouragement to “wax stronger and stronger in humility.” I think you are there, my friend.

      Like

  5. Audrey says:

    It seems that most of us have something in common…. “We delay no longer, the call is heard, and the silence is broken. We have begun.” Brother John Pontius. Page 208 of Journey to the Veil. Glorious.

    Like

  6. Heather Moller says:

    From the words of our dear Brother John (from The Triumph of Zion)…”The Holy Spirit is never mistaken in what will work – never. So, in yielding to the Holy Spirit, joy always distills upon the obedient, even when other people’s agency allows them to reject or criticize our labors. When we act in obedience, peace descends no matter how harried the world spins around us. The reason it works is because when one is obedient to the voice of revelation in their lives, they simply are obedient to all aspects of the gospel, including the commandments.”

    I am so thankful Sister Terri for your testimony and for your strength & light! When I read this statement today I just felt that I was to share his words and I feel so thankful for his willingness to teach us and show us the light of what it truly means to be a disciple of Christ and to guide others who are earnestly seeking this precious path that leads to the feet of our loving Savior, Jesus Christ.

    Brother John could have kept all of these “pearls of wisdom” that he had gathered from a lifetime of faith and obedience, but Praise be to God that he listened and obeyed to share with all of us who have been changed by the spirit his words have brought to our heart and souls! I have been changed for the better, I am finding greater light and knowledge that I have so desperately sought after for so long and I thank God for you and your dear sweetheart and for your family! I thank God for a loving Savior and Redeemer that has given us all if we will just partake – listen – obey, obey and obey. (As our dear Brother John would say) 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for your kind thoughts, Heather. I heard John say a thousand times that when you are an LDS writer (who is not a general authority), you have to develop a thick skin because everything you say is under scrutiny. He had that thick skin, along with the sweet conviction that he was simply doing what the Lord had asked him to do; but it makes me (whose skin is somewhat thinner) so happy to feel your support and know of your gratitude. Thanks again.

      Like

  7. Su says:

    I just discovered this blog about a month ago after reading “Visions of Glory” (I bought 4 more copies to give to each of my children), and wish I would have know about it long ago. I am almost finished with “Journey to the Veil,” which I have taken many notes from because I want the powerful lessons and spirit to touch my life, not just read the book. I agree, John gives all credit to our Savior and testifies strongly of the restored gospel and all church leaders. In fact, he makes us realize how incredibly blessed we are to have the restored truths and church leaders to guide us at these times.. He has really made me think about what it means to become a Zion people and that we must begin that work for our lives now. Thank you for keeping the blog going, I am so excited about this, as I discovered it after it had stopped. You are the best and I hope you feel the love and support of all of us who treasure the spiritual depth you help us seek for!!

    Like

    • Sue, thank you so much for your love and support. I FEEL it! I am deeply blessed to have your sweet affirmation as we all go forward in the work of preparing our hearts and hands for Zion. It’s fun (and essential!) to have friends to move forward with!

      Love, Terri

      Like

  8. Linda says:

    Thank you Terri. You have more support than you know. The detractors think they are helping, not realizing they are working for the evil one. John’s books and words are nothing but uplifting and faith-building.

    Like

  9. Marsha Burnside says:

    Terri

    Thanks so much for keeping this precious blog going and making it even better.So many of of have been deeply blessed in our personal journeys by being part of the Unblogmysoul family. So many people in my area have also read Visions of Glory and feel that their lives have been blessed and have greater understanding of the journey. I’m excited that the FTL site is being transferred here. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Like

  10. Abraham says:

    Great news…thank you for your effort in maintaining this blog (very time consuming). Like others, I feel like “visions of Glory” has changed my life for the better…only wish I’d read it sooner (my wife spent over a year trying to get me to read it) and look forward to many more years of the “unblog”

    Like

  11. Roberta Bryant says:

    Hello Terri:
    So good to see you on line helping others go forward. I am still reading and moving up North. Hope everything goes forward for you as your trying to do.
    Roberta B.

    Like

  12. Jennifer says:

    I’m almost done with journey to the veil and it is so inspiring! I’ve given out many copies as gifts too. John is missed but his spirit lives on in his books. He truly teaches us to come into Christ.

    Like

    • tjpontius says:

      Jennifer, I am so thrilled that you like “Journey to the Veil!” It just makes me feel so good to know that something I helped with it is blessing your life. God bless you on your own journey!

      Love, Terri

      Like

  13. Dana P. says:

    Thanks so much Terri. I too am a late comer, but just can’t get enough. I’ve read Visions of Glory (on my third time through plus I’m reading it to my thirteen year old son now), Triumph of Zion, and lastly Journey to the Veil. I’d like to say they left me speechless, but that would be quite the opposite. I’ve told several people about the books, and they also are reading. I know who will listen and who won’t. I’ve hungered and I continue to be filled thanks to John and Spencer, and you. The strength of the spirit in my life has been incredible through this latest journey of mine, which has brought me to a higher level of obedience and trust in the Lord. Wow, just wow.

    Like

    • Melissa kaonohi-camit says:

      ditto to your comment. isnt it just amazing!! And the more I read the more I have started reading my scriptures!!!

      Like

    • tjpontius says:

      Dana, you have left ME speechless! You don’t know how sweet your feedback is to me. Thank you so much! And I am absolutely thrilled that you are getting so much good out of John’s writings. This is all he ever wanted in his life.

      Thank you again, Terri

      Like

  14. robert putman says:

    terri, i know john was a wonderful righteous man, the say is “BY THERE FRUITS YE SHALL KNOW THEM” Johns life is a testimony of good fruits, and by what he has done here and left for us to follow, what better fruit could there be, im thankful for johns love and he has set the right example for me to follow, your a fortunate women, i know your waiting for the day when you shall be together again, and i thank you for all you have done to make this web site to continue..i pray for God’s blessings to be with you and your family…a brother in the Gospel…bob

    Like

    • tjpontius says:

      Bob, thank you for your beautiful words. They have meant more to me then you can know. I have been blessed every day by the love and kindness of good people just like you. God bless you.

      Love, Terri

      Like

  15. Keith Hudson says:

    I am so glad to hear the that Unblog will continue — it has blessed my life immensely and helped me draw closer to my Savior. I feel like a member of the Unblog family even though I didn’t discover the Unblog until after John’s passing.

    Like

    • tjpontius says:

      Welcome,, Keith! There is much truth, light and encouragement within this site, and there will be much more in the future. I hope and pray that you will be blessed by your association here with us.

      Love, Terri

      Like

  16. Kathryn Hughes says:

    I love this Unblog with all my heart . It makes me feel like a little part of heaven as come to join us and gather us all in . I am so happy to hear all this wonderful news . Keep up this great work my dear wonderful brothers and sisters

    Like

    • tjpontius says:

      Kathryn, I remember you! Thank you for your kindness. None of this would be possible without Eric. He felt inspired in the middle of the night that John wanted him to help me with the UnBlog, just as I was feeling the same thing. So I do believe that the Lord wants us to revitalize this effort. Thanks so much for being with us!

      Love, Terri

      Like

  17. Melissa kaonohi-camit says:

    Im new to reading all of Johns books and just cant stop! Im like a sponge absorbing it all in! So many if my questions are being answered threw the spirit. I am so grateful to everyone who has given of there time to keep the unblog going! Im looking forward to reading more posts! From an eager reader who lives in the middle of the pacific ocean…..mahalo and aloha to you all:)
    Melissa

    Like

  18. CS Snyder says:

    Thanks for the great updates. It’s unfortunate when some individuals feel the need to tear down another brother as some have done wtih Visions of Glory. But this has been going on since Joseph Smith had his first vision, so it is nothing new. Thank you, Teri, for sharing all of John’s work with us so we can better come to a knowledge of the truth.

    Like

  19. Lorrie Lou says:

    This just made my day. I’ve been thinking about the unblog for some time now, and I can’t tell you how happy this makes me. Thank you ever so much. I, for one, am truly grateful for this news and look forward with joy and much anticipation to receiving more from Terri, Eric and the whole unblog family.
    Blessings,
    Lorrie Lou 🙂

    Like

  20. Carol says:

    Terri, you are an angel! Anyone honestly and whole heartedly seeking to come unto Christ, does and will continue to find great treasures here in the halls of the unblog. What a great blessing to all of us, thank you again and again!

    Like

Please review the Comment Guidelines Page

